A master reset is where your phone is restored to its factory settings and it is like you pulled the phone out of the box for the first time. Whats bad about this? You will lose all data that was stored on your phone!
Step 1: Backup EVERYTHING!
Pictures can be moved to a memory card or sent via text message to email.
Contacts will probably have to be written down and reentered.
Messages that want to be saved can be forwarded to email.
Internet bookmarks are probably going to have to be written down also.
Step 2: Reset
Go to <Menu > <Tools+Settings > <Settings > <More... > <Security > type in the last 4 digits of your phone number, and then click <Erase/Reset >
A message will appear that reads:
"Notice: All data from contacts, my
stuff, pictures, messaging, tools,
and settings will be lost and
preference settings will be set to
Press <OK> to continue "
Press <OK >
Another message will popup reading:
"Phone will be reset. Continue
Yes No "
Press <Yes >
One last message will popup that reads:
"! Phone will reset after it
is restored to factory
The phone will stay like this for a minute and then restart. And that's it!