170Views8Replies

Author Options:

embedded video don't show up in the preview Answered

I embedded a youtube video in my instructable, but it won't show up in preview or when I click preview instructable.


8 Replies

user
noahw (author)2009-11-16

Are you still having this problem?  Videos are embedding from youtube fine for me, but if they're giving you trouble still, I can look into it.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
njakol (author)noahw2009-11-16

Yes, every time I edit my instructable the embedded video dissapears (the placeholder in edit mode is still there) but I found one way to work around it. It works if I after I have done my other changes re-embedd the video, click on another step so the instructable autosaves, and then view the instructable.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
lemonie (author)2009-11-15

Did you actually embed the video - is the source code in there and is it correctly formatted?

L

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
njakol (author)lemonie2009-11-15

Yes in edit mode there is a placeholder for the video, but when i change to preview there is no video.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
lemonie (author)njakol2009-11-15

Did you hit "Save Now" first?
(and is the embed code correctly formatted?)

L

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
njakol (author)2009-11-15

Hmm, strange. It seems to work if i use 425x344, but only if i press view instructable directly, if I try to look at it in preview mode and then goes back it dissapears (the placeholder is still there in edit mode though).

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
Kiteman (author)2009-11-15

If you have only just uploaded the video to youtube, it can take a few minutes to get posted there, which means it won't show up here.

Give it ten minutes, then check again.

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer

user
lemonie (author)Kiteman2009-11-15

You won't get the embed code until it has successfully uploaded.

L

Select as Best AnswerUndo Best Answer