252Views46Replies

Author Options:

Oodassault-Pistol Review Answered

Picture of

Here is my take on the Oodassault-Pistol By TheDunkis.

Link: https://www.instructables.com/id/Oodassault-Pistol/

Before I start, I'd like to highly recommend it.

Trigger:
Strong,
Realistic,
and reliable.
Also has a safety, and is very innovative.

Mag:
Small, but it is very reliable.
Note that it is slow to reload.
Is also very new.

Handle:
Not much to say, but it feels good,
and is very sturdy.

Barrel:
It looks iffy, but it is really good.
The bullets fly extremely straight,
and are pretty powerful.

Overall:
Innovation: 10/10 Almost all of this gun is 100% TD.
Accuracy 10/10 I can hit a small target from 20 feet using the sights.
Trigger: 9/10 Feels great, and is very reliable.
Strength: 8/10 Like most 3-layer pistols, it could be broken quite easily.
Range: 8/10 It shoots quite far, and maintains it's accuracy.
Comfort 8/10 Trigger feels very good, and so does the handle.
Reload: 8/10 The mag is slow to reload,but it is VERY reliable.
Mod room: 8/10 This gun could have many mods for various reasons.
It is built so you can easily change things like: Change ammo type (?)
Add longer barrel, stock...etc.....
Looks 7/10 It's not very realistic, but it looks cool.
Raw Power: 7/10 Oodammo tends to be not very damaging, but it
more than makes up for that with it's accuracy.

83/100
8/10
4*
I love this gun. Love it.
But the mag is too small and slow to reload.
This makes a great sidearm, but just don't plan on
reloading this while running away from the enemy.

Link: https://www.instructables.com/id/Oodassault-Pistol/

It would make a good gun to make two of then have a mini war

46 Replies

user
knexguy (author)2009-08-08

Erm, I do this to every review I see, but... It's overrated in places. 'Strength: 8/10 Like most 3-layer pistols, it could be broken quite easily.' Then why, oh why, did you give it an 8/10?

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
chopstx (author)knexguy2009-11-29

Because it's basically average.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
TheDunkis (author)chopstx2009-11-29

First off, why revive this topic? Secondly, 5/10 is average. Ratings have gone the way of grades. People expect 8s and 9s just as much as they expect As and Bs. You can't rate lower without making it look like a 5 is an F instead of just average.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user

God you're fast...
Anyways I kind of feel like reviewing a gun to show people how you should rate something. At first I always thought I was rather harsh but in reality I'm just honest. Problem is I don't have many pieces at all so I've pretty much never made a gun by someone else. I don't have any ideas at the moment though so I may consider building something that doesn't take many pieces as long as it looks like a fun gun and the person is willing to take a "harsh" review.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)TheDunkis2009-11-29

Maybe you could try Lowney's oodammo pistol.  It uses low parts and hasn't been reviewed before.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
TheDunkis (author)DJ Radio2009-11-29

Nah no oodammo pistols please. If I wanted to I'd make my own mini oodammo pistol but they're getting really old really fast. Then again having a rather tiny oodammo pistol that any knexer could easily build many of sounds decent.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)TheDunkis2009-11-29

well what are you gonna review then?

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
TheDunkis (author)DJ Radio2009-11-29

The winner of the challenge I'm about to post.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)TheDunkis2009-11-30

I think I know why people dont want to give low ratings.  They fear flaming.  I gave something a 5/10 once for it being flimsy, and I got flamed for it, the topic is gone now.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
TheDunkis (author)DJ Radio2009-11-30

So someone should have the balls to rate lower if needed. I guess I'll be one of the firsts to rate fairly and stick with it without regret.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)TheDunkis2009-11-30

I did have the balls.  People from KI came over and flamed me for it.  I was young then and I didn't have "the balls", as you would put it, to ignore a consensus and keep doing my thing. 

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
shadowninja31 (author)TheDunkis2009-11-29

haha how about you review IAC's cannon. jk 

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
bigdylan91 (author)TheDunkis2009-11-29

you could review the omen or the ar4 v3 or maybe you should review the rectangle or something off ki

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
chopstx (author)TheDunkis2009-11-29

Sorry, I meant that it is basically on par with the other pistols out there.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
knex_mepalm (author)knexguy2009-08-11

i concor, there is nothing under 6/10 you are a bad critic! NO offence.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
TheDunkis (author)knex_mepalm2009-08-11

A critic does exactly what his name implies- gives criticism. Their job isn't limited to just pointing out every good feature there is. They're also supposed to point out all of the flaws and whatnot. I think that most iblelites are way too easy (though most KIers are too strict) when rating things. The numbers of 1-6 on a rating scale were meant to be used.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)TheDunkis2009-11-29

In that case, bigdylan 91 is probably the best critic in your opinion. 

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
knex_mepalm (author)TheDunkis2009-08-12

but there isnt any under 6/10 hes a bad critic because there is not enough criticism!!!

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
agent harmsy (author)knex_mepalm2009-08-28

But if it's the best pistol out there, then do you need to make up flaws, or pick out the tinest details, just so you have criticism? If its the best (which I think this gun is (in the pistol class)), then it needs no criticism!

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
knex_mepalm (author)agent harmsy2009-08-30

this is doubtful as the best

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)TheDunkis2009-08-11

Ive tried that, I gave a stock and handle less than 5/10 once for being flimsy, I get flamed for it.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Bartboy (author)knexguy2009-08-08

I mean if you try to break it, you could. As long as you are using it as a gun, it won't break.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
knex_mepalm (author)Bartboy2009-09-19

i threw snipers down 2 stories and they never break, thats what i call good,

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
knexguy (author)Bartboy2009-08-08

I prefer 3 layer guns to be honest, but sometimes you can't fit all the mechanisms in, or it just isn't strong enough...

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Bartboy (author)knexguy2009-08-08

Not 3 layer gun will ever be strong enough.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
knexguy (author)Bartboy2009-08-09

That depends on how you define 'enough'. My USP .45 was 3 layer and shot 40 feet, reasonable for a sidearm. Or do you mean structural strength?

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Bartboy (author)knexguy2009-08-09

Both. It sucks when you can't put a lot of elastics on a gun. My pistol is as strong as a rifle.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
knexguy (author)Bartboy2009-08-09

The ZLG is insanely strong.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)knexguy2009-08-11

Zak said he had like 9 rubberbands on the gun. So that means its easy to use.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
knexguy (author)DJ Radio2009-08-12
user
DJ Radio (author)knexguy2009-08-12

and its easy to pull the pin back as well.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user

in spots its strong others it not

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
agent harmsy (author)2009-08-28

Aha, but do you go on KI?? There's a forum on a 'oodammo repeater' with removable mags! And, of course knowing that this pistol is the best one out there, I modded in the removable mag. So, now you have all the good features of this gun, but NOW it also has a 9-round removable clip, which is as reliable as the rest of the gun! The only disadvantages are that it makes it about 20-30% heavier, and it doesn't look as smooth/nice. But it works REALLY WELL!!

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user

Here are the pics... The first is the gun with the mag on and another mag ready to go. Note the grey 2-slot connector 'tab' at the top of each mag, this is a 'pull tab' that activates the mag, and also keeps the bullets from falling out due to the pusher when the mag is not in use. The second pic is the gun without the mag.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Merugop (author)agent harmsy2009-10-09

 Ik know you putted some time in it and i can t make sumthing like that but it kind of looks dumb itts like a two handed uzi
You're gonna post a comment how lame i am and iwould piss me of two but itdoesnt help bcz im just lame

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)2009-08-06

Razzlekunai made a similar review.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
knex_mepalm (author)Bartboy2009-09-19

you can reload faster if you tear off the rod+red connector and attach another one full of ammo

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
razzlekunai (author)Bartboy2009-08-29
user
J Moneyman (author)2009-08-07

i couldn't get this one to work for me. the ram kept on hitting the ammo holder, although it was very comfortable.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Bartboy (author)J Moneyman2009-08-07

Really?Mine works fine...

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
J Moneyman (author)Bartboy2009-08-08

hmm. i must've done somethin wrong.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
TheDunkis (author)2009-08-05

Thanks for the review. It seems a little over rated though. Technically the trigger was an extremely modded IaC assault pistol trigger. I'm thinking of making a higher cap, stronger, easier to load pistol soon. Look out for it on KI.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Bartboy (author)TheDunkis2009-08-05

Yay! I love this. I think it easily deserves 8/10. And the trigger is very different.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer