73Views4Replies

Author Options:

Can Autosave be disabled while editing? Answered

Can autosave be turned off in the editor?  I'd rather not have anything be "published" as I'm still typing and editing.  I think it's better to hit the "save" button when I'm done.

Another reason I have this suggestion/complaint:

I'd noticed that some of my recent edits have been mysteriously  reverting back to old versions and couldn't figure out why this was happening.  I've come to the conclusion that by accident (maybe due to inadvertent swipe of the touchpad or mouse, my browser went back a page in history, so it brought up my previous version of a page I was editing.  The frequent auto-save saved this previous edition of my page, wiping out all my edits!

This is obviously really annoying, and could be resolved if the editor didn't autosave and just saved when we tell it to.

Also, what's the difference between save and publish?  I understand the difference when you've never published a instructable yet, but once you've published it once, you never have to publish again do you?

Comments

The forums are retiring in 2021 and are now closed for new topics and comments.
0
Kiteman
Kiteman

6 years ago

Save is when you are writing it. Many people spend days, weeks or even months writing their instructables, and don't want to have to rewrite it every time.

0
thrashercharged
thrashercharged

Reply 6 years ago

Sorry I'm not understanding. Maybe we're not understanding each other.

Before I publish, I understand what save does - it saves my work and doesn't publish. Of course I don't want to rewrite it every time. But this is what the autosave is doing to me. Let me explain.

Once my work is published, and I'm editing a step later to change it, the editor keeps autosaving every few seconds. And whatever it autosaves, it's immediately published to the world. So if I'm in mid sentence or even mid word typing, my incomplete word/sentence is being saved and published to the public. I've checked, it's true. Maybe I need to take a break or eat lunch, etc. and I leave a paragraph unfinished. My edit is not ready to be published, but the autosave is doing exactly that - it's publishing my incomplete edit for the world to see. So if a new reader sees it at this time, they could be really confused.

I don't need autosaving when I'm editing mid sentence. I'll prefer to hit save when I'm done. I don't mind having it publish when I intentionally save if it has to work that way as I'm ready to save and let it be published.

My problem is when my browser get's some unintentional input from a mouse or touchpad and reverts back to an old page in history. The Instructable editor autosaves every few seconds, and thus replaces all my edits I just spent the last hour on with an old page of old info. Yes, if I caught that it did this, (i.e., notice I'd accidentally moved to an old browser page in history) I'd know to hit the forward arrow and move back to my new "edited" page and I'd resave it, thus preserving my edits. However, usually I'm not aware this has happened, so the autosave unintentionally wipes out all my changes and I can't get them back.

My question about what save vs publish means refers only to already published works. Once it's published and I'm editing a step, it seems the publish button is redundant?

0
mikeasaurus
mikeasaurus

Reply 6 years ago

You should publish when you are done editing a project. If you think you're going to make more edits later, hold off on publishing until you are done.

For edits after your content has gone live, if you're going to be editing entire sections you should unpublish your work. Make all the edits while the project is removed from the public listing.

0
Kiteman
Kiteman

Reply 6 years ago

Ah, I see what you mean.

I think we need a member of staff to confirm what actually happens whilst editing a published project in the new editor, but some changes (such as thumbnail images) do not "take" until the publish button is hit.