Introduction: Crimsonberry Vegan Jam

Picture of Crimsonberry Vegan Jam

This brilliant, scarlet-coloured jam is the perfect combination of sweet and tangy, makes a great dessert topping, goes fantastic on toast and suits a vegan diet. It is made without pectin, only sugar.

To make delicious Crimsonberry vegan jam you will need:

Raspberries
Strawberries
Cranberries
Granulated Sugar

Step 1: Fresh Fruit

Picture of Fresh Fruit

Start with equal parts of each of the three fruits; approximately 3-4 cups each for two jars of jam.

Step 2: Mix & Simmer

Picture of Mix & Simmer

Mix the raspberries, cranberries and strawberries together with 1 1/2 - 2 1/2 cups granulated white sugar (for vegan jam, make sure that you use a brand that does not use bone char - such as Redpath.)

Step 3: Simmer 'til It'll Set

Picture of Simmer 'til It'll Set

Let the pot simmer on low for 1-2 hours, stirring every few minutes.

To test if your jam will set, place a small plate in the freezer until chilled and drop a spoonful of jam onto it. If the jam dollop begins to form a skin and congeal, it's ready.

Step 4: Jar the Jam

Picture of Jar the Jam

Pour your finished jam into two clean mason jars and let cool.

If you plan on eating the jam within a month or two you don't need to seal the jars properly, just store them in the fridge.

Step 5: Serve & Enjoy

Picture of Serve & Enjoy

Spread on toast, use as a dessert topping, etc, and enjoy!

Comments

BARKing (author)2013-12-12

My Mouth is watering already. I always say if it makes a good jam, jelly, or pie chances are it will make a good wine too. This is a combination I have not tried yet. Not sure if the jam or the wine will be first but thanks for the idea.

Mmm, Crimsonberry wine sounds divine! That gives me all sorts of ideas.
I'm sure I'll make it into a pie someday soon too. Cheers!

Caliphia (author)2016-06-15

You can also make cranberry jam by soaking overnight 1 cup or so dried cranberries in enough boiling water to cover, then, blending to jammy consistency. Easy squeezy! Two ingredients! Store in fridge. Yummers!

luridhue (author)2013-12-13

Isn't all fruit jam vegan?

Almost. Not quite. 

Fruit jam is vegan when made with pectin or sugar but not when made with gelatin - which some people do use.

Most homemade jam is vegan, but not all. Store-bought jams often have a logo like that of 'vegan.org' so you don't have to scan for gelatin in the ingredients.

Duh. Also bone-char in the production of the sugar used. That also makes jam not-vegan.

nic nak (author)2013-12-13

What's the problem with pectin? It comes from plants. I don't understand what makes this any more vegan any other jam

I don't have a problem with pectin. But I also don't have any pectin. And I see no reason to go out and purchase pectin when jam sets with sugar, so…

No more vegan than any other jam (well, some jams use gelatin, so more vegan than those) and I never said it was. I said it was vegan. It is vegan.

Also, I am using sugar that has been made without the use of bone-char and many jams or jellies, home-made or store-bought, simply do not care about that. Cane sugar is only vegan if it has been produced without using animal-sourced by-products.

100% of jams and jellies are not always vegan. "Vegan" is a definitive and highly-searched "buzz-word." If it was something like hummus, which is always vegan, the inclusion would be redundant, but when there is even a small contingent of the product which is produced using animal by-products I would say that the usage is not un-called-for.

About This Instructable

2,329views

93favorites

License:

More by alannarosewhitney:Sweet SlidersShrunken Apple HeadsPumpkin Seed Butter
Add instructable to: