382Views50Replies

Author Options:

Not a rectangle review+mods Answered

Picture of

This is a review of oodalumps's "not a rectangle" with bakenbitz's stock.  One hasn't been done yet so I will do one now.

Body:
Stock: 9/10 Bakenbitz's stock is strong, but the individual walls are still somewhat flimsy.  Nothing blue rods can't remedy though.
Handle: 8/10 Comfortable and sturdy but the trigger guard kinda takes away from it in my opinion.
Barrel: 8/10 Innovative and sturdy, but extremely hard to build.  My hands didn't hurt too bad though.
looks: 8/10. Looks simple, but still looks great IMO

Performance:
Range: 10/10 160 feet flat with 6 #64's.
Power: 10/10 There's a few boxes that no knex gun has shot through before, this gun shot all the way through.  There was even a box with another box behind it, it shot all the way through BOTH of them, fins and everything
Accuracy: 10/10 I made a custom ironsight for it (very accurate) and my friend shot clean through the center of a cheez-it from 20 feet.  I'm serious, straight through the tiny black hole in the middle.
ROF: 5/10.  It's a single-shot, so you have to manually reload it.  Also the fact that you have to pull back a bunch of bands at once for the best reload times slows you down somewhat.
Innovation: 9/10 The concept of a balljoint at the front taking the impact of the pin instead of the back of the gun is a great concept, but I hate that that's all there is to it.

Final word: I was very impressed with the performance of the gun.  It's the most powerful gun I have ever built.  I recommend it to anyone looking for a single shot.

Final score: 9/10

Mods:
Custom ironsight (mine)
Trigger guard mod

50 Replies

user
amtdude (author)2010-11-24

hey just an idea that i did. i always had a problem with my ball socket breaking and crap like that. maybe i just built it wrong or sometin but wat ev. so what i did was i took a flat 2x1 lego and a flat 2x1 smooth top lego and stuck em together and put that in place of the ball socket. it rattles around a bit more but works just as good as the ball socket and now i dont have to wory about the ball socket breaking.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
rofl495 (author)2010-02-07

do you know why my balljoint in the front of the gun keeps shattering?cuz its already broken 2 and it only has 4 #64s

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)rofl4952010-02-08

Actually mine's sort of broken too.  It's still usable and I can even snap rods on it, and thats with 6 #64's. 

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
182515 (author)DJ Radio2010-04-10

The only thing that broke on mine was the actual clip the rest is fine.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
rofl495 (author)DJ Radio2010-02-08

But mine shattered into 3 or 4 pieces.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)rofl4952010-02-08

Weird, mine only chipped.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
rofl495 (author)DJ Radio2010-02-08

is it just supposed to be laying flat or are you supposed to put it at an angle.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)rofl4952010-02-08
user
rofl495 (author)DJ Radio2010-02-08

oh thats the way i have it

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)rofl4952010-02-28

Holy crap mine finally shattered.  The round didn't even fire too.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
rofl495 (author)DJ Radio2010-02-28

mine shattered after 20 minutes.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)rofl4952010-03-01

lol... I have no idea why.  Stupid secondhand parts...

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
shadowninja31 (author)DJ Radio2010-02-08

Weird, mine is just fine. And I've done a lot of shooting with it.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Vynash (author)2010-02-26

Think this is pretty good?


Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)Vynash2010-02-26

looks great.  I put a vertical foregrip on mine and made some mods to the handle/stock connection.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Vynash (author)DJ Radio2010-02-26

Thanks, Yuk for vertical grips lol

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)Vynash2010-02-27

I like vertical grips better lol.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
sprout_less (author)2010-01-29
user
sprout_less (author)sprout_less2010-01-29

sorry for the blurr here is another one

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)sprout_less2010-02-12

Whats with that bit on the front?

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
sprout_less (author)DJ Radio2010-02-12

 for looks, but i took them off and made a better stock

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
knexsuperbuilderfreak (author)2010-01-31

 well dj i started to bulid it...
and i have a little done......
and last night i tried to put some other grays on the barrel....
i couldnt get it in...
so i got a screw driver...
tried that.......
and now i have a gash in my thumb....

this is one f**king strong gun!

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
agent harmsy (author)2010-01-27

Ahaha... haha... heh... hmm... I saw this when it was posted on KI, and this would be the first k'nex gun that's actually scary... I think I'll give it a go, but first I wanna know, how hard is the trigger to pull with full power on it?

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)agent harmsy2010-01-29

Not too hard at all.  It slides down real easily.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
silentassasin21 (author)2010-01-26

Take a picture of that cheez-it. I dont believe you.BTW im in the middle of building the knexsayer for the 3rd time any mods you have or recomend

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)silentassasin212010-01-26

It was at camp, so I couldn't take any pics because I had no tech with me. 

Tape that orange connector that connects the pin guide to the stock.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
agent harmsy (author)DJ Radio2010-01-27

Tape? Tape is for nubs. I superglued mine :D I took the ksayer apart like 6 months ago, but those parts are STILL together :P

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)agent harmsy2010-01-27

That's why I don't glue it. 

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user

Yeah last time i built it super glued that it lasted 5 minutes after letting it dry for 30 minutes. BTW tape FTW

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
~KGB~ (author)2010-01-26
user
~KGB~ (author)DJ Radio2010-01-27

ok, i will make it after my ball machine...

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
sprout_less (author)2010-01-26

 Yah I don't like that trigger gaurd either, what were they talking about on ki where it hurt them, i don't get it

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
travw (author)2010-01-25

Good, glad you built it. I need to go back and follow my own advice: Use white connectors to hook rubberbands on like yourself. But I'll put at least two. I don't want anything breaking off and smacking me in the face.... again.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)travw2010-01-25

what are you talking about?

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
travw (author)DJ Radio2010-01-25

What part in particular? The first part? I'm just rambling. I told SN31 to use white connectors instead of gold's.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
shadowninja31 (author)2010-01-25

So you do go on KI...
Anyways nice review.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)shadowninja312010-01-25

So what if I do? What's it to you?

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
shadowninja31 (author)DJ Radio2010-01-25

Just saying.... I was making a connection in my head.
As I said, nice review.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
ninjusk (author)2010-01-25

i made one a little wile ago and i used the same sight
but i took it apart because i dint use it 
but still it rocks 

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Fred the Penguin (author)2010-01-24

nice review, good honest scores.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer