Introduction: Project Tres Ball Machine: the Preview

My latest and third (successful) ball machine/tower, and the follow up to uno and dos.

It features 4 paths, and reaches only about 3 ft tall. This has churned up about 3/4 of my pieces, and is so reliable that it has never failed me before.

It uses a few elements, including a new one I like to call the "black hole" on the fourth path. This is the first ball machine to use it, and in the future project quatro I will make much more use of it.

It includes:
  • basic pathing
  • yellow slides
  • ferris wheels
  • black hole
  • path separator
  • wave drop
  • spiral
  • jumps
  • gaps

All in about 3 ft of ball machine.

I'll post the full video soon, this is just the preview.

Comments

KneXFAN200 (author)2016-11-23

PLEASE POST INSTRUCTIONS!!!!!!!!!!! I REALLY WANT TO MAKE THIS!!!!!!!!

The Jamalam (author)KneXFAN2002016-12-04

I'm afraid this was dismantled 7 years ago, I never made instructions. However the tower should be easy to build from what you can see, since it's entirely repetitive, and you might be able to piece together the track if you're lucky. Have fun!

KneXFAN200 (author)The Jamalam2016-12-12

Awwwwwwwwww... dang it!!! I'll try to copy it. If I can, could I post instructions on it? Also, your ball machine "Project Uno" was the first ball machine I ever built!!! I liked it soooo much! Thank you!!!!! It inspired me to do more. But like you said i'll try to copy it. One question, do you play with your k'nex any more? Thanks, KneXFAN200.

The Jamalam (author)KneXFAN2002016-12-18

Feel free, I've had a lot of feedback asking for instructions. Good luck to you! Thanks for your kind words, it's nice to see that something I made when I was 13 still has a positive impact on people haha. I've not played with K'Nex more than once every few months for years, unfortunately. I just don't have the time any more - most of my year is spent in another city for University so I don't even have it with me most of the time.

KneXFAN200 (author)The Jamalam2016-12-18

oh. Thank you sooo much!! Also, Merry Christmas!

squarepants (author)2009-09-04

hey i reckon your ball machines are better than your guns-and thats saying something-and they are perfect for me (i dont have nearly enough for darth trainman's project chaos or anything like that) 5 stars

Tom Buckey (author)2009-08-17

when will new video be? i have a new ball machine but wont be posting

~KGB~ (author)Tom Buckey2009-08-17

y not

Tom Buckey (author)~KGB~2009-08-18

to complicated :/ and my dad is working away and needs the camera for work.

~KGB~ (author)Tom Buckey2009-08-18

i made yur crossbow 3 weeks ago. its a great gun!

Tom Buckey (author)~KGB~2009-08-18

which one v1.2?

~KGB~ (author)Tom Buckey2009-08-18

yes

Tom Buckey (author)~KGB~2009-08-19

you should improve the stock on it because its rubbish. if you have post sum pics if you can

~KGB~ (author)Tom Buckey2009-08-19

its an ok stock

Tom Buckey (author)~KGB~2009-08-20

well it was rushed when i made it

~KGB~ (author)Tom Buckey2009-08-20

kk

~KGB~ (author)Tom Buckey2009-08-18

ok

coolknexcreations (author)2009-08-17

ppppppppppppppppppppppppppppplllllllllllllllllllllllleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaassssssssssssssssssssseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee make instructions!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Maybe, it's a bit too big but I can have a go.

Fred the Penguin (author)2009-08-17

strange I didn't know this was a follow up to itself? "My latest and third (successful) ball machine/tower, and the follow up to uno and tres."

oh yeah... I'll change that :P

we all make mistakes sometimes

Killer~SafeCracker (author)2009-08-17

Looks cool. Where the ferris wheel?? I don't see it.

There are 2 very small ones. You'll see in the video.

chopstx (author)2009-08-17

Awesome! How long are the jumps? 4*

The Jamalam (author)chopstx2009-08-17

One is about an inch downwards, another is about 2 inches diagonally downwards, and the other is about 2.5 inches sideways. Not too long, and I don't think the first can really count... oh well.

chopstx (author)The Jamalam2009-08-17

Yeah, the first one really isnt a jump, but a deadfall.

Hiyadudez (author)2009-08-17

Looks and sounds cool, Nice work, 4.5* :)

The Jamalam (author)Hiyadudez2009-08-17

Thanks, wait until you see the real thing!

~KGB~ (author)The Jamalam2009-08-17

when are u postig?!!! its pure geniuse!!! i really wanna make it!!! 5 billion!!!!! love it!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Jamalam (author)~KGB~2009-08-17

I'll post the full video at some point, probably within the next few days. I can't say exactly when. I need to sync it to the music ;). It may be too large to post instructions, but when I get bored of it, I'll have a go.

~KGB~ (author)The Jamalam2009-08-17

thank you sooo much! would u be able to post instuctions in 2-3 weeks?

The Jamalam (author)~KGB~2009-08-17

Most probably. I like to watch them in the morning (when I have nothing to do), so I use them a fair bit. It depends, because I'll want to show my friends, and I need to make and film the video. So probably 3 weeks at the latest.

~KGB~ (author)The Jamalam2009-08-17

sounds good. the only reason why i want it quick, is because im back in school in 3 weeks, and i want to build a ball machine before i get bak to boaring school. i dont have any current ball machine so im free whenever

The Jamalam (author)~KGB~2009-08-17

Kk, I'll try and get bored of it. I know! I'll lock myself with it in my cupboard! GO GO GO!

~KGB~ (author)The Jamalam2009-08-17

lol! you dont have to get bored of it, i was just asking u 2 post it asap XD

knexagunner (author)2009-08-17

WOOOW THAT IS AMAZING when are you posting it it that looks so amazingly cool!

The Jamalam (author)knexagunner2009-08-17

Haha lol do you sit there on your emails waiting for a comment from me? You only ever comment on my stuff lol!

knexagunner (author)The Jamalam2009-08-17

Kinda yeah i have subbed you so i knnow when you post something and i just checked my emails today

The Jamalam (author)knexagunner2009-08-17

lol thats kinda stalkerish... but its nice to have a raging fan lol

Bartboy (author)2009-08-17

What does the title mean?

The Jamalam (author)Bartboy2009-08-17

This is just a preview of the ball machine. Tres is 3 in spanish, like dos is 2 and uno is 1.

knexsuperbuilderfreak (author)2009-08-17

ausome i like the sound of that black hole

Yeah, it is quite cool when done right. Basically it's a tire and when the ball goes towards it, it makes the ball go around and look like it is in a black hole :D

ausome!

About This Instructable

961views

0favorites

License:

Bio: Figured it was high time to give this a quick edit. I was an active part of the K'Nex community from about '08, I ... More »
More by The Jamalam:TAK - Tactical/Assault Knife - With a sheathTJSR-6TJOS-1
Add instructable to: