Introduction: Robot Fish (for Cistern Inspection)

Picture of Robot Fish (for Cistern Inspection)

In this project, will be described step by step, the process of doing a robot fish. It is not easy for electronics to survive aquatics. This robot has some basic behaviors, for example, when the nose sensor detects a collision, the fish turns in order to avoid the obstacle.

Step 1: Materials

Picture of Materials

One of the reasons of the project, consist on making a low cost robot using recycled materials. The main materials used were: milk cans, a plastic bottle, kitchen gloves and plasticine.

The list of the used
materials is:

Electonics:

- Arduino Nano

- Bluetooth module HC-06

- Ultra bright LEDs

- Distance sensor (IR emitter and IR receiver)

- Battery pack (4 AA batteries)

- On-off switch

- Three servomotors

Robot components:

- Plastic coffee cup

- Plastic bottle (mayonnaise bottle)

- Latex gloves

- Milk can

- Electrical tape

- Epoxy glue

- Silicon glue

- Plasticine

Step 2: Parts Manufacturing

Picture of Parts Manufacturing

The propulsion and direction system consist on three servomotors, one for forward, right-left propulsion and two smaller servomotors for immersion control. In order to protect the motors, a cover using latex gloves is placed. For seal the motors and the interior of the robot, a silicon is used.

The three motors are placed in the plastic bottle, which will contain inside all the electronics and power supply for the robot.

Step 3: Test of Electronics

Picture of Test of Electronics

In this step, the electronics for the robot is tested and improved. The sensors, the Bluetooth module, the LEDs and the servomotors are tested. When the software, the electronics, the actuators and the sensors integration are properly working together, is time to integrate it into the hardware.

Some tests are performed together with the main body of the robot.

Step 4: Parts Assembly

Picture of Parts Assembly

The robot tail was done using the material from the milk can and acrylic. This material is like carton, but water resistant. A light beacon also will be integrated at the end of the tail.

To protect the servomotor from water, the latex gloves were used. During the manufacturing the propulsion system was damaged. A repair procedure was performed in order to fix again the tail.

Step 5: Survive Aquatics... First Test

Picture of Survive Aquatics... First Test

After all the components are tested, are properly working and the final assembly is performed, the time for some tests in water has come. On this first test, the robot had some technical issues, but were finaly solved

Step 6: Final Test... Cistern Inspection

The robot fish is tested in a real environmen: dark, small and hard to reach for a person. The main objective was reached and the robot fish achieved a great performance in water.

Comments

im testing this on bread board but i never when on WHy????

and the codes pls

and can you teach me how to program pro mini using uno,im using mini

hey pls vote for me in my first instructables contest

Alexander heron the inventor made it! (author)2016-08-02

lol

Great! Proyect is going good, congrats

Alexander heron the inventor made it! (author)2016-08-02

lol

Alexander heron the inventor made it! (author)2016-08-02

lol

Alexander heron the inventor made it! (author)2016-08-02

lol

hey sorry for not updating,i was studying.Ive made my own(1 servo needed)and it works with bluetooth.Im posting the vid tommorow.No phone for me to take vid for now(no body included)im lazy at glueing stuffs

Good to know the progress, best luck

succes,only thing left is to combine the body with electronic components.i found out that parareliing 5v is an easy way to distribute power.And i will post it.Btw will a micro servo power a sharks tail ?

A micro servo is not enought, you need a bigger servo motor

i tried to make it again,seems not working i tried to make a pararel between the hc05 and servo.It doesn't seems to work.And my bt voice control app didn't have the same connection as the one on youtube(pics will be posted soon)btw i made a body almost identical to tiger shark

i tried to make it again,seems not working i tried to make a pararel between the hc05 and servo.It doesn't seems to work.And my bt voice control app didn't have the same connection as the one on youtube(pics will be posted soon)btw i made a body almost identical to tiger shark

hey,i found a link: https://www.arduino.cc/en/uploads/Tutorial/sweep_bb.png .In this pic they attach a servo with 9 as output.My program also use 9 as output.The question is can i use the schematic from the link and use a hc 05 combined them?i will only use 1 mini servo(arduino pro mini).Btw i test twice.Both fail to turn on :(

It is possible to connect a small servo as shown in that picture. For servo control, you can use the servo library for Arduino.

this is a stupid question:how many volt an arduino pro mini output generates?

There are no wrong questions. Output voltage for an Arduino Nano (what I know) is 5 Volts and 40 mA. You can supply enough voltage for a LED and/or sensor circuit, but not for a motor or other bigger components.

a mini servo needs... volt,no answer found on google

a mini servo needs... volt,no answer found on google

Alexander heron the inventor made it! (author)2016-05-27

these are my trial circuit.pls help.How to connect the servos(forgive the hello kitty theme its my sisters laptop)

Those cables are really helpful, was a good choise. Remember that you only need 3 ports in order to control 3 servos

yeah that is a problem to me,i decided to try to make a 1 motor shark(i can only control forward).it will be help full if you show me a diagram or drawing for 3 servos(im planning to make the 3 servos soon)

wtf i succed the code and testing using hc05.But i dont know how to attach the servos.Ill show you some pics.Im getting headache trying to finish this

Some devices should be attached into the Arduino, but any arduino board has enough ports, so do not worry for the lack of ports, at least not for this proyect

how to connect the servos :/,im using hc 05 so ive used pin 5v,gnd,rx and tx.I knwo theres 3 servos so how to connect those to uno?since ive used a few pins

I connected the GND and the VCC pins (from the servos) direct to the battery pack. The signal pins from the servos, were connected into 3 pins of the Arduino

can i use hc 05?since i dont have hc o6 roftl :)

yes, you can use the HC-05. This module has 6 pins, but connecting only four (TXD, RXD, GND and VCC) you will achieve the same functionality with no problem

mahdmod.musafani (author)2016-05-07

Sweet!

Looks like it might benefit from a bit more ballast (or how is it called). A keel I mean, weight in the belly to take it bit deeper and stop it from turning side to side when wagging the tail... Also a more flexible tail might make it swim more efficiently.

Thanks a lot for the advice, those things can be improved. More weight is needed. In the tail are many parameters, like the flexibility of the tail, the speed of the movement, angle, torque of servomotor or the area of the tail. Best regards.

genuse (author)2016-05-04

I like this plz post more about it.

cartonerdd (author)genuse2016-05-04

Thank you for the comment, working also in new robotics proyects. BR.

About This Instructable

4,368views

63favorites

License:

More by cartonerdd:Ultrasonic SensorOmnidirectional RobotInsect Robot !!
Add instructable to: