Marcelo Arteaga Mata's Algae Bioreactor

Introduction: Marcelo Arteaga Mata's Algae Bioreactor

(Here is a blueprint for a cheap homemade algae bioreactor or photobioreactor which you can use to cultivate algae for the purpose of producing biomass) So I have been interested on algae bio-fuel for a long time and during this summer I had the chance of pursing this interest. However, I do not have large garden to cultivate large amounts of algae for my experiments so I had to come up with some kind of device to grow lots of algae on a small space at a low cost. After doing some research I decided that growing algae on some type of vertical garden would be the most efficient way to do it. So without further ado...

Teacher Notes

Teachers! Did you use this instructable in your classroom?
Add a Teacher Note to share how you incorporated it into your lesson.

Step 1: Materials

- Laundry Drying Rack
- Two Column Pump  (https://store.windowfarms.com/parts/two-column-pump-for-two-column-windowfarm.html)
- Reservoir with Handle (https://store.windowfarms.com/parts/reservoir-with-handle-for-one-column-windowfarm.html)
- Reservoir Cover (https://store.windowfarms.com/parts/reservoir-cover-for-one-column-windowfarm.html)
- Bottom Tubing Assembly (https://store.windowfarms.com/parts/bottom-tubing-assembly-for-one-column-windowfarm.html)
- Rubber Connector (https://store.windowfarms.com/parts/rubber-connector-for-one-column-windowfarm.html)
- Rigid Tube (https://store.windowfarms.com/parts/rigid-tube-for-one-column-windowfarm.html)
- Flexible Tubing (https://store.windowfarms.com/parts/flexible-tubing-for-one-column-windowfarm.html)
- Scissors
- 10 Large Ziploc Bags
- Clear Duct Tape
- 2 Straws

Step 2: Assemble Parts

- Cut a hole at the bottom of each Ziploc bag.
- Duck tape 5 Ziploc bags together.
- Assemble the pump and the tube system as shown in picture.
- Assemble each string of Ziploc bags in the rack.
- Cover one side of each of the straws with duck tape so that it will fir into the top of the rigid tube.
- Make a hole to the top Ziploc bag and insert the straw side without duck tape in it.

Step 3: Duck Tape Everything!

Duck tape everything that may leak.

Instructables Green Design Contest

Participated in the
Instructables Green Design Contest

Be the First to Share

    Recommendations

    • Trash to Treasure Contest

      Trash to Treasure Contest
    • Rope & String Speed Challenge

      Rope & String Speed Challenge
    • Wearables Contest

      Wearables Contest

    2 Discussions

    0
    awi putra
    awi putra

    4 years ago

    can anyone tell me how algae bioreactor works ???

    maybe to my email awiputra22@gmail.com

    0
    Majornav
    Majornav

    5 years ago on Introduction

    Cool build

    Replace your ziplocs with vacuum sealable bag roll and you can ditch the duct tape.