79Views5Replies

Author Options:

Text for different steps is mixed up and lost Answered

When I was editing a several-step long Instructable, I would click away from the first step to the next step, and all of the text description would be copied over (and the original was lost). It happened 3 or 4 times today. 

Comments

The forums are retiring in 2021 and are now closed for new topics and comments.
0
GenAap
GenAap

7 years ago

I am having the same problem, I hope this can be resolved.

0
LifegraphLabs
LifegraphLabs

8 years ago

Oh cool, I hadn't seen that tab before. I already rewrote the step but if I have the issue again in the future, I'll check history.

0
mikeasaurus
mikeasaurus

8 years ago

When editing there is a "history" tab in the menu dropdown that you can access for your previous saves. This should update every time you navigate to a different step when editing, after a few words have been typed, or when idle for a few minutes.

I can't replicate the copied text issue from my end. Can you access the history and find your old text?

0
LifegraphLabs
LifegraphLabs

8 years ago

I was using Chrome Version 26.0.1410.43 on Mac OSX Lion 10.7.5.

There was a draft saved but I didn't save between switching between steps. As a user, I don't think I should have to, and the text from one step definitely shouldn't be copied into another.

0
caitlinsdad
caitlinsdad

8 years ago

What operating system and browser were you using? Was draft saved?