So, the other day when I got it in my head to make kosher marshmallows, her months of pestering finally bore fruit and I thought to myself, "What is more kosher than vegan?"
But how does a person make vegan marshmallows? One quick Google search answered this question with an awesome "open-source recipe." This recipe resulted in one mighty good marshmallow (vegan or not).
I present to you this gift of marshmallow goodness that those of the strictest dietary preference and religious convictions can enjoy. It doesn't matter if you are vegan, vegetarian, pescaterian, Presbytarian, Jewish, Muslim, Buddhist or Jedi.
Warning: This is a fast moving and messy process. This is not for the faint of heart.
Step 1: Ingredients
For the fluff
5 tablespoons soy protein isolate 90%
2 teaspoons Baking Powder
1/4 teaspoon xantham gum
3/4 cup cold water
For the goo
1.5 cups raw sugar
1 cup light corn syrup
1/2 cup water
1 tablespoon Genutine Vegetarian Gelatin (if you happen to be in SF, make an appointment and go to the showroom. It is awesome).
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
vegetable oil (to coat pan)
2 tablespoons vegan powdered sugar
2 tablespoons corn starch
Step 2: Powdered sugar mix
Step 3: Prep the pan
Put aside the extra powdered sugar mixture for step 8.