90Views6Replies

Author Options:

The Raspberry Pi contest says it's still open for votes Answered

It says that the Raspberry Pi contest is still open for votes, even though it also says that voting ends midnight March 17 2016.  Midnight March 17 has already happened.  Why is this so?  Is it a bug?  Or is someone on the Instructables crew misinformed(about what day it is when it becomes midnight)?

Discussions

0
None
nancyjohns

3 years ago

http://www.npl.co.uk/reference/faqs/is-midnight-12-am-or-12-pm-faq-time

0
None
nancyjohns

3 years ago

Today it's closed for votes and is being judged. Midnight March 17, 2016 happened right after 11:59pm March 16, 2016. Just pointing that out to whoever is in charge of contest closing/opening and whatnot.

0
None
nancyjohns

3 years ago

Now it says, "Judging ends midnight March 21" Which has also happened. This is a critical error that I really want to let whoever does these things know.

0
None
Brooklyntonianancyjohns

Reply 3 years ago

Actually, after some googling, I found that midnight is both the end of one day and the beginning of the next. It is the moment at which is changes, and therefore, it is neither March 20th or 21st. Similarly, it is neither AM or PM. However, as you figured out with the voting dates, Instructables uses midnight be mean the end of the day. Throughout the rules, those dates/times specify 11:59pm in order to be more clear.


  1. Deadline. The Contest begins at 12:00 a.m. Pacific Standard Time (PT)/8:00 a.m. GMT on March 07, 2016 (the "Start Date"). Entries for the Contest must be received by Sponsor by no later than 11:59 p.m. PT on April 04, 2016 /7:59am GMT on April 04, 2016 (the "Deadline"). (convert to local time)