Introduction: How to Make Vegan Candy Corn

Printable Recipe: http://vegetarianbaker.com/vegan-candy-corn/

A fan recently contacted me and asked if I knew of any stores that sold Vegan Candy Corn online. For those wondering, what makes candy corn not vegan, candy corn typically has gelatin or beeswax in it. I did by research and to my amazement, I couldn't find anything. I searched all over the internet for a recipe, but I had some issues finding a decent one. This recipe is a combination of many different recipes that I had in my repertoire. I think you will be shocked how closely they look, taste, and feel like candy corn. I hope you enjoy this recipe and don’t forget to share this recipe with all your friends. Let me know of what you think of this recipe on via twitter or instagram (@jacstjohn & #thevegetarianbaker)

Click Here To Subscribe to my YouTube

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 2/3 cup corn syrup
  • 5 tablespoons Vegan Butter
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • orange and yellow food coloring

Comments

author
inventor scout (author)2014-10-22

So do vegitarians not eat jell-o?

author

Gelatin is made from animal hooves and sinews. Even marshmallows have gelatin unless they are labeled vegan. Kosher marshmallows are made with fish gelatin so a pescadarian will eat those.

author

Some do and some don't. But you can make jello from gelatin subs.

author
aazrhael (author)2014-10-24

WoW! will make on RD! thanks!

author

Let me know how they turn out. :D

author
ThisIsMyNameOK (author)2014-10-14

I never would have thought that candy corn was not vegan. It's great that you took the time to do this. I would hate for anyone to be deprived of the pleasure of eating candy corn. (as I was, when I was a child, because it fell into my mother's "junky candy" category).

author

most candy corn in the stores have beeswax or gelatin. You just have to read the labels. On amazon the only vegan candy corn is a weird flavored gummy.

author

Yes, I read that in your Instructable. And most stuff they sell in stores for vegetarians or vegans is pretty weird. I'm guessing the gummy candy corn is made with Agar. Which, now that I think about it, might be a suitable substitute for the gelatin in the regular candy corn.

Of course, I have no idea what I'm talking about. I just remember reading a recipe awhile ago for a vegan jello type dessert made with Agar.

author

I have an instructable for vegan jello shots. I used Pectin for it. Agar agar is a suitable substitute for gelatin, but it does have a distinct flavor.

author

Ah, that's interesting. I never thought of using pectin. I'm not vegan, as I'm sure you can tell. But it's always good to know different ways of doing things. :-)

author
scott! (author)2014-10-19

I've always wondered if there were any alternatives to candy corn! I wasn't even aware that there were any options without gelatin. Thanks for the recipe!

author
labelreader (author)scott!2014-10-19

The most common brand, Brach's, has animal gelatin in it, but there are many that use honey for flavor and have egg whites and/or beeswax in them, if you're vegetarian. Jelly Belly's version has beeswax, Sweet's brand has egg whites and honey. Many have mineral oil, though, which is toxic. Having a vegan recipe is awesome!

author

no problem. I am glad i could help :D

author
jasara (author)2014-10-16

You are really cool, you figured out how to make vegan candy corn!!

author

Thanks Jasara. It took a couple tries, but I finally got it. :D

author
MsSweetSatisfaction (author)2014-10-13

That's so cool, I had no idea you could make candy corn in your kitchen! Thanks for sharing!

author

Thanks. I didn't know until a fan of mine asked for the recipe. :D

About This Instructable

4,385views

73favorites

License:

Bio: You can also check out my personal website www.vegetarianbaker.com
More by thevegetarianbaker:How to Make Homemade Pumpkin PuréeHow To Make Easy Cold Brew CoffeeHow to Make Vegan Caesar Salad
Add instructable to: