Introduction: Two Ingredient Chocolate Mousse: a Review of Two Types. Let the Taste Test Begin!

Picture of Two Ingredient Chocolate Mousse: a Review of Two Types. Let the Taste Test Begin!

I have been making the same chocolate mousse recipe for years.  I don't even remember how I came up with it.  Maybe it was from eating some of my "batter" in my experiments in trying to make up a chocolate soufflé recipe.  Maybe not.  I think I actually sort of made it up when I was on a diet years back.  I was able to eat egg whites in the morning, but I don't particularly like egg whites, so I would make them into merengues.  Little by little, I added different flavorings to them.  I added cocoa powder and artificial sweeteners to make a sort of chocolate mousse that had to be eaten immediately or it would separate.
Eventually, I ditched that lifestyle.  I ditched artificial sweeteners and added the yolks back into my eggs.  I added in some real, dark chocolate into the mix, to help stabilize the mousse and keep it from separating, and finally got a really great dessert that my husband always begs me to make.
I make this mousse or flan whenever I want to use up a bunch of my hens' eggs.  Since part of the eggs stay raw, I like to use my fresher eggs, just in case.  I never had a problem using supermarket eggs, though before I got my hens.

Chocolate Mousse 1

Ingredients:

4 eggs
100g of dark chocolate

I usually double the recipe.  The part that takes me the longest is probably separating the eggs- seriously!  This mousse is very easy to make.

Step 1: Step 1: Whip the Egg Whites

Picture of Step 1: Whip the Egg Whites

So, begin by separating the eggs.  Whip the egg whites into stiff peaks.

Step 2: Step 2: Melt the Chocolate

Picture of Step 2: Melt the Chocolate

Meanwhile, in another bowl, melt the chocolate in the microwave.

Step 3: Step 3: Mix the Yolks Into the Chocolate

Picture of Step 3: Mix the Yolks Into the Chocolate

As soon as it is melted, pour the egg yolks into the chocolate, and immediately stir them into it. Don't let the yolks sit on the hot chocolate without mixing, or they may begin to cook and not smoothly incorporate into it.

Step 4: Step 4: Incorporate the Chocolate Into the Egg Whites

Picture of Step 4: Incorporate the Chocolate Into the Egg Whites

Now, most people will say to gently fold the chocolate into the whites so that they don't fall.  That is probably the correct way of doing things. 
I have found that my mousse turns out well, though, even when I just use my electric beater to mix it all together, which is pretty much every time.  :)

Step 5: Step 5: Pour Into Serving Containers and Chill

Picture of Step 5: Pour Into Serving Containers and Chill

As soon as you combine everything, pour your mousse into cups, cover them, and stick them into your fridge.  The  consistency improves as it chills.  So, it's probably best to make it a little while ahead of time.

You can add a little more cocoa powder if you want a stronger chocolate flavor.  You can also add coffee powder or alcohol for different flavors.  To make it sweeter you can add sugar or honey.    The sweetness also depends on the chocolate that you use, so you can experiment with it to find the best combination for you.  I normally make it just as written above: simple yet elegant.

Step 6: Chocolate Mousse 2

Picture of Chocolate Mousse 2

I was going to post my mousse recipe, but decided to check and see if anybody else was making my two-ingredient chocolate mousse first, out of curiosity.  Even though I didn't follow a recipe, I doubt that I am the only one who makes chocolate mousse like that.  When searching for "two ingredient chocolate mousse," though, I found something unexpected.  People weren't using eggs and chocolate, but rather were using chocolate and water.

I had heard about whipping up chocolate and water before.  A friend of mine makes it to cover her cakes much in the same way that I make a chocolate ganache.  When she told me how she made her covering, though, I was shocked.  They always tell you not to let water touch chocolate!!

So, before posting, I decided to investigate.  People were claiming that the chocolate and water "mousse" was the easiest, best tasting chocolate mousse ever!!  I had my doubts, but I decided to give it a chance.

So, here is how it works:

Chocolate "Mousse" 2

Ingredients:

250g dark chocolate
1 cup water

Step 7: Melt Chocolate and Water and Whisk Together

Picture of Melt Chocolate and Water and Whisk Together

Melt your chocolate with the water and mix it together.  Place the bowl over another bowl filled with ice and water, and whisk the water and chocolate together.  I tried using my electric mixer, as I do with my other recipe, and only managed to make a huge mess.  So, I switched back to my egg beater.  As it cools, it begins to solidify a bit.  Whisk lightly.  You don't want to whisk it too much or it will supposedly get grainy.  I wanted to whisk mine more, though, because it didn't seem to be getting the nice, fluffy air bubbles that I'm used to seeing in my other mousse.  I refrained, though.

Step 8: Pour Into Serving Containers and Chill

Picture of Pour Into Serving Containers and Chill

Once it solidified a bit more, I spooned it into containers, covered them, and put them into the fridge, just like I do with my usual mousse.

Step 9: Let the Taste Test Begin!!

Picture of Let the Taste Test Begin!!

So, the taste test began.
Neither my husband nor I (nor my friend who makes it for cakes) considered this "mousse" to be very mousse-like.  My husband said it wasn't bad.  It just tastes like a smooth chocolate dessert.  There is no complexity of flavors.  It basically just tastes exactly like whatever chocolate you used, slightly watered down.  So, he tried my usual mousse again.  Once he tried it, there was no going back.  He wanted nothing to do with the water version.
My two year old tried the second mousse and spit it out!  "Ese no!!  Mommy, ese no es!!"  (Not that one mommy!)
So, at our house, mousse one was the universal winner.
I tried to capture the difference in consistency with a picture.  Mousse 1 is on the right, and mousse 2 is on the left.

I think the water "mousse" is OK, but think it is best suited for a cake filling or covering, and not as a stand alone "mousse."  It is just too rich, and not fluffy enough. Plus, making the first mousse helps me use up my extra eggs, gives us a little more protein, and uses less chocolate for the resulting amount of mousse.  That makes it cheaper in the end.

We have since finished my mousse (the first one), and the other sat in the fridge untouched until there were no other desserts available at  home.  We ate it, and without anything to compare with it anymore, it was pretty good.  I would think it would be better if you substituted some of the water with liqueur or coffee.  
I still doubt I would ever make it again because I also prefer chocolate ganache to that for covering cakes.
So, I'm curious to hear comments from anybody who is in love with the two-ingredient, water and chocolate mousse floating around the internet.  Anybody?
Now I'm tempted to try making a chocolate mousse with only whipped cream and chocolate.  Hmmm, I wonder if it would work.

Comments

crazylam15 (author)2013-10-28

Can u pls tell me how much 100 grams of chocolate is? ( like 1/2 a cup or 1 cup)

tidje (author)crazylam152013-10-30

approx. 3.5 ounces.

tidje (author)tidje2013-10-30

With cups it would completely depend upon the shape/form of your chocolate.

crazylam15 (author)tidje2014-07-31

thanks

humptybump (author)2013-07-26

If you are looking for a two ingredient mousse, melt the chocolate. Start whipping some heavy cream and gradually pour in the chocolate. Refrigerate until time to serve. To make it special, sprinkle some raw sugar un tope and blow torch to create a nice brûlée.

tidje (author)humptybump2013-07-27

That was what I wanted to try next, experimenting. I'm glad to hear it does work. :)

Detoxiodine (author)2013-07-25

I have a feeling that my parents are going to find a little surprise in the fridge :D

tidje (author)Detoxiodine2013-07-27

:)

rainbowkisses (author)2013-07-25

the first recipe you displayed is one i have been using for 20+ years; the only difference to your recipe is i use toblerone chocolate for special occasions DELICIOUS!! well done for sharing it with everyone :)

tidje (author)rainbowkisses2013-07-25

Thanks!
Sounds great with Toblerone. ;)

mkambas (author)2013-07-23

good job, tidge!
my family loves mousse and lately i've been using even vegan mousse recipes.

NO NEED TO WORRY
for those still concerned about using raw eggs, "the likelihood that an egg might contain salmonella is extremely small (five one-thousandths of one percent). At this rate, even if you’re an average consumer, you might encounter a contaminated egg once very 84 years!" (*)

NEED TO WORRY
about contaminated utensils and poor handling techniques at home which account for most food poisoning cases in the US.

PASTEURIZING IS EASY!
"Pasteurization kills bacteria present in food. As long as cross-contamination does not occur (from hands, utensils or other foods) pasteurized foods should be safe for even those in high risk groups.

To pasteurize recipes containing eggs, 160 degrees F [71 C] must be reached or 140 degrees F [60 C] reached and held for 3 minutes.

Here’s how you do it: Combine at least 2 tablespoons of the liquid in the recipe for each beaten egg or egg yolk (4 egg yolks, 8 tablespoons liquid.) Cook this mixture over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until it just starts to bubble. Mixture should be thickened and should coat a spoon; if a candy thermometer is handy, use it.

If the mixture looks like it might start to curdle, remove it from heat and stir rapidly, return to low heart and continue cooking.

Liquids used can be water, juice, milk, or flavorings; but not oil or margarine."

(*) Source:
http://www.georgiaeggs.org/pages/pasteurization.html

tidje (author)mkambas2013-07-24

Thank you.
Hmmmm I'm curious about vegan mousse (apart from the water and chocolate one).
:)

mkambas (author)tidje2013-07-24

may i satisfy your curiosity then?
here's the ultimate chocolate mousse for your vegan friends from the ultimate vegan chef & author Miyoko Schinner:
http://www.artisanveganlife.com/just-two-little-words-chocolate-mousse/

her videos are a lot of fun to watch too! great sense of humor... good luck! Mike

tidje (author)mkambas2013-07-25

Thanks!
Look interesting.
I was surprised by the use of puree of cashews. I definitely wouldn't have thought of that.
I do like to use the cream part of coconut milk for a lot of things too, though. Great stuff. :)

realife11 (author)2013-07-24

THAT'S YUMMOLICIOUS!!!!

talyene (author)2013-07-24

So we have a "complicated" recipe for chocolate mousse that uses dairy free whip. It tastes really good and always comes out well. I think we switched to that because we could never get the right consistency using just eggs and chocolate.

lauralbaby (author)2013-07-23

My 2-ingredient recipe is whipped cream and chocolate pudding, heheh.

tidje (author)lauralbaby2013-07-24

There are so many ways to achieve a good mousse, I guess. ;)

HollyHarken (author)2013-07-23

If you're going to try making a mousse with whipping cream, chocolate and egg whites then use Smoocharoo's 4 minute mousse, it's heavenly! I've made it many times and it's always a hit.

tidje (author)HollyHarken2013-07-24

It looks good. I'm a bit skeptical about it taking me four minutes, though. haha
I think I take a little longer with this one, and it should be quicker with less ingredients. I guess if you ignore the preparing the ingredients, clean up, etc., maybe. :)

scook9 (author)2013-07-23

If you take a spoonful of the melted chocolate, and stir that into the egg yolk mixture, *then* add the egg yolks to the remainder of the chocolate, it will temper the eggs so you won't end up with chocolate scrambled eggs.

tidje (author)scook92013-07-24

That's a good idea. My chocolate doesn't usually get hot enough to cause a problem. Plus, I usually mix it all together right away rather than stop in the middle to take pictures for Instructables. ;) Even with stopping, I, luckily, didn't have a problem.

GentzKris12 (author)2013-07-22

An easy way to separate yolks and egg whites is put one or two eggs in a shallow bowl at a time and take an empty water bottle, gently squeeze near the top of the bottle, slightly put the top of the bottle on the yolk, and let go. If you did it correctly it should have sucked up only the yolk and they are then separated. :)

tidje (author)GentzKris122013-07-23

Thanks. Yes, I've seen videos on this and have been meaning to try it, but I forgot about it.
The problem I've been having lately is actually cracking the eggs open. I never had a problem when I was a kid, so maybe it's the strength of the shell of my hens' eggs or something. I'd hate to think it was that I'm getting worse with practice. :)
I have tried cracking on the edge of something, cracking on a flat surface...
When I try to open the egg, I either get small pieces of shell in the bowl, or I poke the yolk open by accident with my hand. I don't know why I have suddenly developed this problem. Sigh
So, I guess that's why that's the part that takes me the longest.

bryan3141 (author)tidje2013-07-24

You know, THE easiest way to get egg whites is to buy them in a carton like you do your whipping cream.

tidje (author)bryan31412013-07-24

The problem, though, is then getting the yolks. :) Being able to buy a bottle of egg whites is relatively new here. In the US, that has been an option for longer.

In any case, I guess this would defeat the purpose for me since I make the mousse to use up my hens' eggs when I start to get too many. ;)

Aswa (author)tidje2013-07-23

I'm so glad I'm not the only person who has this problem! As a kid I had the easiest time cracking eggs neatly, and separating them.
Now for some reason it seems to me as if the skin right underneath the shell is somehow stronger, or more "bouncy", so the shell shatters into tiny pieces but the skin is still mostly intact.
Maybe something has changed about chicken eggs the world over? :D

tidje (author)Aswa2013-07-23

:) I have no idea, but that is the same problem that I have lately.

bmick1 (author)2013-07-23

Hi,
I make one on whipped cream and melted toblerone chocolate. I'm going to try your recipe hopefully in a few hours; I'm looking forward to trying a different chocolate each time I make it just for variety but I do love dark chocolate.
Thank you for sharing.
Sincerely,
Boston

tidje (author)bmick12013-07-24

That also sounds really good. :)
I also like to experiment and change things up each time!

ag3 (author)2013-07-23

I do a similar thing when in a hurry for a dessert. Favorite hot cocoa mix and some malted milk powder (prefer plain, but others could be used) on top of heavy whipping cream (1 pk/2oz cream/serv) then use a stick mixer to bring to proper consistency. I leave it considerably softer looser than any whipped cream.

tidje (author)ag32013-07-24

Sounds good- especially with the malted milk powder! :)

Aegian2424 (author)2013-07-19

is chocolate mousse more complicated to make?
I have about the same recipe only mine needs a bit of sugar and some rum...

tidje (author)Aegian24242013-07-20

More complicated to make than what? I'm sorry that I don't understand the question.

I don't like mine very sweet, so I don't add any sugar- at least not when I make it with anything less than 70% chocolate. I made some this week with 1 bar of 70% and one bar of 50% dark chocolate and it was perfect for me. My husband likes it better when it is all 50%, though. I have added honey with the darker chocolate before, too, and it also worked well.
I'm sure a lot of liqueurs could make great additions to chocolate mousse. I would probably love it with Cointreau, but my husband hates orange flavor with chocolate. I prefer to leave it out because I'm serving it to my toddler, and we like it just as much, if not more, without the alcohol. :)

PlayaSinNombre (author)tidje2013-07-23

I think that the confusion comes from the fact that in a couple of places you refer to this as "your version" of chocolate mousse. I spent 10 years working in professional kitchens, & I can tell you, with the exception of the last step, using electric beaters to combine the egg whites & chocolate, this IS real chocolate mousse.

tidje (author)PlayaSinNombre2013-07-24

Hello. I'm sorry if the use of "my" offended you.
I was only trying to distinguish the one that I make (mine) from the one I found floating around the internet (the other one).
I also did not follow any recipe when I formulated my mix, including the ratio of chocolate to eggs for the Instructable. I made it up, after some trial and error, so, I don't think it's unfair to call it mine. I did do a search for similar mousse recipes, and couldn't find any. (If you check out the comments, I'm not the only one who couldn't find a recipe like this.) That said, I also stated, despite not finding any recipes like mine floating around, that I doubted that I was the only one to make it this way. I am not trying to take credit for the invention of mousse nor am I trying to patent my (ahem, this) recipe.
I you want to call your mousse recipe "your" mousse recipe, even if it is exactly the same as "mine," I won't be offended.
I still don't understand the posted question about the difficulty. Most recipes floating around use whipped creams, some add gelatin, some do use pasteurized egg whites,etc. (although I haven't really seen any use whole eggs- perhaps for the obvious fear of salmonella?). I guess I do think that they are more complicated, if that answers the question.

arpruss (author)2013-07-23

I think the issue is not just the shell, but also salmonella inside the egg. Washing won't help with that. It's rare, but why take unnecessary risks just for taste?

tidje (author)arpruss2013-07-24

I only wrote what I had just read. Whether or not it is true, I don't know; I'm not an expert, nor do I claim to be. They stated that some of those 1 in 30,000 eggs only had it on the shell, so your risk would go down a bit by washing before cracking open. I doesn't eliminate the risk, of course. I didn't state by how much the risk would be reduced because the article didn't state it either.
In any case, I can only see rinsing the egg before cracking it open as helping and doubt it would hurt.
I also understand your not wanting to use raw eggs. You can either try using pasteurized or not make the recipe, I guess.
I trust the eggs from my hens, so I'll continue to make it like I do.

Torino (author)2013-07-23

In some areas you can get pasteurized eggs so you don't have to worry about using raw eggs. My local Kroger sells them.

tidje (author)Torino2013-07-23

I have never seen a pasteurized egg. Hmmm, I wonder how they do that (and keep it raw-like?) :)
Worth a shot in any case for those who are concerned about it.

Torino (author)tidje2013-07-23

These are the ones I have used. They tell you the process they use to pasteurize there eggs.
http://www.safeeggs.com/

Renee! (author)2013-07-23

This looks really great! Can't wait to try it ;)

1-big-dog (author)2013-07-23

What about the health concerns of eating raw eggs? Salmonella, etc?

tidje (author)1-big-dog2013-07-23

I actually just decided to finally look it up. According to the website I just read, they estimated that about 1 in 30,000 eggs in the US have a shell that is contaminated with salmonella. You can cut the risk even further by buying a high quality egg and washing the shell before cracking, trying to avoid getting the shells in the egg, etc.
So, yes, there is a risk, but it is relatively low.

tidje (author)1-big-dog2013-07-23

You can read some of the other comments about it, and use your own judgement. As another person commented, you can try using pasteurized eggs. I have never seen them here, and don't know anything about them, but it is an option, I guess.
I only use the best quality eggs I can find. Between making chocolate mousse, mayonnaise, salad dressings, smoothies, etc., I have eaten several raw eggs per week over many years and have never had a problem. Yes, there is a risk, but I think it is relatively low, especially when using quality eggs. Here in Europe we still routinely use raw eggs for many sauces, etc., and don't really think twice about it. Our eggs are sold on a shelf without refrigeration (although I think that has to do with the washing procedure done in the US on eggs which removes their protective layer).
I would definitely recommend using your freshest eggs, though, and using your best judgement on the eggs that you choose.

Torino (author)2013-07-23

Could you use coco powder? Can you leave it in the large bowl instead of dividing it up?

tidje (author)Torino2013-07-23

You can leave it in a bowl instead of dividing it up without any problems.
You can also use cocoa powder as an addition, to make it even more chocolatey, or substitute some of the chocolate with cocoa powder and sweetener (sugar, honey, etc.) of some sort. If you use only cocoa powder instead of chocolate, though, you don't get the same consistency and the whites will separate into a liquid and foam layer. I just commented on another post below about the problem. The key is to experiment, I guess.

sdhardie (author)2013-07-23

Please, please try it with whipped cream and chocolate and report back! I may try it with whipped coconut cream and chocolate for the dairy-intolerant among us. :-p

tidje (author)sdhardie2013-07-23

If I try it out, I will definitely let you know.

karlpinturr (author)2013-07-23

That's IT! - Your first one is what me & my brother used to make 35 (or more) years ago! - Though we used milkchocolate, rather than dark/plain.

I've tried and tried to find it online, without success...until now ;) Thank You!

I remember it came from a recipe book (part of a series) that my mum didn't quite have the whole set of (...or did she? I can't be sure anymore) It was a well-used series of books, even then, hard-backed, with pages that might have been a little shorter and wider than A4 (but still not square) and... - that's as far as I can get.

I want to make it again - and to experiment with flavourings...

About This Instructable

197,523views

702favorites

License:

Bio: Originally from Michigan, I am currently living on the Spanish Riviera with my Spanish husband, our toddler, two dogs and four hens. I love to ... More »
More by tidje:Mousse de chocolate de dos ingredientes: Un análisis de dos recetas. ¡Vámonos!How To Sew Quick and Easy Party Favor Mini Tote BagsFreezer Paper Mandala (Snowflake) T-shirts
Add instructable to: