Virus Alert after opening Instructables site
After opening the Instructable home page (and each page after) I received an alert from Norton 360 of a Virus on each page of the Instructables site (see included image). The virus name is Hacktool.WFPOff and its location is http://www.instructables.com/files/orig/FR7/KVOR/FIQ727SF/FR7KVORFIQ727SF.tmp
I'm curious if this is a false alarm, or if it is in fact a virus on your site.
Thank you,
Dave
I'm curious if this is a false alarm, or if it is in fact a virus on your site.
Thank you,
Dave


















Maker Faire 2013 Slide Show!
Fried Contest Launches 5/13, HQ Celebrates with Fried Day Friday
MEH! :D A Build Night at Montana Ethical Hackerspace!
Got contest ideas? Want to help HQ staff?
Large Instructables Robot head made out of driftwood, check it out!
Call for pre-made parts!
The Instructables Green Design Contest is starting on Earth Day!
My instructable made it into Popular Science!
Orbotix wants to see your hacks - you could win a Sphero!
Transformational experience for Instructables Artist-in-Residence


Visit Our Store »
Go Pro Today »




I'm a little surprised that Norton would be scanning all of the files that we host for viruses. The homepage would never call that file directly.
Weird.
I've been reading issues of PC world lately and they say popular websites are hacked and rigged to install malware on computers that visit it.
I think someone at Instructables HQ needs to have a look at this: http://safeweb.norton.com/help/site_owners
Thanks.
If I google for Instructables, the result list also gives an "amber" alert:
VIRUS ALERT
Delete immediately before someone gets hurt...
L
It's not their fault if their software finds something dodgy, though.
It would be a poor show if they hid the fact because of a past business relationship.