Instructables

My opinion on moddifying K'nex pieces

09/10/2013 Modding K'nex and/or using broken pieces is CHEATING more importantly it is unskillful. A K'nex gun should be just that... a "K'nex" gun!

I've noticed a growing number of designs that use modified K'nex pieces that are cut or mangled somehow to get the gun to function or look a certain way. I'm not saying that this is a sin however I would like to challenge each of us to challenge ourselves by building guns that are true K'nex guns with true K'nex unmodified parts. I have been guilty of this once in the past myself so don't take this to heart. All I am asking is this... I am impressed and more inclined to build a gun that doesn't required or include any broken pieces over a gun that requires any. It is a pet peeve of mine because to me the art of building is using what we are given and creating with wit and ingenuity something great! Again I am not condemning people... I only trying to encourage the art of K'nex guns that don't use broken/modified pieces. Lets do our best to clean up our work and build impressive guns without changing the pieces! Thank you to those that build clean keep it up I am excited by the community at large. It is very cool to see everyone's designs I learn from each and everyone of your creations! Keep up the good work, and lets continue to get better!

KILLERK (author) 7 months ago
09/10/2013 Modding K'nex and/or using broken pieces is CHEATING more importantly it is unskillful. A K'nex gun should be just that... a "K'nex" gun!
Bartboy9 months ago
Hey! You still check ibles? Awesome.

I agree with you, the challenge is what makes it amazing!
KILLERK (author)  Bartboy9 months ago
Like!
Bartboy KILLERK8 months ago
I don't use Ibles much, but I check reddit many times a day.
You should join /r/knex!
TheRacker Bartboy8 months ago
No one uses that....the whole community is here and KI.
Bartboy TheRacker7 months ago
Am aware.
But anything that does get posted gets seen by 50+ people who are pretty interested...
TheFoofinator7 months ago
I agree, I will only use a broken piece if its already broken (I have a too many dark grey clips where the middle join has fractured)
Mace!7 months ago
Magnum, I remember.
KILLERK (author)  Mace!7 months ago
not proud hence one of several reasons I never posted it
TheRacker KILLERK7 months ago
Also your original gun, however that wasn't necessary.
KILLERK (author)  TheRacker7 months ago
right true I forgot about the firing pin but either way I stopped and even said in the ible not to sharpen it. Man it has been awhile.
Mace! KILLERK7 months ago
By the way I really like the bolt idea, I've tried it out and it works but it seems like it would be much more comfortable if the final draw distance was farther away from your shoulder, if that makes sense. Maybe if the stock was longer.
KILLERK (author)  Mace!7 months ago
yep I understand which is why I have a few fun ideas on the way if not tonight later this week/weekend. By any chance did you mod the back of the TR8-2013 stock as I have pictured?
Mace! KILLERK7 months ago
I do have the stock mod on it now and it seems to work a lot better. I probably just need to take some of the bands off to make it more comfortable since it breaks the oodammo already lol. I really like the structural turret mod but as for the new trigger... it is much better than the one with y-connectors but for me it seems like too much of a hair trigger. Sometimes the gun fires when I don't expect it to but it may be time to replace the trigger rubber band.
KILLERK (author)  Mace!7 months ago
Yeah that is my guess with the trigger either that or the trigger blocking part is worn. But overall you like the mods!?
Mace! KILLERK7 months ago
Now that I think of it the dark grey connector does have a couple of grooves worn into it. But overall I do like the mods. I had actually the same ratchet mod on mine before you put up the picture of it, the only difference was that I have a y-connector in place of the blue clip. I'm thinking of trying the wheel on the front of the gun like a lot of people are doing.
KILLERK (author)  Mace!7 months ago
yeah the wheel is fine but almost useless if you use fin ammo hence why I designed the gun originally so I don't plan on integrating it into my gun personally. Yeah the blue clip is nice to keep the white snowflake connector in line better than ever and everything in better working order. Theracker showed me that blue clip
didexo7 months ago
Agreed, I don't use broken pieces in my guns because other don't have the option of break a piece. Once you do, you can't fix it.
JonnyBGood9 months ago
Hey man, I don't mean to brag, but isn't that what I've been doing since I've been on this site?
I think that you are completely right with your opinion on the matter. Cleaner and more thought through designs where you design around problems instead of sawing through them.
Thanks for posting this though I'm glad I'm not the only one who believes in this philosophy.
XD, "sawing through them..." No pun intended.
Exactly! I honestly wasn't even trying! I acctually was trying to think of some sort of related event....
XD
=D {feeling quite comical}
I would say that I agree with you much, but I'll comment a little more on this later. Hows that shotgun doing?
been pretty busy but the firing mech works good so far
Good to hear. Are you gonna upload it to 'ibles soon?
nerfrocketeer9 months ago
+1
Pro

Get More Out of Instructables

Already have an Account?

close

PDF Downloads
As a Pro member, you will gain access to download any Instructable in the PDF format. You also have the ability to customize your PDF download.

Upgrade to Pro today!