COMMUNITY : HELP : BUGS


Virus Alert after opening Instructables site

After opening the Instructable home page (and each page after) I received an alert from Norton 360 of a Virus on each page of the Instructables site (see included image). The virus name is Hacktool.WFPOff and its location is http://www.instructables.com/files/orig/FR7/KVOR/FIQ727SF/FR7KVORFIQ727SF.tmp

I'm curious if this is a false alarm, or if it is in fact a virus on your site.

Thank you,
Dave



Instructables.bmp
sort by: active | newest | oldest
lebowski says: Dec 11, 2009. 11:59 AM
I have relocated the file so it is not accessible to anyone. We will delete it once we can confirm if it has a virus or not.

I'm a little surprised that Norton would be scanning all of the files that we host for viruses. The homepage would never call that file directly.
Rock Soldier in reply to lebowskiDec 11, 2009. 12:25 PM
What file exactly are we talking. What I mean is, what does it (or should it, if it is infected) do? Just curious.
JMUBrew says: Jun 18, 2012. 5:00 AM
I get the same alerts from Google.  Have attached a shot of Google's "Safe Browsing diagnostic page".

Weird.
Googlesafediagnostic.jpg
Kiteman in reply to JMUBrewJun 18, 2012. 10:32 AM
The development team know about this, and are working on it.
DJ Radio says: Dec 20, 2009. 9:36 AM
If a user uploaded the file here because he knew it would set off security alerts and thought it was funny, its not.

I've been reading issues of PC world lately and they say popular websites are hacked and rigged to install malware on computers that visit it.
possum888 says: Dec 11, 2009. 1:20 PM
 The (only) bad comment is about how a file uploaded by a user was blocked. That doesn't make the website bad, and the person who uploaded it probably didn't know that it contained malware.

I think someone at Instructables HQ needs to have a look at this: http://safeweb.norton.com/help/site_owners

lebowski in reply to possum888Dec 11, 2009. 1:26 PM
We have taken care of this and asked them to re-evaluate our site.
Kiteman in reply to lebowskiDec 12, 2009. 12:19 PM
How long should that take, because I'm still getting the same alert from Norton (although the AVG at school says it's fine).
lebowski in reply to KitemanDec 12, 2009. 7:23 PM
I have no idea how long it takes Norton to re-evaluate our site and confirm that we have corrected the problem.
Rock Soldier says: Dec 11, 2009. 12:27 PM
Hey dude, what Firefox skin do you have? Looks pretty sweet.
Thanks.
iacchus (author) in reply to Rock SoldierDec 12, 2009. 6:06 PM
Thanks, Its the NASA Night Launch skin
Rock Soldier in reply to iacchusDec 12, 2009. 6:23 PM
Thanks. I just uploaded it, and I already love it. Have you ever used the bloody red theme? It's pretty cool looking. I recommend it. The current version is 0.9
Kiteman says: Dec 10, 2009. 11:13 AM
Goodness me - I just checked my own Norton, and I also get that exact-same alert.

If I google for Instructables, the result list also gives an "amber" alert:


norton screen shot.JPG
Lithium Rain in reply to KitemanDec 11, 2009. 12:51 PM
You trigger Amber Alerts?! D: D:
Lithium Rain says: Dec 11, 2009. 12:50 PM

 VIRUS ALERT


Delete immediately before someone gets hurt...
lemonie says: Dec 10, 2009. 12:55 PM
I wonder who uploaded it & when, and what the file is (without it's .tmp)?

L
NachoMahma says: Dec 10, 2009. 12:07 PM
.  Avira AntiVir reports the file as containing malware.
Doctor What says: Dec 10, 2009. 11:39 AM
Funny, didn't Norton have a large (emphasis on the large) advertisement on Instructables at one point?
Kiteman in reply to Doctor WhatDec 10, 2009. 11:47 AM
Indeed.

It's not their fault if their software finds something dodgy, though.

It would be a poor show if they hid the fact because of a past business relationship.
Pro

Get More Out of Instructables

Already have an Account?

close

PDF Downloads
As a Pro member, you will gain access to download any Instructable in the PDF format. You also have the ability to customize your PDF download.

Upgrade to Pro today!