Introduction: K'NEX Review: NAR, TR8, ZKAR

The NAR, the TR8, and the ZKAR have long been the "standards" for good K'NEX guns. If you have a gun that has a higher rate of fire than the TR8, with somewhat decent ranges, you have a good gun (according to some people's philosophy). And so, I took the time to build the three "legendary" weapons to see for my self as to whether they are as good as some people say/think. So, I present the guns in alphabetical order in the next three steps. Now, keep in mind that I did somewhat extensive testing. This means that I did not just chuck the guns together and then said that they were bad/good, I took my time to make them as good as possible. So first of, the NAR.

Step 1: NAR (Not a Rectangle)

The NAR was introduced by oodalumps in December 31st, 2009. All he did was take the body and the mechanism of the TR, and added a simple, but effective, transfer mechanism, that would keep the users FPs from breaking. The gun I have in the pictures is not the NAR, but the gun in the pictures is supposed to represent it.

The Jamalam puts it this way: "The "Not A Rectangle", otherwise known as "Untangle" or simply "NAR" is easily the best single shot in terms of range due to the power transfer at the front. Because this is the only needed feature of the gun, it also makes the NAR very customizable and therefore you can change your NAR to the extreme. With enough work, you could make the gun look however you like."

Stats:
Range: 4/10 (40 ft. max). It was alleged that got 100 ft., mine only got 40 ft., thus, 4 out of 10.
Looks: 6/10. Though this really does not matter, I think that the NAR looks pretty good.
Internal Functions: 5/10. It was hard to get the trigger to block the FP with out help.
Broken Pieces: 10/10. The NAR does not require any.
Comfort: 4/10. The NAR is not really that comfortable
Rate of Fire: 2/10. It was hard to pull and to fire with speed.
Sturdiness: 8/10. The NAR is relatively sturdy.

Overall: 39/70.

Keep in mind that this is my rating for the gun. I truly suggest that you check it out for your self, don't take my word for it. And, if I have offended anyone, I'm sorry, but this is my rating of the gun. Ignore it if you wish.

Step 2: TR8 (TuRret 8 Rounds)

Posted on June 1st, 2009, the TR8 made a huge impact on K'NEX guns. I was not around then, but I have heard A TON about it. It is the best single shot gun there ever was, and people love it. KILLERK's original TR8 'ible has received over 2,000 views, and has sparked huge popularity. Many different versions have been posted, and it is still used in wars today. It is said that if you have a gun better than the TR8, you have an epic gun.

Now, it may look like my version is "heavily modified," but it is not. I is almost exactly the same gun as Hiyadudezposted, just with a different turret. The only thing I really changed is the fore grip area, as I did not want to use up all of those white connecters. Also, I don't own any spacers, so that may have affected something or other.

Stats:
Range: 7/10. I got about 70 ft. with one #117 band and a non-finned red rod. I got only 60 ft. with two bands and a finned red rod. The fins made the rod go downwards.
Looks: 7/10. I think it looks pretty boss. Almost futuristic.
Internal Function: 5/10. Same problem as the NAR. The Trigger needed help to block the pin.
Broken Pieces: 10/10. None necessary.
Comfort: 4/10. Its not THAT comfortable.
Rate of Fire: 5/10. I could not figure out how to fire this thing very fast. It just did not work.
Sturdiness: 6/10. It was relatively sturdy, but if you were to drop this, the TR might break.

Overall: 44/70.

Again, this is my rating for the gun. If you want to see it in action, go build it yourself.

Step 3: ZKAR (Zak's K'NEX Assult Rifle)

The ZKAR is probably my favorite of the three weapons in this review. It was posted in April 25th, of 2009, and is a worthy K'NEX war weapon. It is simple to build, easy to use, and gets great ranges. It has only two faults: 1) It requires a broken Y-rod, and 2) It needed one mod to make it hit the round. This mod was that I HAD to take the connecters off of the pin that connected the pin to the pin-guide. If you don't do this, your ZKAR will not hit the bullet, and your gun will not function.

Stats:
Range: 10/10. I got 70 ft. easy.
Looks: 8/10. I think it looks boss.
Internal Functions: 8/10. It works great, but requires some pin-pull-redoes...things like that.
Broken Pieces: 4/10. It requires a broken y-rod, which many people are unwilling to give up.
Comfort: 4/10. The handle looks comfortable, but really is not...at least to me.
Rate of Fire: 6/10. You could shoot all 7 rods out of the magazine in 10 seconds (provided that it did not jam).
Sturdiness: 10/10. The ZKAR is quite sturdy.

Overall: 50/70.

I really do suggest that you build this. It will be a good experience.

Step 4: Now Keep in Mind...

And I repeat: keep in mind that the scores I gave them are just my opinion. I do not mean to offend anyone, that is just how I found the guns to preform. If you have any questions or comments, drop me a message, I'd like to hear from you. Enjoy!


-The Red Book of Westmarch

Comments

author
sonic broom (author)2014-06-06

Can you please explain how the power transfer works on the NAR and show some pix of it so i can know how it works

thank you for all the help you can give me

author

I can't really help you, I never got it to work that well, but oodalumps can help, he's your man: https://www.instructables.com/member/oodalumps/

author

Ok cool thanks I will try oodalumps

author
SYMEN X (author)2014-05-21

Just a bit curious. Under the stats for the TR-8, how is it that you got 60 ft with one band and a sniper round? I can get around 110 ft. on mine with one strong band and a sniper round, 198 ft. with 2 bands , 275 ft. with 4 bands, and 320 ft. with 6 or 7 bands. I don't mean to offend of coarse, I just don't see how on earth you're getting just 60 ft. with a sniper round when you should be getting higher ranges than that. But I guess it doesn't matter, I'm sure these things are long gone by now considering that I'm a year late replying to this. As for the review, I'm not going to judge, but you tried your best and that's all that matters. :)

author

Well, I'll be honest with you, this was 10 months ago, so I'm not sure if this was as fair a representation as I originally thought it was. I suppose I should rebuild the TR8 and the NAR and give them another whirl, but since there are no comprehensive instructions on the NAR (and indeed, I don't see how anyone build Oodalumps original), I doubt that I will even try. I have kinda decided that I am a replica guy, so building concepts and performance guns don't do much for me.

author

I see. Ok thanks.

author
rururupert (author)2014-04-23

If you get the chance, I'd recommend building Killerk's updated version. It has a greatly improved trigger, a sturdier stock and forgrip, and the new slide mechanism is genius, so you can get really good rate of fire. I built both, and although the old one was very good, the updated version is close to perfection.

author
Raz1r Knex Bull3t (author)2013-07-26

Hmmm, I wouldn't consider the ZKAR as a "standard" for a knex gun because of it's long reload time. If anything, I think the Zaktangle would be a "standard."

author
DJ Radio (author)2013-07-23

Reading this review, I think it's flawed, and not because of how you "built" the guns or whatever, I couldn't care less.

In the Not a Rectangle review, you completely missed the original point of the gun. I assume you only used this gun with like 2 or 3 rubberbands, and with that many, it's inferior range and power wise to other single shots with normal bullet locks because of the fact that some energy will be lost in the power transfer, as opposed to the energy being transferred directly to the rod. However, the idea with the power transfer was that the absorbed energy would enable the NAR to have lots of rubberbands on it, with knexers putting upwards of 15 on their gun before their black rods broke. I loaded 6 rubberbands on my NAR and easily got 100 feet with finned red rods.

Furthermore, you also missed the point that these mechanisms are so simple that you can easily customize your NAR or your TR. I put knex tires around the handle of my NAR and it's super comfortable to hold. There are many, MANY customizations that improve on the vanilla versions of the TR and NAR, including a wind-up mechanism, ammo rack, COMFORT mods, and handle pump, all of which I've tried and loved. I noticed you had problems with your trigger, there are multiple different triggers that have been made for the TR/NAR and I suggest you try them all out. I know the ZKAR isn't as customizable, but I've tried out different stock variants, and even Mepain's removable magazine variant.

In a way, these guns aren't so much classic because they took simple mechanisms and made them into a powerful and reliable shell, but because the designs were so open-ended that you could vastly improve and customize the design. The NAR was derived from the TR body, and there's been a cool shotgun derived off the NAR shell. Don't say you're refusing to take this into consideration because you did build each gun with some sort of modification.

Also, you gave the TR a 7/10 on range but the ZKAR a 10 on range, when they got the exact same range. I don't understand what's up with that.

Yeah, this review warranted me coming back. That's how seriously misguided I think this post is.

author

Meh, I tired of replying to silly comments/questions (and I mean no offense). Thanks for the comment anyhow.

I truly do think that you guys are hating on my because you don't like the ratings, not because my review is flawed. If you don't like my review, ignore it. Just move on.

author

No, we hate on it because how the hell do you only get 40 feet with a NAR when everyone else can get much better ranges than that?

author

Meh, Sharir1701 and TAD both had problems with it.

author

Thank you DJ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! People have told him this an infinite amount of times and... D: D: D:

Red you're a nice guy and all...

Just...

Frustration!!!

author

I'll say it again. You just don't like the ratings I gave them, and you don't like it that I don't like guns that "everybody" is supposed to like. I'm not going to bother to change my opinion, or this 'ible, just because it displeases people.

They have tried "attacking" the way I built the guns... and failed.

They have tried "attacking" me... and failed.

They have tried "attacking" the way I rated the guns... and failed.

THEY ARE JUST K'NEX GUNS! THEY ARE NOT A BIG DEAL. THEY WILL NOT MATTER IN THE WHOLE SCHEME OF LIFE. Move on.

author

Ok, no one has been attacking you as a person. Well, that's at least to my knowledge, and if they had, I'd stand up for you. Hating on you as a person, at least to me, is flat out insulting someone.

People are not 'attacking' you because of how you built the guns, they are just trying to point out that you did some things wrong, and that if you fixed them and rated them again, the ratings would be different. People are annoyed that you rated these poorly because you did a few things wrong, and many of the veterans feel that these guns are not accurately represented, therefore they feel that the ratings aren't right.

I realize these are just K'nex guns and won't affect my life; I'm sure, or at least hope, that every K'nexer has a life outside of this community.

Which reminds me, I got to get working on something for a meeting later tomorrow, practice Tuba, memorize sheet music for marching band, work on Language Arts summer homework, and do a bunch of other stuff... Man, I've got to get cracking. Anyways...

It's just that you won't hear any of us out, and you're dismissing our comments as 'silly.' If you could possibly take some of our advice on how to improve this ible, it would be nice. If you're just fed up with the whole thing and don't care, that's fine, too.

I feel like there's not much more to be said here... :I I hope I'l be able to restrain myself from commenting again. :I

author

No. Not "Thank you DJ".

Thank-You-Based-God.jpg
author

You think that you're based god...

Bitch Please.jpg
author

I don't think I'm him, I'm telling you to thank him.

author

Oh, ok. :3

Thank You Based God.jpg
author
oodalumps (author)2013-07-17

That isn't a NAR. That is a TR without a turret.

The entire point of the NAR was the loose ball socket in the front. Yours doesn't have that.

author

Did you not read the description. I said that that is not a NAR, that is a picture substitute. I built the NAR, and it really did not work, no offense to you, but it has not worked for multiple people.

I had no idea you were still around. Do you build anymore?

author

I guess I didn't read much, sorry. But it's a very simple gun. You need to be doing something terribly wrong for it not to work. Almost everybody who has made the gun says it's extremely powerful. Whenever somebody can't get the gun to work well, they're very eager to tell everybody that the NAR sucks. That always backfires. There is always some reason that the reviewer was at fault, and everybody points it out.

You aren't the first to try to dethrone the popular guns. It's been popular among new builders to bash the "best" Knex guns since KILLERK made his pistol in 2006. But the guns are well known for a reason: they're good.

I'm barely still around. I've been working on stuff, but I haven't completed a gun in a long time

author

Well, if that is what you think, don't let me say anything against it. I wonder that it never occurred to you that your gun might not be as good as you, and others, think. XD, I'm teasing bro, but I really have yet to see EVIDENCE that it works. Don't label me a Doubting Thomas, but he is a wise man who does not believe everything that he is told.

author

I would LOVE it if these guns weren't still the best. Every war so far has had us put down anything that wasn't a TR, because nothing else can compete. Some variety would be welcome.

author
DJ Radio (author)oodalumps2013-07-24

Even pistols and a ZKAR?

author
Sharir1701 (author)oodalumps2013-07-20

I'm sorry, no offense to you or any of the KI guys, but there are far far better guns around today that can beat all three of these (Except maybe the ZKAR) in any war. You guys just live in your own little bubble and don't know about any newer guns posted here on 'ibles. I will not speak about my own guns, but Kinetic, for example, made guns better than both the TR8 and the ZKAR in their own categories, and made many many other guns in different categories that were also, IMHO, better than the lot. Again, I mean no offense to you, but I don't really appreciate you coming on this site ever so often to criticize the fact that "There are no better guns today". There are, you're just so sure of yourself and your guns that you never look around. I've personally barely seen you ever comment on anything that wasn't either something to do with one of the above three guns or oodammo. If you come to 'ibles to comment and express your opinions, please don't speak of what you know not, and please do so in an uncomplaining and non-condescending way. Thank you.

author

I would have to agree with all of this. The TR8/NAR are really outdated, and ever some of my worst guns are "better" than they are.

author

lol please come to the K'nex war I would love to see your guns shine

author

I can't make it dude, my family members are coming that exact same dad-gum week.

author

This comment really bothers me lol but I will hold my tongue.

author
TheRacker (author)Sharir17012013-07-20

I can't think of any. What gun has more power and capacity than a TR-18? And you can reload turret guns much faster. There are more complex guns, guns that do cooler things, guns with more features, but none really beat the TR-18 for the combination of power, ROF, parts used, and reloading.

author
oodalumps (author)Sharir17012013-07-20

I'm a big fan of Kinetic, but none of his guns beat a TR.

author
Knex Lego Maniac (author)2013-07-20

This is an interesting review to say the least. At the end of the day Red reviewed his heavily "modified" versions of each and every gun. If you would like to find out for yourself how my TR8-2013 really does preform please see my new instructable and build it for yourself. My instructable is a complete step by step instructional on how to build both my TR8-2013 and my fin ammo to maximize your guns performance. If you would like to build a K'nex gun that has stood the test of time and battle see my ible build my gun and see for yourself how it preforms. If you prefer not to shoot up to 300ft in a repeatable package then the TR8-2013 is not for you :P Check it out for yourself don't take my word for it! Go get building! Video coming soon!

author

Um, this technically counts as spam, and I suggest you delete this comment.

author

Technically I don't care. lol also it is only fair considering you are reviewing what you claim to be "my gun" therefore I have every right to defend myself. Considering you INSIST on claiming this to be the TR8 and that it suks then I will continue spamming this page until the truth is revealed.

author

Oh facepalm. Did you even read the review? I never said that my TR8 (and yes, it is a TR8) was yours. I gave you a ton of complements, and then reviewed MY TR8! I am not ever sure you read the review. Dude, you are taking to much offense at something you could just ignore. I did not say that it sucks. I really liked the gun, but overall, it is not my favorite, which is something I think you wanted me to say... like everybody else did. XD

author

no I just prefer you make it much more clear that it is your modded version of a TR and not my gun. But considering you said clearly you are reviewing the "greats" of years past it kinda sounds like you are reviewing my gun. All I am saying is that this review is unfair to the gun and to me and frankly this review is terrible. Why bother claiming the NAR is the NAR when it isn't, my gun is the gun you build when it isn't and the zakgun is his gun when clearly you built it the way you wanted. The trigger you built on the TR is the worst trigger ever. There isn't even enough room for the trigger to get up to block the firing pin. I can go on and on. The firing pin is wrong. You name it and it adds up to a gun that will work pretty poorly. Trust me 4 years of experimenting around with the design. I think I probably know. I could care less if you said my gun suked just to be mean lol but when you claim that piece of junk as my gun or label it a TR one of the "great" and then say it suks I will take offense to it.

author

I'm sorry, Red, but KK's got a point. He definitely has a reason to be butt-hurt. He has been working on his TR8 for four years, put his heart and soul into it, and then you make it, heavily modify it, and then pretty much flunk it in terms of usage as a weapon. I realize the community is probably going to get more ticked at me for voicing my views, but this community is starting to not make sense...

I really hope there are no hard feelings between us after all that has been said. D: You're a really nice guy, and I really, really don't want to start a grudge... D:

author

Actually, its not heavily modified, and if you would have looked closely, you might have seen that. The only thing that is really different is the fore grip area (I chose not to use a tone of white connecters). Everything else is the same as the TR18 Hiyadudze posted.

author

Which is still not my gun lol

author

I agree with all of this including Red being a good guy

author
TheRacker (author)2013-07-20

You don't need a broken part at all. Mepain solved that issue. And you can customize the handle and stock however you want for it to be comfortable.

author

...O.K.

author

I was implying that part of how you rated it is flawed, and that therefore it should have a higher score.

author
knexfan9182 (author)2013-07-17

You built the NAR wrong, there should only be 3 connectors after the transfer piece including the bullet lock.

author

I will reiterate. That gun in the picture is not the NAR, that is a picture substituent. I wrote that in the description. Please do read before you judge.

author

Red, we've read it. You didn't build the NAR; you built something completely different and judged it as if it was a NAR. Still, they all look very pretty looking; whenever I look at the guns, I can't believe they don't work for you. I even got Sharir to admit that after three bands the power goes up in small tangents; therefore putting a crud ton load of bands will increase power quite a bit. I realize this takes more effort to pull the pin, but hey: it's more power. Whatever, I've said the same things like a gazillion times already, so I'll just stop talking now. :3

Is there a way to ban myself from commenting on this? That'd be nice if there was, because then I wouldn't be tempted for the 90th time.

Also, I realize this reply is five days late.

And seriously: ever since you've unleashed this forum topic...

You've unleashed some sick fires, bro. ):3

Tavros.png
author

I am also contemplating taking the TR8 and the ZKAR and making full instructions for them to post on instructables. What do you guys think?

author

I actually have the original ZKAR instructions saved somewhere... if I could somehow get the file to you it would probably be easier than recreating them.

About This Instructable

2,852views

6favorites

License:

Bio: K'NEX gun builder here at Instructables. More or less retired from the community, but I still pop in now and again.
More by The Red Book of Westmarch:K'NEX Rezosu Z65 - 100th Instructable!!!K'NEX ThorncannonK'NEX Fusion Rifle (Prism Schism) + Internals
Add instructable to: