Instructables

Pro Members! (Your opinion is needed)

Soooo, its been a few days since Pro Accounts have been implemented, and I've been wondering, whats your first impression of it? Are the features worth it? (I'll post again once the week is up, and ask again)

Keith-Kid4 years ago
I dont care bout the features, but I owe a lot to this site so I'm signing up. I had to do chores to get the money. CHORES! You better enjoy those $24, instructables!!!
bumpus (author)  Keith-Kid4 years ago
You're also not a Pro User yet.. :P
I had to work to get the money. Blah, I just need to make a check, but theres been some family trouble here...I barely get to be in the house as it is, let alone go to a post office......

When Im a pro, I am SO rubbing it in your face.
Greater love hath no Kid than this, that he lay down his willingness to do chores and to cope with quarrelsome check-writers for his 'Ibles. Good for you, Kid. :)
xD
Hey it wasn't that bad!
In his case, the check is really in the mail.
coming and going LOL
I had to do chores and got no money.
if it makes you feel better, I have to start all over again, my comp was acting a lil fuzzy, and had to buy new speakaz.....
No! Your setbacks could never make me feel better! Good luck going pro soon!
Kiteman4 years ago
So far, I have only noticed two problems;

  • Technical problems have been making the site run slowly.
  • There are a huge number of posts from people whining about the changes.
I wish the moaners would sit down and realise that it's the international financial situation that has has forced this move, not greed on the part of Eric and the team.

With failing advertising revenues, the choice really is; pro members or no members.
The fact is, they did not even try less restrictive measures first, they just hit everyone with a really big war hammer.
gmjhowe Kiteman4 years ago
New pro feature - the 'Whine Blocker'

turn it on to block those whining and complaining about pro accounts
But even if I go Pro, I shall maintain the Upside-down Pro avatar, because it becomes a ridiculous oxymoron to confuse the masses in a funny way.
ROFL, Sorry I whined. I see the Ible-bot shaped light now. :)
lmao. Personally, I am not against pro accounts myself.
Berkin gmjhowe4 years ago
Ha ha ha....
(I know I'm not pro so my opinion isn't rly wanted on the thread, but I'm going to give it anyway :P.)

If I thought for one second that this was a greedy, money-hungry move, I would be the first one leading the group in violent protesting. I'd leave the site in disgust, and try to convince anyone else I could to do the same. But what Eric says about the financial climate is absolutely true, and this decision hasn't been entered into lightly, and anyway it's not going to change no matter how much they whine so I say we ignore the numpties and get on Making.

>sits down<
... I would be the first one leading the group in violent protesting.

I abhor violence ;-) I tend to protest great mistreatment by companies by using two techniques
#1: I never return and give them business again and
#2: I spread the word about the poor service.
>>I abhor violence ;-) As do I. :) Figure of speech. >>#1: I never return and give them business again and #2: I spread the word about the poor service. Uhm, that's precisely what I said. :D
Yeah, I was just wondering about the violent protest part ;-)
Well, no, I wouldn't resort to actual violence - I meant it metaphorically, as in, very extreme. :-)
I would actually resort to violence. I would burn an effigy of the robot, and kick a kitten. But since I understand the reasoning behind pro accounts, the robot and kittens are safe.... for now!
Hell hath no fury like an angry mob of mutiple cat owners.
Heck yeah! (We own multiple cats. One is like a member of the family. The rest are semi-annoying barn cats.)
I own 4 guinea pigs, and all of them are like family, which is what makes them annoying LOL
It turns out my cat and guinea pig love each other, I left the cage open accidentally, and my cat was curled up beside my guinea pig!
My rabbit escaped in the house. He beat up the dog, and intimidated the cat.
Well, I would keep your cat well fed in case that happens again..... ;-) But I have seen that kind of thing now and then.
Yep. Jack the cat, and Darkie the dog- are like annoying little kids. Jack will look at you, and if you don't pay him attention, he'll push peices of pottery off shelves until you meet his every need. It almost makes me miss a crying, wetting, burping, 1 year old!
Kittens are Instructables site mascots/icons, and I've missed them all this time?
Where are the kittens?? ....I demand kittens!!!

(...oh, no - please don't tell me the kittens are only accessible by Pro members... I have yet to work out a non-kitten-related personal issue having to do with Pro)
Kittens are innocent, adult cats on the other hand..... J/K
:-)
I can't go pro, pay my phone bill or buy stuff from Ebay, Damn numbers on the back of the card have a score through the last three, making them illegible... At least I have money...
You can have the rest of my prepaid visa
I'll pretend to understand that, wait that's an idea, I could buy a prepaid visa card
I don't think I've seen prepaid visa cards around here very much -_-
They sell them in the big box stores, big pharmacies, convenience stores, just like the pre-paid gift cards to most big chain stores. The thing is, there is a "service charge or fee" to get the card activated and some are like the gift cards which start deducting hidden fees after a certain period of inactivity.
Our walmart is rather understocked... Whenever I've looked fotlr prepaid visa cards they haven't had them. Maybe I'll try rite aid. I had one a few years ago and I used it soon enough that they didn't start deducting anything from it. I think I spent most of it on jewelry making supplies...
congratulations on going pro
I totally forgot I already had a paypal account... Thanks...
Hmm, how about a trade then.....since I don't have money, we can use yours, and I'll use my card LOL No? I thought it was fair ;-)
Berkin4 years ago
Regular members should have the Allsteps option.
Agreed.
bumpus (author)  xACIDITYx4 years ago
Take advantage of it now, deal with it later. I can still view ibles in allsteps.
Deal with it later? If you had a bar of gold, but it could turn to poo at any time, would you just "Deal with it later"? No, I'd just jump ship. Which is what I'm going to do. Wikihow is probably going to find it's community growing over the next 3 months.
bumpus (author)  A good name4 years ago
If I had a bar of gold, which may turn into poo at any time, I would immediately cash it in for paper money. Which, contrary to popular belief, does not turn to poo.
So you're telling me to sell my account hmm? Yeah see it's just that no one's going to buy it. A bar of gold might have been a bad analogy... more like a rock.
Yeah, because of that whole "trial" thing.
DOWNLOAD PDFS WHILE YOU CAN! I'll miss that.
thirded
bumpus (author)  Berkin4 years ago
Pro Members opinion only.
Berkin bumpus4 years ago
Okay.
lemonie bumpus4 years ago
Why didn't you pay your subs and post this in the Pro Members Forum? L
bumpus (author)  lemonie4 years ago
So non-pro members can read the reasons. :-)
lemonie bumpus4 years ago
OK, makes sense. Are you still undecided then?

L
bumpus (author)  lemonie4 years ago
Indeed. :-/
lemonie bumpus4 years ago
I've not yet felt the need, but I will at some point. L
Kiteman lemonie4 years ago
I see you have reached the point.
lemonie Kiteman4 years ago
Yes, but having been annoyed into doing it early I've still not got any benefit.

L
lemonie bumpus4 years ago
OK I got pissed-off with the site telling me "You must be a Pro user to view that page. Upgrade now!" - so there you go. L
yourcat bumpus4 years ago
!?!?!
First impression: Infureated Second impression: Sorry I yelled Third Impression: "Oh, so it's to keep instructables aliiive." Fourth impression: I may go pro if the money is just to save Ible-land
Gimme, I gotta say, this was my same reaction. So, all of the above, seconded. But I have to add a second-and-a-half impression: "That's really not that much money for everything I've been getting so far for free. It really is good content, and ok, yeah, I get it. I don't mind paying to help it stay in business." Which sort of bleeds into Third Impression.
But I maintain my upside-down "Pro" avatar if I do go pro. I think they should change it from "Pro" to "Has Credit Card."
This I agree with (as I've said on multiple other occasions). I (and others) really wish that Eric would change the "PRO" to something more abstract (I suggested a little icon of Robot, for example).
YAY! I love robots! course, you already knew that.
The hard part, it seems, to going to be to get Eric to change his mind.
Or to a little picture of the robot in the corner.
NachoMahma4 years ago
. I gotta be honest with ya, the features had absolutely nothing to do with me subscribing - I did it to help keep Ibles online. . Still way too early to tell how it's going to work out. They'll probably need at least 2-3 more days to work out the bugs that inevitably creep into a large project.
Seconded, I deemed that I'bles deserved my money, and it got it. Simple as. I will no doubt make good use of the viewing features, but otherwise, i might give out a few patches. The secret ible thing looks good. And pro forums could either be really good, or really bad.
Any ideas if the patches can be awarded to non pro users? I plan to be pro as soon as I get a reissued card (stupid cheap construction, plus the chip's falling out!) Also what happens to the original patch system in that regards, I do wonder...
Yep, I've 2 patches and not pro, so it definitely works, also you keep your old patches but they're called achievement badges now...
Wow, just like cub scouts and brownies... and you got the Nobel Piece Patch... I haz none. :(
:( You're waaaaaaaaay mucho mas importante than yo...had I any patches to give I would give one to you. :D
Thanks, the were enough.
>Rips patch off uniform< Here...
:-)
I don't know if anybody would accept my remote-control-humam badge. (robot contest), but then I would have none. : ( (counterfeits badges to spread to world)
I agree, albeit, it will have to wait until I actually get a bit of money in order to transfer it in. ;-)
This is exactly why I subscribed. I don't care at all about the features. I'm still completely befuddled about the patch thing. :P
The patch concept is growing on me - you award them to people as a mark of friendship or respect. There are a range to choose from, or you can create your own. The Knexers should take to them quickly, as they could be used as prizes in unofficial contests. Pro members get a certain number to award, and it may be possible in future for anybody (pro or not) to buy or earn more patches to do with as you wish.
I feel so bad now. I shoulda looked to see what this was all about. I now wish to go pro to save the Ible-bot's home.
Agreed. Ibles has meant a lot to the Skunk Family, and I was happy to show appreciation for the site. Whether the pro features are "worth it", or not, doesn't really matter.
It would be hard for it to not be worth it.
=SMART=4 years ago
I have to put some money on my debit card before I go pro. The features look good, I think regular members will get pissed about not having allsteps. But I'm really subscribing to help ibles out. I <3 instructables :P
Pro

Get More Out of Instructables

Already have an Account?

close

PDF Downloads
As a Pro member, you will gain access to download any Instructable in the PDF format. You also have the ability to customize your PDF download.

Upgrade to Pro today!