Instructables

Two Ingredient Chocolate Mousse: A Review of Two Types. Let the Taste Test Begin!

Featured
Picture of Two Ingredient Chocolate Mousse: A Review of Two Types. Let the Taste Test Begin!
BlogIMG_1684.jpg
I have been making the same chocolate mousse recipe for years.  I don't even remember how I came up with it.  Maybe it was from eating some of my "batter" in my experiments in trying to make up a chocolate soufflé recipe.  Maybe not.  I think I actually sort of made it up when I was on a diet years back.  I was able to eat egg whites in the morning, but I don't particularly like egg whites, so I would make them into merengues.  Little by little, I added different flavorings to them.  I added cocoa powder and artificial sweeteners to make a sort of chocolate mousse that had to be eaten immediately or it would separate.
Eventually, I ditched that lifestyle.  I ditched artificial sweeteners and added the yolks back into my eggs.  I added in some real, dark chocolate into the mix, to help stabilize the mousse and keep it from separating, and finally got a really great dessert that my husband always begs me to make.
I make this mousse or flan whenever I want to use up a bunch of my hens' eggs.  Since part of the eggs stay raw, I like to use my fresher eggs, just in case.  I never had a problem using supermarket eggs, though before I got my hens.

Chocolate Mousse 1

Ingredients:

4 eggs
100g of dark chocolate

I usually double the recipe.  The part that takes me the longest is probably separating the eggs- seriously!  This mousse is very easy to make.
 
 
Remove these adsRemove these ads by Signing Up

Step 1: Step 1: Whip the Egg Whites

Picture of Step 1: Whip the Egg Whites
BlogIMG_1661.jpg
So, begin by separating the eggs.  Whip the egg whites into stiff peaks.

Step 2: Step 2: Melt the Chocolate

Picture of Step 2: Melt the Chocolate
Meanwhile, in another bowl, melt the chocolate in the microwave.

Step 3: Step 3: Mix the Yolks into the Chocolate

Picture of Step 3: Mix the Yolks into the Chocolate
As soon as it is melted, pour the egg yolks into the chocolate, and immediately stir them into it. Don't let the yolks sit on the hot chocolate without mixing, or they may begin to cook and not smoothly incorporate into it.
crazylam155 months ago
Can u pls tell me how much 100 grams of chocolate is? ( like 1/2 a cup or 1 cup)
tidje (author)  crazylam155 months ago
approx. 3.5 ounces.
tidje (author)  tidje5 months ago
With cups it would completely depend upon the shape/form of your chocolate.
humptybump8 months ago
If you are looking for a two ingredient mousse, melt the chocolate. Start whipping some heavy cream and gradually pour in the chocolate. Refrigerate until time to serve. To make it special, sprinkle some raw sugar un tope and blow torch to create a nice brûlée.
tidje (author)  humptybump8 months ago
That was what I wanted to try next, experimenting. I'm glad to hear it does work. :)
Detoxiodine8 months ago
I have a feeling that my parents are going to find a little surprise in the fridge :D
tidje (author)  Detoxiodine8 months ago
:)
rainbowkisses8 months ago
the first recipe you displayed is one i have been using for 20+ years; the only difference to your recipe is i use toblerone chocolate for special occasions DELICIOUS!! well done for sharing it with everyone :)
tidje (author)  rainbowkisses8 months ago
Thanks!
Sounds great with Toblerone. ;)
mkambas8 months ago
good job, tidge!
my family loves mousse and lately i've been using even vegan mousse recipes.

NO NEED TO WORRY
for those still concerned about using raw eggs, "the likelihood that an egg might contain salmonella is extremely small (five one-thousandths of one percent). At this rate, even if you’re an average consumer, you might encounter a contaminated egg once very 84 years!" (*)

NEED TO WORRY
about contaminated utensils and poor handling techniques at home which account for most food poisoning cases in the US.

PASTEURIZING IS EASY!
"Pasteurization kills bacteria present in food. As long as cross-contamination does not occur (from hands, utensils or other foods) pasteurized foods should be safe for even those in high risk groups.

To pasteurize recipes containing eggs, 160 degrees F [71 C] must be reached or 140 degrees F [60 C] reached and held for 3 minutes.

Here’s how you do it: Combine at least 2 tablespoons of the liquid in the recipe for each beaten egg or egg yolk (4 egg yolks, 8 tablespoons liquid.) Cook this mixture over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until it just starts to bubble. Mixture should be thickened and should coat a spoon; if a candy thermometer is handy, use it.

If the mixture looks like it might start to curdle, remove it from heat and stir rapidly, return to low heart and continue cooking.

Liquids used can be water, juice, milk, or flavorings; but not oil or margarine."

(*) Source:
http://www.georgiaeggs.org/pages/pasteurization.html
tidje (author)  mkambas8 months ago
Thank you.
Hmmmm I'm curious about vegan mousse (apart from the water and chocolate one).
:)
mkambas tidje8 months ago
may i satisfy your curiosity then?
here's the ultimate chocolate mousse for your vegan friends from the ultimate vegan chef & author Miyoko Schinner:
http://www.artisanveganlife.com/just-two-little-words-chocolate-mousse/

her videos are a lot of fun to watch too! great sense of humor... good luck! Mike
tidje (author)  mkambas8 months ago
Thanks!
Look interesting.
I was surprised by the use of puree of cashews. I definitely wouldn't have thought of that.
I do like to use the cream part of coconut milk for a lot of things too, though. Great stuff. :)
realife118 months ago
THAT'S YUMMOLICIOUS!!!!
talyene8 months ago
So we have a "complicated" recipe for chocolate mousse that uses dairy free whip. It tastes really good and always comes out well. I think we switched to that because we could never get the right consistency using just eggs and chocolate.
lauralbaby8 months ago
My 2-ingredient recipe is whipped cream and chocolate pudding, heheh.
tidje (author)  lauralbaby8 months ago
There are so many ways to achieve a good mousse, I guess. ;)
HollyHarken8 months ago
If you're going to try making a mousse with whipping cream, chocolate and egg whites then use Smoocharoo's 4 minute mousse, it's heavenly! I've made it many times and it's always a hit.
tidje (author)  HollyHarken8 months ago
It looks good. I'm a bit skeptical about it taking me four minutes, though. haha
I think I take a little longer with this one, and it should be quicker with less ingredients. I guess if you ignore the preparing the ingredients, clean up, etc., maybe. :)
scook98 months ago
If you take a spoonful of the melted chocolate, and stir that into the egg yolk mixture, *then* add the egg yolks to the remainder of the chocolate, it will temper the eggs so you won't end up with chocolate scrambled eggs.
tidje (author)  scook98 months ago
That's a good idea. My chocolate doesn't usually get hot enough to cause a problem. Plus, I usually mix it all together right away rather than stop in the middle to take pictures for Instructables. ;) Even with stopping, I, luckily, didn't have a problem.
GentzKris128 months ago
An easy way to separate yolks and egg whites is put one or two eggs in a shallow bowl at a time and take an empty water bottle, gently squeeze near the top of the bottle, slightly put the top of the bottle on the yolk, and let go. If you did it correctly it should have sucked up only the yolk and they are then separated. :)
tidje (author)  GentzKris128 months ago
Thanks. Yes, I've seen videos on this and have been meaning to try it, but I forgot about it.
The problem I've been having lately is actually cracking the eggs open. I never had a problem when I was a kid, so maybe it's the strength of the shell of my hens' eggs or something. I'd hate to think it was that I'm getting worse with practice. :)
I have tried cracking on the edge of something, cracking on a flat surface...
When I try to open the egg, I either get small pieces of shell in the bowl, or I poke the yolk open by accident with my hand. I don't know why I have suddenly developed this problem. Sigh
So, I guess that's why that's the part that takes me the longest.
bryan3141 tidje8 months ago
You know, THE easiest way to get egg whites is to buy them in a carton like you do your whipping cream.
tidje (author)  bryan31418 months ago
The problem, though, is then getting the yolks. :) Being able to buy a bottle of egg whites is relatively new here. In the US, that has been an option for longer.

In any case, I guess this would defeat the purpose for me since I make the mousse to use up my hens' eggs when I start to get too many. ;)
Aswa tidje8 months ago
I'm so glad I'm not the only person who has this problem! As a kid I had the easiest time cracking eggs neatly, and separating them.
Now for some reason it seems to me as if the skin right underneath the shell is somehow stronger, or more "bouncy", so the shell shatters into tiny pieces but the skin is still mostly intact.
Maybe something has changed about chicken eggs the world over? :D
tidje (author)  Aswa8 months ago
:) I have no idea, but that is the same problem that I have lately.
bmick18 months ago
Hi,
I make one on whipped cream and melted toblerone chocolate. I'm going to try your recipe hopefully in a few hours; I'm looking forward to trying a different chocolate each time I make it just for variety but I do love dark chocolate.
Thank you for sharing.
Sincerely,
Boston
tidje (author)  bmick18 months ago
That also sounds really good. :)
I also like to experiment and change things up each time!
ag38 months ago
I do a similar thing when in a hurry for a dessert. Favorite hot cocoa mix and some malted milk powder (prefer plain, but others could be used) on top of heavy whipping cream (1 pk/2oz cream/serv) then use a stick mixer to bring to proper consistency. I leave it considerably softer looser than any whipped cream.
tidje (author)  ag38 months ago
Sounds good- especially with the malted milk powder! :)
Aegian24249 months ago
is chocolate mousse more complicated to make?
I have about the same recipe only mine needs a bit of sugar and some rum...
tidje (author)  Aegian24248 months ago
More complicated to make than what? I'm sorry that I don't understand the question.

I don't like mine very sweet, so I don't add any sugar- at least not when I make it with anything less than 70% chocolate. I made some this week with 1 bar of 70% and one bar of 50% dark chocolate and it was perfect for me. My husband likes it better when it is all 50%, though. I have added honey with the darker chocolate before, too, and it also worked well.
I'm sure a lot of liqueurs could make great additions to chocolate mousse. I would probably love it with Cointreau, but my husband hates orange flavor with chocolate. I prefer to leave it out because I'm serving it to my toddler, and we like it just as much, if not more, without the alcohol. :)
I think that the confusion comes from the fact that in a couple of places you refer to this as "your version" of chocolate mousse. I spent 10 years working in professional kitchens, & I can tell you, with the exception of the last step, using electric beaters to combine the egg whites & chocolate, this IS real chocolate mousse.
tidje (author)  PlayaSinNombre8 months ago
Hello. I'm sorry if the use of "my" offended you.
I was only trying to distinguish the one that I make (mine) from the one I found floating around the internet (the other one).
I also did not follow any recipe when I formulated my mix, including the ratio of chocolate to eggs for the Instructable. I made it up, after some trial and error, so, I don't think it's unfair to call it mine. I did do a search for similar mousse recipes, and couldn't find any. (If you check out the comments, I'm not the only one who couldn't find a recipe like this.) That said, I also stated, despite not finding any recipes like mine floating around, that I doubted that I was the only one to make it this way. I am not trying to take credit for the invention of mousse nor am I trying to patent my (ahem, this) recipe.
I you want to call your mousse recipe "your" mousse recipe, even if it is exactly the same as "mine," I won't be offended.
I still don't understand the posted question about the difficulty. Most recipes floating around use whipped creams, some add gelatin, some do use pasteurized egg whites,etc. (although I haven't really seen any use whole eggs- perhaps for the obvious fear of salmonella?). I guess I do think that they are more complicated, if that answers the question.
arpruss8 months ago
I think the issue is not just the shell, but also salmonella inside the egg. Washing won't help with that. It's rare, but why take unnecessary risks just for taste?
tidje (author)  arpruss8 months ago
I only wrote what I had just read. Whether or not it is true, I don't know; I'm not an expert, nor do I claim to be. They stated that some of those 1 in 30,000 eggs only had it on the shell, so your risk would go down a bit by washing before cracking open. I doesn't eliminate the risk, of course. I didn't state by how much the risk would be reduced because the article didn't state it either.
In any case, I can only see rinsing the egg before cracking it open as helping and doubt it would hurt.
I also understand your not wanting to use raw eggs. You can either try using pasteurized or not make the recipe, I guess.
I trust the eggs from my hens, so I'll continue to make it like I do.
Torino8 months ago
In some areas you can get pasteurized eggs so you don't have to worry about using raw eggs. My local Kroger sells them.
tidje (author)  Torino8 months ago
I have never seen a pasteurized egg. Hmmm, I wonder how they do that (and keep it raw-like?) :)
Worth a shot in any case for those who are concerned about it.
Torino tidje8 months ago
These are the ones I have used. They tell you the process they use to pasteurize there eggs.
http://www.safeeggs.com/
Pro

Get More Out of Instructables

Already have an Account?

close

PDF Downloads
As a Pro member, you will gain access to download any Instructable in the PDF format. You also have the ability to customize your PDF download.

Upgrade to Pro today!