Instructables
Picture of Competitor Rival 107 Preview
0.565548335762649720130808_132030.jpg
0.2075947904686985520130808_133212.jpg
0.570726040367868220130808_133137.jpg
0.221584824973151820130808_132705.jpg
0.413525109239076620130808_132711.jpg
0.3533071791804588420130808_132738(0).jpg
0.869710555580422120130808_132624.jpg
0.713012997486500720130808_132257.jpg
0.2485883050090744720130808_132450.jpg
0.586127481840105120130808_132442.jpg
0.0342321912329696120130808_132343.jpg
0.466807437913145320130808_132227.jpg
0.1400824254720123320130808_132141.jpg
0.332543868309711320130808_132030.jpg
0.715121946649255420130802_112902(0).jpg
phone 2013 006.jpg
phone 2013 007.jpg
phone 2013 008.jpg
phone 2013 009.jpg
phone 2013 010.jpg
phone 2013 011.jpg
phone 2013 012.jpg
phone 2013 013.jpg
phone 2013 014.jpg
phone 2013 015.jpg
phone 2013 017.jpg
phone 2013 018.jpg
phone 2013 019.jpg
Well another longer than expected project, but one I am very pleased to present to you today. Here is Competitor Rival 107! As you can tell by the name, I used dimensions of the AR pistol MK 107 which was displayed on the front cover of a gun magazine on my store. At first I thought the concept of an AR pistol was a real life version of an oxymoron, but after a while of reading and thought I liked the idea. As the magazine came down off the sales floor, I began building. This gun is finished and ready for k'nex war 2013 with a large white rod magazine, a flip up red dot sight, and a nice range of at least 40 feet. I love this gun and I hope you will too here is the stats that the majority of you will read.

Pros
Great range over 40ft.
Good looks in my opinion
New magazine with internal mag pusher and a easy load slide
Flip up red dot sight
Lots of tatical rail length
Trigger guard and a strong trigger mechanism

Cons
Barrel does not look the best. Built for function.
white rods act like blue rods. Some shoot well, others don't you know how that goes.
You tell me. Something I need to work on? Comment about it.

Thanks for viewing! Ible' coming before the contest ends so please vote for my entries: Rockem Sockem Robots, Zip, and Shift!

<Update> Some internal pictures or the gun and some band placement pics>





1-40 of 49Next »
morrisme8 months ago

this is amazing!!

JonnyBGood (author)  morrisme8 months ago
Thanks!
(removed by author or community request)
Gosh dang it! I really need to post things sooner. After Zip2 I'll get this one posted as soon as I can.
I will get to posting it soonish... How soon....well....ummmm....I'll get back to you on that.
didexo1 year ago
Wasn't sure it was a model until the end, my favorite one from you :)
JonnyBGood (author)  didexo1 year ago
Thanks!
No problem :D
JonnyBGood (author)  didexo1 year ago
Well it's not exactly a model, more of a utilitarian model. I'll make a more accurate model later after the knex war.
lolboy8761 year ago
looks pretty cool :D
JonnyBGood (author)  lolboy8761 year ago
Thanks! 9 days later response.... =P
Cool. It has nice looks, good range for white rods.
The only thing, is that it doesn't look to comfortable to hold with your non-trigger hand, but I guess a front grip could be added.
Also, I gotta say, you have an interesting building style
JonnyBGood (author)  dr. richtofen1 year ago
First off thanks! I will be building the bottom rail to be compatible with Reds foregrip so that will solve that peoblem. Yeah, I never realised I had my own build style until darkowlknex told me. Even then I didn't belive it until I built this gun and thought that the five layer gun looked alittle boxy so I added my signature 7th layer detail and I do admit that's my style.

Thanks for the suggestions!
You're welcome!
The 7th layer isn't the only thing. IMO, a lot of connections that you make in your guns are interesting.
JonnyBGood (author)  dr. richtofen1 year ago
Connections?
Yeah, certain connections between the pieces etc.
JonnyBGood (author)  dr. richtofen1 year ago
Is this detachable foregrip what you were suggesting in your first comment?
0.0974122430473756120130810_103806(0).jpg
Yes. Something comfortable to hold it with. It looks good.
JonnyBGood (author)  dr. richtofen1 year ago
Thanks!
JonnyBGood (author)  dr. richtofen1 year ago
Ahhh... Okay, I guess it's natural for me.
Ah, okay :p
This is pretty cool! It looks awesome! I will vote! :)
JonnyBGood (author)  nerfrocketeer1 year ago
Thanks muchly!
Wait a second-did you enter it? I still don't see a vote option! 80
JonnyBGood (author)  nerfrocketeer1 year ago
I did enter this in the contest if you could vote for it please.
Oh, I see it now... Must've been delayed... :/
Done and done! ;)
TheRacker1 year ago
It doesn't look a thing like an AR-15, I didn't even know it was a replica until I read the description. Just my honest opinion.
JonnyBGood (author)  TheRacker1 year ago
Well... I was trying to make it look like a mk107. I know I didn't nail the look, that's why I called a competitor, more focused on function than appearance.

Is the MK107 like the AR15?
It's based on the AR15 platform, looks to be some specific manufacturer's version without a stock, so it can be sold as a pistol.

Although many guns may have special names like this one, they are just one version or iteration or a certain manufacturer's idea of the AR-15, which is the civilian M16/M4. All slightly different, but they all basically use the same trigger group, bolt mechanism, magazines, lower/upper receivers, whatever. Some do come in different calibers though, like you can get 9mm/22lr/.300blk conversion kits.
JonnyBGood (author)  TheRacker1 year ago
Okay I see. I'm not a big gun guy as you can tell, but now I know.
nathanial11 year ago
I really think that it looks pretty amateur handle is kinda bad and the magazine shaft is OK but may I ask how long have u been building with knex :)
JonnyBGood (author)  nathanial11 year ago
ummm... okay....
I have been building with knex for over 10 years now and I have built knex guns for a year.
I am loving your unique building style. The stock is very interesting and I'm sure it's pretty comfortable, because it sure looks that way.

I, of course, will vote. :3
JonnyBGood (author)  DarkOwlProductions1 year ago
What stock? I was considering a adjustible removable stock but as you can tell, I'm not a stock type.

Thanks for your vote and support!
You're very welcome! :D

I thought the little nub at the back of the assault pistol was a stock.  Now that I think about it, the pin would make that impossible. *Face Palm*

facepalmcombo3.png
JonnyBGood (author)  DarkOwlProductions1 year ago
That's alright I'll be making a stock for this tommorrow. If you look at pictures of the real MK107 you'll see it had that little nub for the detachable stock as well.
That makes sense. :3
Wow! This is pretty cool man. Your guns get better and better. Really love it, keep up the work. : )
JonnyBGood (author)  Raz1r Knex Bull3t1 year ago
Thanks! Will do.
1-40 of 49Next »