Instructables

Editor not saving step when reordering

In the editor, for an instructable, a step that would otherwise be automatically saved is NOT when you click 'Reorder steps.' all progress on that step since the last save is lost. 

canucksgirl2 years ago
I'm not so sure that's a bug... however, I use the "Save" button as often as possible just to avoid any problems. This includes saving the step I'm working on before switching to another step, or to reorder steps, or to add or delete steps. IMO, its just a good habit to use the save button more often than you think you need to.

I did however test what you were suggesting, and can confirm that during the "update" process, anything that you've done after a save and before reordering the steps is lost. I'm assuming that's due to the process involved in reordering the steps, and that it relies on the "last saved version" of the steps versus doing any universal auto-save at the same time.

I hope that helps. If I'm mistaken (and its in fact a bug), I'm sure someone will correct me. ;-)
drinkmorecoffee (author)  canucksgirl2 years ago
I'm not sure it's a bug either. It is however, super annoying when i forget to hit save. :)
Oh, I agree with you there. That's why I think I had to learn the hard way to not forget. :-)
There's only so many times you want to type, or copy and paste the same thing before you start feeling a little qwerty.