How to Make Vegan Pina Colada Cupcakes (TheVegetarianBaker)

Introduction: How to Make Vegan Pina Colada Cupcakes (TheVegetarianBaker)

About: You can also check out my personal website www.vegetarianbaker.com


Learn how to make these delicious and totaly VEGAN Pina Colada Cupcakes, that LOOK and taste amazing!  perfect for Vegetarians and Vegans everywhere!


Ingredients:
FOR CUPCAKES (Makes 12)
☺1 cup of all-purpose flour
☺1/2 cup sugar
☺1t  baking powder
☺1/4 tsp salt
☺1/2 cup crush pineapple (Fresh or Canned)
☺1tsp vanilla extract
☺1/2 cup coconut milk
☺Tbs coconut rum
☺1/2tsp coconut extract

FOR ICING:
☺1 Cup Vegan Butter
☺3 Cups Powdered Sugar
☺Coconut Extract To Taste

FOR SAUCE:
☺3 Tbs Vegan Butter
☺2 Tbs Brown Sugar
☺20 oz Crushed Pineapple (Fresh or Canned)
☺1/2 tsp vanilla extract
☺2 Tbs Coconut Rum
☺Pinch of Salt

Teacher Notes

Teachers! Did you use this instructable in your classroom?
Add a Teacher Note to share how you incorporated it into your lesson.

Be the First to Share

    Recommendations

    • Backyard Contest

      Backyard Contest
    • Dessert Speed Challenge

      Dessert Speed Challenge
    • Finish It Already Speed Challenge

      Finish It Already Speed Challenge

    2 Discussions

    0
    RosyRivet
    RosyRivet

    6 years ago

    What is vegan butter and what is a good substitute?

    0
    thevegetarianbaker
    thevegetarianbaker

    Reply 6 years ago on Introduction

    You probably know that butter is a diary product straight from cows, but what about margarine? Does margarine contain diary or is it a suitable vegan butter substitute?
    Most margarines are made from soybean oil or a blend of oils, but actually contain trace amounts of dairy products such as whey or lactose too. There are a few brands that don't, including Blue Bonnet Light Margarine, and Smart Balance Light Margarine. If you want to be sure that the margarine you're using is 100% vegan, you may want to use a product that is specifically marketed as a vegan non-dairy spread.

    Some non-dairy butter products call themselves "butter supstitutes" or "non-dairy buttery spreads". For simplicity, I call them "vegan margarine". to If you're checking labels looking for a vegan margarine, be sure to look out for whey, lactose, casein and caseinate, which are dairy derivatives frequently used in margarines.