106Views23Replies

Author Options:

Your Opinions Needed Answered

As you know (or don't know), a while ago I came up with an idea for a place to keep arguments hidden. Some of you agreed, while others did not. I terminated the War Zone after asking Eric about the idea. He said it was best if people just told him who was fighting so he could temporarily ban the offender's account. As of late, I've noticed some fighting around Instructables and I am beginning to have second thoughts about it's termination. Not to go against Eric's wishes, but I feel that banning is only a temporary solution. I think banning could work, but it might also backfire. The offenders could feel that the other got him/her banned, and worsen the grudge. If the War Zone works as planed, I believe the offenders can come to terms without being banned and hopefully stop fighting.

I just want your honest opinions on this matter. It would be arrogant of me to believe the rest of the community feels this way.


This is the original idea:

Welcome to the Hidden War Zone. Here you can settle disputes with other members privately, without disrupting the rest of the community.

Every once and a while, two or more members feud with each other. As this site retains a friendly image, other members detest the violence that ensues. Eventually these feuds move from each other's orangeboards into the public forums, dragging other members into the conflict. In order to avoid this, I have created a war zone that is sheltered from the public eye. Think of it as fighting in a barren field as opposed to a populated city. If you're going to fight, at least try to limit the number of civilian casualties.

When the dust settles, truces, reparations, and atonements can take place. When you are done, please visit the Peace Forum.



You must war either two ways:

  • Chaotically battle in the comments.

or

  • Keep differing disputes separated by steps. (ie. Step one: Goodhart vs. Kiteman. Step two, Adrian Monk vs KK, Skate. et al.)

If you do add a step, please hit "save and finish later" or "finish later". This will keep the War Zone hidden.


If you must fight, do it here.

I truly hope this will never be used, but I've made it as a precaution.


Send me a PM if you wish to be a collaborator.
~Spl1nt3rC3ll

Tags:warzone

23 Replies

user
Keith-Kid (author)2008-07-05

He said it was best if people just told him who was fighting so he could temporarily ban the offender's account.

*Shudder*....I personally saw a warning.....to Chooseausername actually.......from the Big Boss himself......

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user

I was shocked to see that, though choose wasn't being constructive and doing a bit of a run around he was expressing his opinions in an albeit rude but entirely senseless manner... He could have chosen his words better but he was at the end of the day speaking about a project he found dangerous, sure there's an anti disclaimer and whatnot... On the other hand he was rude and repetitive... I have noticed Eric being more active around the site lately, or possibly ran into his post more often than usual, either way it's nice to know the CEO is involved in a real way...

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user

Ugh not much just told choose about being constructive or risking his membership... No biggie

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user

Yeah, lately he's been cracking down, like a cop to a drunk underage driver (Wink, Wink KJ)

Yeah, I'm a bit scared actually, he's been threatening those who offend......now I have to be on my toes!

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user

I don't think that's it though, he's just been more active in a general sense... Ah I may have some problems, I'm not offensive as such, however my mere presence upsets some people...

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Spl1nt3rC3ll (author)Keith-Kid2008-07-05

Chooseausername got a warning?!

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Sunbanks (author)Keith-Kid2008-07-05

I never would have thought Chooseausername would have gotten a warning....

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
DJ Radio (author)Keith-Kid2008-07-05
user
Kiteman (author)2008-07-06

I think any genuine bickering (as opposed to debate and discussion (yes, I know they are often hard to distinguish)) should be restricted to PM. Maybe those members already entrusted with featuring could be given the ability to hide posts that cross the line between discussion and argument, pending a moderation decision by either a manager (or maybe a smaller team of moderators chosen by Eric?)

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Kiteman (author)Kiteman2008-07-06

Basically, I'm saying that the site and forums are now big enough to require active moderation - we've gone beyond the point where simple peer-pressure was enough.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Big Bwana (author)Kiteman2008-07-08

I have to agree with kiteman, it needs some moderators, and they should have a small forum out of public view, allowing them to work together with problematic users.. And Instrucables doesn't have to give the mods the power to ban a user, but just suspend and issue warnings, I still think the owners should be the ones passing the final judgment call on who gets a permanent banning, but the mods can give them the heads up....

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
guyfrom7up (author)2008-07-06

or instead you could call it peer mediation!

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Bran (author)2008-07-05

In my mind, having a "war zone" basically is an invitation for people to quarrel. I'm with Brennn10 on this. If they fight, ban them until they cool down (however long that takes.) We might lose a few members, but better than scare away potential members and have it in the public eye.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Spl1nt3rC3ll (author)Bran2008-07-05

You've got a point about it inviting fights, I don't want that to happen. I'm glad I'm getting some good feedback.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Bran (author)Bran2008-07-05

Also, I would consider a temporary ban a "suspension."

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
NachoMahma (author)2008-07-05

. I agree with Eric. IMNSHO, a "fight forum" only encourages bad behavior.
. But my opinion doesn't really count. It's his web site and if that's the way he wants it, that's the way it is. Since he has stated his opinion, I think we should honor it - remember The Golden Rule.
.
. There's really no way to stop the bickering in a group this large - that's just the way we h. sapiens are. Staff can ban the worst offenders, but, for the most part, we just have to ignore the fights.
. For a lot of the offenders, other users chastising them only feeds their need for attention. If a polite msg doesn't straighten them out, notify staff and let them do their job.
.
. What really bothers me is how all this petty bickering affects the way new viewers perceive the site.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
skunkbait (author)2008-07-05

I don't like the quarrels. I have better things to do than make other people feel bad about themselves. Maybe there could be a "Dispute Resolution" forum available ONLY to the parties involved in the dispute. I don't like viewing other peoples "dirty laundry". It diminishes the otherwise constructive nature of the Ibles community.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Brennn10 (author)2008-07-05

Users that have an argument should handle it themselves through PM and with the staff. In my opinion, it should not be brought into public display, and should be kept between the arguers and the arguers themselves. Not to bash your topic, but I just feel that if other people become involved in someone else's arguement, it might just cause more problems. Besides, on a forum community such as Instructables, forum topics get bumped down very easily, and it will eventually become forgotten about.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Spl1nt3rC3ll (author)Brennn102008-07-05

I agree. Also, that war forum was supposed to be a forum asking if people thought the unpublished instructable was a good idea. People thought it was the place to argue instead :/.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user

I was thinking the Zone could just be a precaution, incase things get out of hand. Otherwise, keep it to PM and staff as you said.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
xACIDITYx (author)2008-07-05

I don't see any more arguing going on. I think it halted whence coolz left. Maybe I'm wrong, but I'm not seeing it anymore.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer