Author Options:

It's that time of year again! Answered

Yes, it's award season again - the IgNobel Awards.

PHYSIOLOGY PRIZE: Anna Wilkinson (of the UK), Natalie Sebanz (of NETHERLANDS, HUNGARY, and AUSTRIA), Isabella Mandl (of AUSTRIA) and Ludwig Huber (of AUSTRIA) for their study 'No Evidence of Contagious Yawning in the Red-Footed Tortoise."

CHEMISTRY PRIZE: Makoto Imai, Naoki Urushihata, Hideki Tanemura, Yukinobu Tajima, Hideaki Goto, Koichiro Mizoguchi and Junichi Murakami of JAPAN, for determining the ideal density of airborne wasabi (pungent horseradish) to awaken sleeping people in case of a fire or other emergency, and for applying this knowledge to invent the wasabi alarm.

MEDICINE PRIZE: Mirjam Tuk (of THE NETHERLANDS and the UK), Debra Trampe (of THE NETHERLANDS) and Luk Warlop (of BELGIUM). and jointly to Matthew Lewis, Peter Snyder and Robert Feldman (of the USA), Robert Pietrzak, David Darby, and Paul Maruff (of AUSTRALIA) for demonstrating that people make better decisions about some kinds of things — but worse decisions about other kinds of things‚ when they have a strong urge to urinate.

PSYCHOLOGY PRIZE: Karl Halvor Teigen of the University of Oslo, NORWAY, for trying to understand why, in everyday life, people sigh.

LITERATURE PRIZE: John Perry of Stanford University, USA, for his Theory of Structured Procrastination, which says: To be a high achiever, always work on something important, using it as a way to avoid doing something that's even more important.

BIOLOGY PRIZE: Darryl Gwynne (of CANADA and AUSTRALIA and the USA) and David Rentz (of AUSTRALIA and the USA) for discovering that a certain kind of beetle mates with a certain kind of Australian beer bottle

PHYSICS PRIZE: Philippe Perrin, Cyril Perrot, Dominique Deviterne and Bruno Ragaru (of FRANCE), and Herman Kingma (of THE NETHERLANDS), for determining why discus throwers become dizzy, and why hammer throwers don't.

MATHEMATICS PRIZE: Jointly awarded to the following "team" for teaching the world to be careful when making mathematical assumptions and calculations.

Dorothy Martin of the USA (who predicted the world would end in 1954),
Pat Robertson of the USA (who predicted the world would end in 1982),
Elizabeth Clare Prophet of the USA (who predicted the world would end in 1990),
Lee Jang Rim of KOREA (who predicted the world would end in 1992),
Credonia Mwerinde of UGANDA (who predicted the world would end in 1999),
Harold Camping of the USA (who predicted the world would end on September 6, 1994 and later predicted that the world will end on October 21, 2011),

PEACE PRIZE: Arturas Zuokas, the mayor of Vilnius, LITHUANIA, for demonstrating that the problem of illegally parked luxury cars can be solved by running them over with an armored tank.

PUBLIC SAFETY PRIZE: John Senders of the University of Toronto, CANADA, for conducting a series of safety experiments in which a person drives an automobile on a major highway while a visor repeatedly flaps down over his face, blinding him.

You can watch the whole ceremony here, although the video is over two hours long...



7 years ago

I think the Peace Prize was given to the right person. Got a video of him driving over the car. That policy should fix the illegal parking problem ; )


8 years ago

I think I'd rather have a wasabi alarm than the awful shrieking things they have in my dorm...

And that physics prize actually looks interesting, I'll have to read that report.


Reply 7 years ago

I don't know. Wasabi can be rather strong. But since it's airborne, maybe it's not as bad as a spoonful of the real thing.


8 years ago

It's a good thing that studies like this can show such incredible facts...

I never knew my armoured tank could be used in such a scientific and peaceful sense!


8 years ago

>>thinks about making a comment about getting drunk and beer bottle mating rituals.

>>comment withheld.


Reply 8 years ago

You'd only get away with it if you were a beetle...