81Views12Replies

Author Options:

Favouriting option will be taken away? Answered

Okay, just wondering, it says that favouriting is pro-only, but I don't have a pro account and I can still favourite things...?

Discussions

None
Kiteman

10 years ago

If you were a member before the pro scheme, you get three months' grace with the pro benefits. When that time is up, you will lose the pro benefits, unless you have already turned pro.

None
A good nameKiteman

Reply 10 years ago

I'm confused... so the free pro lasts for 3 months but since I missed it I don't get to try it... but I get to keep the basic benefits (IE things that weren't added) for those three months?

None
kelseymhA good name

Reply 10 years ago

You're not confused. There is no such thing as "free pro." NONE of us got such a thing as it was never offered.

What was, and is, done, and which you do have (since you joined I'bles in 2007) is that all of the pre-existing features which are being reclassified as "paid" options are still available to you until 4 September. If they are sufficiently important to you, you can pay to get them (and get all of the new features on top of them) after that point.

None
A good namekelseymh

Reply 10 years ago

1: Pro was offered free as a trial run, correct if wrong. 2: I'm actually probably just going to stop using instructables at this point, considering "all those new features" consist of things that aren't really useful, but are rather based off things that we originally got without paying. Oh well, there are other DIY sites out there.

None
kelseymhA good name

Reply 10 years ago

"1: Pro was offered free as a trial run, correct if wrong."

That is wrong. What was offered to existing members (and which I explained above) is that existing features would be kept in place for three months before being disabled on non-pro accounts. Those three months expire on 4 September 2009.

"2: I'm actually probably just going to stop using instructables at this point, considering "all those new features" consist of things that aren't really useful, but are rather based off things that we originally got without paying."

That's certainly your choice. Have a nice day.

None
A good namekelseymh

Reply 10 years ago

1: Ah, okay, I misunderstood then... I had heard from a friend that it had been given as a trial run for a week, which is why I thought I saw everyone with it. 2: Yeah... It's a shame.

None
DerinKiteman

Reply 10 years ago

but..I can't send any patches during the demo

None
lemonieDerin

Reply 10 years ago

You pay for patches, they're a new feature not an existing one. Kiteman's comments has misled you, what he meant was:

If you were a member before the pro scheme, you get three months' grace with the existing features that will be denied to non-Pro members.

When that time is up, you will lose those existing features, unless you turn pro.

L

None
lemonie

10 years ago

I never use it, but you could bookmark 'em instead? Not really a major loss? L

None
A good namelemonie

Reply 10 years ago

Yeah but I already got over 150 favourites, and if I was a new member it would be fine, but I really really don't want to transfer 150+ instructables into my bookmarks.

None
ewilhelmA good name

Reply 10 years ago

Your old favorites will remain; you won't be able to add new ones.

None
A good nameewilhelm

Reply 10 years ago

Okay, that is much more... acceptable. I rarely find new things to favourite anyways.