IDEA - Review Team

Here's an Idea that's been on my mind for a while: A review team. I don't know how reviewing works, and would appreciate if someone could explain. The idea would be: If the staff alone (People on the about page) are the ones who have to review stuff that's been flagged, why not have a review team, like the feature team? It would just be to give that ability to someone. When that person is bored, they can just look around the stuff that's been flagged and dispose of it as is necessary.

Posted by Keith-Kid 10 years ago


Review websites - pushing Instructables

As "VanillaXtiffy" said on Jake's Testimonial topic;...when I see a testimonial or a review on the website it's praising, I'm tempted not to believe it. It takes multiple ones on a third party site.He has a point.  So, we need to make sure that there are lots of testimonials to Instructables on other websites.He suggested one site (Jabber) as a review site.Do you know any other website review websites?  The higher the traffic, the better.Post a link, and then we can swamp it with positive reviews pop over for a look.;-)

Posted by Kiteman 8 years ago


Where is Windows 8 Review and Screen Shots , is windows 8 good previous one ??

I love windows 7 but i hear with my friends windows 8 is not good windows 8 is very difficult to  understand and use . can any one explain me is windows 8 friendly user or business ? i find now check More --> http://tinyurl.com/8ypugek

Posted by jugaar 6 years ago


Check Out My Website

I have recently made a website (my first) and I would like if some of you could visit it and tell me what you think of it. Thanks, BulletBird Link: bitcafe.s1x.me

Posted by DELETED_Minizatic 6 years ago


A proper K'nexsayer review (updated with pic)

Well, I built the knexsayer a few minutes ago, and I realized there were no proper reviews on it.  So I made my own. BODY: Stock: 9/10  Pretty strong, but still not enough to hold the gun up when I hold it there by itself Handle: 9/10 Very comfortable and strong. Body: 9/10: The individual panels are flimsy, but together, It's a literal brick Pump: 7/10: Eh, it FEELS a bit flimsy in my opinion on the rails, but its still enough to work, and in reality, it's decently sturdy.  As for the pump itself, nice work. Barrel: 9/10: Very strong, but front heavy and may be difficult to construct for a newcomer (not really difficult for me) Turret: 8/10: Its really cool and all, but the only connection it has to the barrel seems flimsy. Looks: 10/10: I like the look of it a lot Overall: 8.8/10 Performance: Range: 9/10: Gets 65 feet with 4 #64 bands Power: 9/10: Pierces cardboard at point blank Reliability: 9/10: The pin guide breaks every time I pull the pump back.  I need a fix for it.  EDIT: Problem solved, I bumped it back up 3 points because it works now. Innovation: 10/10: New trigger, New rotation mech, and pump action, all in a gun that performs very well. Overall: 9.3/10 FINAL SCORE: 9/10 Now even though this is a good gun, I still may have some gripes that were unrelated to what I scored on.  In this case, I have 1.  It is very difficult to put rubberbands on the gun or take them off.  But I still love it. Good night everybody.  And yes Knex_lover, I still have quite a bit of knex left over.  TD, if you wonder why I rated everything so high, it is because it deserves those high ratings, and I had little to complain about.

Posted by DJ Radio 8 years ago


Archos 70 250Gb - poor review

I bought the Archos 70 as a replacement for my very reliable (but full) Archos AV700TV. I needed a decent memory that I could use both as back-up storage to my PC, and to show images portably - with nearly 50,000 digital images, this was the 70's "killer app" for me. Web browsing etc was just icing on the cake. As a web browser, it's fine - for ease of use it sits squarely between the iPod and the iPad, and is cheaper than either. The screen is a nice size. However, on it's "killer app", it FAILS. I uploaded my images (9 years' worth) in folders by year, and sub-folders by month. Easy. When I came to use the gallery function, though, it would only show me the first five years' worth. Nearly half my images simply did not appear in the gallery. Going through the "file" tab, I confirmed they were all there. I could even look at a few, but then it would kick me back to the Gallery function, and the images would become invisible to me again. I emailed Archos customer services several times, and got no reply beyond an automatic promise to respond within 2 days. A promise they never kept. On the website, the phone number for tech support is a premium-rate number. Eventually, I had to threaten the marketing department with a poor review, just to get a normal number for tech support. (By the way, that number is 0207 949 0115, and is charged at your normal (UK) landline rates) In the mean time, the gallery function failed completely, and I got alerts telling me the bluetooth function wasn't working (I hadn't switched it on), and that the device is running out of memory (there are currently 230Gb free). When I eventually spoke to a human being, he was as helpful as he could be (no problem with the call-centre's work, it's the higher-ups via email that are a waste of space), except that the firmware version installed on the device (2.3.6) is apparently one that has never been installed on Archos 70s (it should be 2.4.19), so he could offer no help over the phone, except try and update the firmware, and if that doesn't work, re-format the hard drive and start again from scratch. Now, after three attempts the correct firmware is now apparently installed, but the faults all remain. I am reduced to formatting the whole thing and starting from scratch and if this re-install doesn't work, I shall be demanding a refund.

Posted by Kiteman 6 years ago


Not a rectangle review+mods

This is a review of oodalumps's "not a rectangle" with bakenbitz's stock.  One hasn't been done yet so I will do one now. Body: Stock: 9/10 Bakenbitz's stock is strong, but the individual walls are still somewhat flimsy.  Nothing blue rods can't remedy though. Handle: 8/10 Comfortable and sturdy but the trigger guard kinda takes away from it in my opinion. Barrel: 8/10 Innovative and sturdy, but extremely hard to build.  My hands didn't hurt too bad though. looks: 8/10. Looks simple, but still looks great IMO Performance: Range: 10/10 160 feet flat with 6 #64's. Power: 10/10 There's a few boxes that no knex gun has shot through before, this gun shot all the way through.  There was even a box with another box behind it, it shot all the way through BOTH of them, fins and everything Accuracy: 10/10 I made a custom ironsight for it (very accurate) and my friend shot clean through the center of a cheez-it from 20 feet.  I'm serious, straight through the tiny black hole in the middle. ROF: 5/10.  It's a single-shot, so you have to manually reload it.  Also the fact that you have to pull back a bunch of bands at once for the best reload times slows you down somewhat. Innovation: 9/10 The concept of a balljoint at the front taking the impact of the pin instead of the back of the gun is a great concept, but I hate that that's all there is to it. Final word: I was very impressed with the performance of the gun.  It's the most powerful gun I have ever built.  I recommend it to anyone looking for a single shot. Final score: 9/10 Mods: Custom ironsight (mine) Trigger guard mod

Posted by DJ Radio 8 years ago


I will build and review any gun that i can.

 I am feeling bored today and i saw a topic about his and i decided to do the same! I will do any gun on ibles or i guess ill do KI. One love. PS please be prepared to be delayed

Posted by lioneatr 8 years ago


Knex jackal v4 review.

This is dj radios jackal v4 review. comfort: 10/10 - very comfortable. power: 9/10 - quite powerful. looks: 9/10 - looks fantastic. innovation: 9/10 - new trigger and is just a great gun. accuracy: 8/10 - oodammo is very accurate. piece usage: 8/10 - doesnt use a lot of pieces. strenght: 9/10 - very strong. reliability: 9/10 - never jams and a great trigger. overall: 71/80 - outstanding gun from dj radio, seriosly, build it!

Posted by ~KGB~ 8 years ago


Knex T.B.U.A.R review.

This is killer~safecrackers T.B.U.A.R review. comfort: 8/10 - comfy handle, but it could have a stock. power: 8/10 - its quite powerful. looks: 7/10 - it looks ok, it could be better tho. innovation: 9/10 - its small and compact and has a scope. accuracy: 7/10 - ok accuracy. piece usage: 8/10 - it doesnt use much pieces. stenght: 10/10 - very sturdy. reliabilty: 9/10 - bullet always leaves the barrel and a great trigger. overall: 66/80 - good gun from killer~safecracker. its worth a build!

Posted by ~KGB~ 8 years ago


Annual Instructables Community Review

Hello, everyone, I would like to share with you my experience in this community for about 7 years of being a member here. Instructables members are very talented and very reliable also they are supportive. The community helps me to grow as an enthusiast in technology. This community is very educational. I really recommended this community for any makers around the world. I love being a member here and show what I made. I believe sharing is caring, so if we share each other's idea our world will be better for the next generations. I am lucky of being part of Instructables Community since 2009! (Wareneutron) P.S. Review this community by leaving a simple reply to this post! I hope everyone will share their thoughts and opinions or even feedback about this growing community of makers.

Posted by WarenGonzaga 9 months ago


Music review- 50 cent's get up

You know the drillBeat- 9.5very tight, but would not sound as good without the lyricsLyrics- 8.0It can assist the beat greatly, but it gets awkward in the middle of the song....Chorus- 10.0!!!!!The chorus is the tightest part of the song!End finale- 10.0!!!Perfect fade effect!Perks- 10.0!!!!The intro is a unique twist, and puts a good effect on the song....Overall- 9.2!!!Another great song from 50 cent. It's perfect for hardcore rappers, and those people who want there cares whisked away......... (I fit into both categories)Song of the month- November 2008Song of the year- 2008Video:

Posted by DJ Radio 9 years ago


Z35 K'nex Assault Rifle: Review

Here is the review for the Z35 K'nex Assault Rifle by Oblivitus.What to expect:Innovation: 9/10 Very innovative loading system. It also has a new trigger system. Strength: 9/10 Very strong. The one weak part is the handle, the connection to the body is weak.Range: 8/10 The range is good for a mag gun, about 40-45 feet.Looks: 9/10 One of the better looking guns on this site. The one thing that could make it look better is using less blue rods.Parts: 9/10 Uses quite a few parts, But it's worth it. Handle: 7/10 The handle is good but the connection is weak.Stock: 9/10 very sturdy Barrel: 10/10 Innovative slide mech. Trigger is very innovative as well. Magazine: 9/10 New and doesn't use cut parts.Extras. Bipod:8/10 not the best but it holds up the gun.At the end: I would give the gun 9/10.Here is the link to the gun. https://www.instructables.com/id/Z35-Knex-Assault-Rifle/Thanks for reading.Killer~SafeCracker

Posted by Killer~SafeCracker 8 years ago


DGM's Blazer Sniper Rifle

I am reviewing Darth Gecko Man's latest sniper! What to expect: Strength: 8/10 Why: Small chance it will break. Range: 7/10 Why: Too effected by wind with the original bullet Looks: 8/10 Why: Looks good. It is nice and small. Parts: Handle: 5/10 Why: Way too small. Cant fit my hand Stock: 0/10 Why: No Stock!!!! Barrel: 0/10 Why: No Barrel! Fake barrel: 8/10 Why: Works easily and look good Bipod: 0/10 Why: No bipod!!! (This is not necissary. I am just noting that it does not have one. Please no more argueing) Modability: 10/10 Why: This gun is very easy to modify and would be great for beginners to play around with. Even I made a mod of it by adding a stock and moving the front handle to the rear and making the rear handle part of the stock. In the end: Erganomics are not too good. Feels too small. BUT in a knex war it would be good not as a sniper but as a secondary weapon. The trigger system cant hold too much pressure but for a medium range weapon it is good Creator: Darth Gecko Man Gun: Blazer v1 Sniper Rifle

Posted by ajleece 9 years ago


LOSA Pistol Review

So someone asked me to make a review about Lowney's "LOSA" pistol and here it is. -Comfort 7/10 sometimes the ram nips your hand -Range 8/10(I only got 48ft angled with 2 64's) -Power 6/10, I shot my hand and it really didn't hurt at all -Accuracy 8/10 the gun is pretty accurate -Reliability 4/10 as long as you use a good strong band on the trigger, your good -Body Weight/Balance It's kinda heavy for a pistol -Magazine 4/10 I shot the gun and the mag wall closest to the trigger broke a few times So overall I'd give it a 6/10 and would not recommend it to anyone.

Posted by bigdylan91 8 years ago


Can comeone help me review my instructable for any grammatical errors

This is my first legit instructable and I'd like for it to be featured, however For it to be featured there can be no grammatical errors so I have read through it a couple times and checked but I would like a second opinion in case I did miss anything, the link is https://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-make-a-solar-minty-light-solar-powered-fla/ thanks to anyone who is willing to help.

Posted by guitarist24000 8 years ago


Knex MP5K review.

this is shadowninja31s MP5K review. comfort:6/10 - its quite uncomfortable at the back of the handle, but the grip is fine. power: 8/10 - for close range, its got alot of power. looks: 10/10 - probably one of the best replicas ive seen. innovation: 8/10 - nothing new, its got removable magazines and other features. accuracy: 9/10 - its very accurate at close range. piece usage: 8/10 - not to much pieces. strenght: 9/10 - very sturdy, the magazine is the only weak point if dropped or hit. reliability: 9/10 - nearly every time the bullet leaves the barrel, if you use a tight rubber band on the magazine pusher all the shots will leave the barrel. also, if the band is too tight on the trigger the rod may snap off every like 100 shots, just replace it. overall: 67/80 - if you want a great replica with power, make this! link: https://www.instructables.com/id/MP5K/

Posted by ~KGB~ 8 years ago


Eric Wilhelm wins TR35 Innovation Award

Sharing your projects and ideas on Instructables is now officially a Big Idea. Eric just won the TR35 award for top innovators under 35 from MIT's Technology Review magazine for his work with Instructables; check out the press release below, and read about the other winners.I'm pretty psyched to be part of this site, as we're clearly doing something exciting and important -- it's especially neat to be an early adopter with the power to change the way society works.-- ChristyProject-Sharing Website Creator Named Top Young InnovatorSan Francisco, CA - August 19, 2008 -- Eric Wilhelm has been recognized by Technology Review magazine as one of the world's top innovators under the age of 35 for creating Instructables.com, the Internet's #1 project-sharing website.Instructables.com began as a way for Eric to document his engineering work and grad-school kitesurfing projects, and has evolved into a world-wide hub for documenting and sharing creative projects. The site's simple, elegant step-by-step format provides an intuitive platform that allows anyone to publish their project, complete with pictures, text, and embedded video.In a world of mass-produced culture, hand-making and personalizing is experiencing a resurgence, and people everywhere are reviving classic skills and technologies. Instructables is the hub of this movement, providing a social and interactive environment to demonstrate amazing projects and ideas. The site dramatically lowers the barrier to sharing projects, enabling crafters, modders, engineers, artists, cooks, bicyclists, and techies to gather and share their work freely, and where cross-pollination is actively encouraged."Everyone wants to be a creator, not just a consumer," Eric explains. "We bring passionate people together to learn from each other. Instructables makes it cool to be smart." Instructables is also a valuable educational resource. Parents and teachers rely on Instructables as a source of project ideas, and students maintain their personal portfolios at the site. By coupling old-fashioned tinkering with thoughtful discussion and long-distance collaboration, Instructables has begun to revolutionize learning and innovation.Eric Wilhelm and the other TR35 winners for 2008 will be featured in the September issue of Technology Review magazine and honored at the EmTech08 Conference. "The TR35 honors young innovators for accomplishments that are poised to have a dramatic impact on the world as we know it," said Jason Pontin, editor in chief and publisher of Technology Review magazine, "We celebrate their success and look forward to their continued advancement of technology in their respective fields."About Eric Wilhelm:Eric earned his SB, SM, and Ph.D. degrees in mechanical engineering from MIT, where he developed methods to print electronics and micro-electromechanical systems using nanoparticles. He co-founded Squid Labs, an innovation and design partnership, and a number of Squid Labs spin-off companies including Potenco, producing a human-powered generator for cell phones and laptops; Makani, an energy company seeking to harness high-altitude wind; OptiOpia, developing low-cost portable vision-testing and lens-fabricating devices; and Instructables, a collaborative how-to site that helps people document and share a process or skill. See Eric's How To Start A Business Instructable for the more detailed story.About Instructables.com:Instructables is the most popular Do It Yourself community on the Internet. Started in August 2005, Instructables provides accessible tools and publishing instructions to enable passionate, creative people to share their most innovative projects, recipes, ideas, and hacks. The site is currently home to over 14,000 projects covering such diverse areas as crafts, art, kids, electronics, pets, bikes, cars, robotics, green projects, and cooking.About Technology Review, Inc.:Technology Review, Inc., an independent media company owned by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, is the authority on the future of technology, identifying emerging technologies and analyzing their impact for leaders. Technology Review's media properties include Technology Review magazine, the oldest technology magazine in the world (founded in 1899); the daily news website TechnologyReview.com; and events such as the annual EmTech Conference at MIT. ContactsFor Instructables:Christy Canida, 510-931-5622press (at) instructables (dot) comFor Technology Review:Sarah Mees, 978-208-1499press (at) technologyreview (dot) com More news and press about Instructables here.

Posted by canida 9 years ago


Freekiller Crossbow Review

Well, i wanted to do a review, so i did this! Let's go right into the review!!! Piece use- This thing uses so many pieces! And it's really small too! But the high piece count does make it a lot stronger. I give it a 6/10 in this category Strength- This gun is really strong! You can drop it, and it most likely won't break; But there are a few weak points. I give it a 9/10 in this category ROF- this thing has a good rate of fire if you have small bands, but if you are going for power with big bands, you have to load just one bullet in at a time. I give it a 7/10 in this category Power- well, it's a slingshot, that shoots gray connectors, so it's gotta be powerful! I give it a 9/10 in this category Accuracy- This thing is not the most accurate gun ever, but if you are using rapid fire, it doesn't matter about accuracy! I give it an 8/10 in this category  Mag- the mag (which i have never seen before) holds those grey connectors perfectly, but it is a weak point in the gun. I give it an 8/10 Comfort- This handle is comfy! The pull-back thing is also really comfy! I give it a 10/10! Size- This thing is small! You can fit this powerful little gun in any back pack, perfect for hiding it! I give it a 9/10 in this category Pull-backer- What else do i call it? Well, it is really comfy, and it makes pulling back bands super duper easy! I have three strings of two #64's on it and it's just simple to pull back! I give it a 10/10! Looks- This thing looks deadly! The super filled in bow, the awesome looking handles, everything! I give it a 9/10 (it's missing a little something...) Elastics- This thing holds as many elastics as any old ratchet, making it powerful! I give it a 9/10! Bow- the bow is really strong, and it looks super deadly, but for bigger elastics, the small wheel just isn't very good... I give it an 8/10 Sound- this thing sounds sweet when shooting, but if you are trying to be quiet, this isn't the gun, unless you use one of those things that i have on the ratchet of my ASCB, sooo. I give it a 7/10 Big review, eh? well this gun gets.... An 8.5!!!! Great gun from Knexfreek and Killer~Safecracker! Go subscribe to them!!! Images coming soon!

Posted by Seleziona 8 years ago


Album Review: Timbuk 3 - Greetings From Timbuk 3 (1986) *****

Timbuk 3 - Greetings From Timbuk 3 (1986)NachoMahma's Rating: *****Pat MacDonald - acoustic, electric, bass and MIDI guitars, harmonica, vocals, drum programmingBarbara K. MacDonald - electric guitar, mandolin, violin, rhythm programming, vocals10 Tracks, total time 37:0301 - The Future So Bright I Gotta Wear Shades (3:24)02 - Life Is Hard (4:12)03 - Hairstyles And Attitudes (2:53)04 - Facts About Cats (3:22)05 - I Need You (3:59)06 - Just Another Movie (4:15)07 - Friction (3:46)08 - Cheap Black & White (2:55)09 - Shame On You (5:09)10 - I Love You In The Strangest Way (3:03)Timbuk 3's debut album is quirky, to say the least, but I love it. I think it's the harmonica that does it for me, but the lyrics are exceptional, also.Many of you may remember the opening cut from all the radio play it got (their only song to make the charts), but that's not the only gem here. I give all ten tracks five stars, even "Facts About Cats."

Posted by NachoMahma 10 years ago


Album Review: ZZ Top - Tres Hombres (1973) *****

ZZ Top - Tres Hombres (1973)NachoMahma's Rating: *****Frank Beard - drumsBilly Gibbons - guitar and vocalsDusty Hill - bass and vocals10 Tracks, total time 33:3301 - Waitin' For The Bus (2:53)02 - Jesus Just Left Chicago (3:32)03 - Beer Drinkers And Hell Raisers (3:27)04 - Master Of Sparks (3:31)05 - Hot, Blue, And Righteous (3:18)06 - Move Me On Down The Line (2:31)07 - Precious And Grace (3:10)08 - La Grange (3:54)09 - Sheik (4:05)10 - Have You Heard? (3:13)Third album by the Texas trio. After 1972's rather fractured "Rio Grande Mud" the Little Ol' Band From Texas is finally getting their unique, bluesy sound down. All ten songs are solid ZZ Top and rate four or five stars (out of 5) - definitely a recommended buy. This album is before they discovered the horn section - just three gringos cranking out the tunes. From the slow "Hot, Blue and Righteous" to the Top 40 "La Grange" to the hard-driving "Beer Drinkers And Hell Raisers," there's something here for just about every rock and roll fan - especially those with a taste for white-boy blues.

Posted by NachoMahma 10 years ago


Album Review: Harry Nilsson - Nilsson Schmilsson (1971) ****

Harry Nilsson - Nilsson SchmilssonRelease Date: 1971Nacho's Rating: 4 (out of 5)Tracks:01 - Gotta Get Up YouTube02 - Driving Along YouTube03 - Early In The Morning YouTube04 - The Moonbeam Song05 - Down06 - Without You YouTube (hit single in 1972)07 - Coconut YouTube08 - Let The Good Times Roll09 - Jump Into the Fire YouTube10 - I'll Never Leave YouThe 2002 remastered version also has demo versions of all but "Early In The Morning". This is the album that first turned me on to music. I had been interested in music before I heard this, but Nilsson's wide range of styles and his goosebump-inducing vocals showed me that there was more to music than Top40 hits and screaming guitars.. For me, the album as a whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Some of the songs don't stand alone very well, but sound pretty good when played together. I could do without "The Moonbeam Song" and "I'll Never Leave You" (having to follow "Jump Into The Fire" is a big disadvantage) but even they sound OK in context.. The album leads off with the rather goofy "Gotta Get Up" and follows with "Driving Along" - neither a great song, but definitely fun to listen to.. "Early In The Morning" gives a peek at what he can do with his voice and it's a good song, too.. "The Moonbeam Song" shifts into slow ballad mode. Nothing special, but Nilsson does a pretty good job.. "Down" is a nice bluesy song that starts to really show off his voice.. "Without You" is one of my all-time favorite songs. Nilsson takes a rather smarmy song and infuses if with FEELING. I still get goose-bumps when I hear the refrain.. "Coconut" is about as silly as a song can get, but Nilsson somehow makes it work. Another favorite for me. Wooo-oo-oo.. "Let The Good Times Roll" is another bluesy song with great vocals. Fits well between Coconut and JITF.. "Jump Into The Fire" is another favorite of mine. Not many singers can scream and make it sound good. And it has a bass line and a drum solo that will put a grin on Punkguyta's face as he blows out his speakers/amp.. "I'll Never Leave You" is a slow plaintive wail that is a bit of a let down after JITF. Great vocals, but I've never liked the song.. Not an album for every one. Check out the YouTube clips and see what you think.Links:Harry Nilsson at Wikipedia

Posted by NachoMahma 9 years ago


Chevrolet Astro / Safari owners opinions sought plz.

Hi guys, Im thinking of getting an Astro or Safari and just wanted to know what other owners out there in Instructables Land thought of them. We get a few imports over here in the UK either directly from the Sates or via Japan, they typically have low mileage, if it is to be believed! Just wanted to know if there was a particular year to avoid? Im tempted to go for an AWD for towing and getting out of winter difficulties. Is  the AWD reliable? Ok so they are thirsty, but I can cut costs (and mpg) by converting to LPG. Are they easy to work on? There'a lot of light bulbs to change in the interior! Not much room under the 'dog house' by the look of it.... Any help extremely appreciated :) Cheers! Bosh

Posted by bosherston 5 years ago


Why not to buy your laser cutter online - a customer review

No real category for this and never done a review, so must be right anyway ;) Have no longer free access to a laser cutter so I decided to bite the bullet and go on a budget - what a mistake... I will not bother you with seller details or something like that as I doubt it would make difference. So let's start with the first day of having the new machine... First big hit in the guts was to see how it was delivered: If you order something make sure not to use Toll Ipec for the delivery LOL Nothing in the van was secured, all prcels just flying around everywhere. But worst bit at this stage was to notice only one half of the delivery is there, the missing rest was picked up but never made it out of the first depot. As nothing was secured and there were already obvious signs of damage to the packing I wanted to refuse the delivery so it goes back to the seller to check. Was told if I refuse it all that happens is that it goes back to the depot for me to pick up as another delivery would cost money. Anyway, took the stuff in to at least check how much survived the transport. Also contacted the seller in regards to transport damage and the missing items. The odd thing was that the entire box was wrapped in sticky tape but the consignment not placed on the bottom, so I opened it up upside down :( The seller replied he did not use the brown tape just clear packing tape.... Further checks of the box showed there was another (original) consignment on the right side of the box, now hidden under brown tape... Seems Toll Ipec decided on repacking as well... So much for the transport side of things for now, now to the insides.... Inside the box I noticed the plastic wrap around the machine was alread cut open around the top lid - of course with damage to the paint work by using a sharp knife. As expected an exhaust fan and water pump was include, also a hose for the fan. But there is nothing to fit the perfect square of the fan onto the rectangle outlet on the machine! And although ordered in Australia from an Australian seller, the seller did not bother to make sure the stuff can be used as I only have US plugs on everything. The thing that really §$#*% me about this is the fact that the original plugs have been cut off and replaced with Hong Kong ones! According to AU consumer laws and electrical safety regulations it is illegal to sell new devices with such plugs - only genuine cable are allowed nothing that has been cut and screwed on. So no testing possible at this stage here.... The manual, if you can call it that, is completely in chinese, not a single word in english found anywhere. So what do you do? You revert to the supplied CD only to find out everything on there is chinese as well... Don't get me wrong, I am quite confident to get it going and calibrated without but after installing the included software I gave up as it is chinese only as well. Means nothing of use here too... Waiting for the seller to reply but conviently I got an automated response back stating the seller is on holidays till the end of February... So much for ordering local while on a budget.... Of course I could have got the same machine from another shop for 250$ more but who would have though I need to move to china and learn chinese to use this toy? Will keep this updated over the next few days to keep you posted. If all goes well one day and I get the right plugs, manual and software I might actually make a short ible on the setup and calibration for future reference. Ok, seems all the replies I made earlier got lost in the system so I have to start over.... Update: After inspecting everything closer to kill the time until the missing items arrive I found more issues than I like. One of the mirrors is scratched right in the center, the other has a very dull looking surface. The x-axis is at an angle and can't be aligned over the stepper motor as the ends of the carrier are not machined straight. Means you never get proper cuts or engravings. I found metal shavings in basically every area of the machine, including the clear cover for the laser tube - not what I call electrically safe. The exhaust mount is bend and the entire thing won't really fit in the frame of the machine. The lid does open and close, even stays open but get's stuck in the frame when lowering it. I assume by the dints that this due to the transport. Almost all parts seem to be mounted by force, if it is no good fit we just bend it and force it in must have been the advise used to make it. Image uploads here still won't work in any userfriendly way, so forgive me for the bad layout. As for the actual issues with the seller and shipping company so far: Toll Ipec claims that all loads are secured during transport at all times despite my evidence but said they will check on the driver to make sure. Sadly I was also told that I am unable to make a claim for the transport damages, only the account holder, the seller can do it. Here starts the real dilemma. Although the seller is based in AU I now found through the Ebay support that he actually operates directly from China and only has someone at a local warehouse dealing with the stuff for AU. The seller has no replacement machine and no spares at all. The seller does not acknowledge the claim for the damages and states the machine was in perfect order when he sent it. Did I mention it does not help that the seller obviously uses a translator for his english replies?... Next problem is that he, so far, refuses to make a claim with Toll Ipec for the damages - he really does not understand that I can not do a thing in this case and that only he can. Ebay is keeping it quite as well, stating I should first try to sort the matter with the seller and if that is of no good I can start a claim next week. Plans so far on how to proceed: The shipping back to the seller is over 50$ (thank god it is not china!) and I would have to use additional packing to make sure it goes back in one piece with no further damages. So I thought, assuming the rest of the machine is fine, to fix it and to recover the cost through Toll Ipec - after all they are the ones that did the real damages during transport. For the mirrors I will substitude the disc from and old harddrive although not looking forware to cut it into a small round thing. The a-axis will be shimmed so I can at least do some initial test of everything, after that I will have to find a way to correct this issues more permantly. An Arduino and Ramps board is already waiting to make it into the machine to try some open source stuff instead of the dreaded Moshi software. Also trying to get my hands onto an old plotter to substitute the electronics and maybe parts of the hardware. This would allow much easier work as everything can be done through HPGL and and normal graphics program. Simply design it, set the laser power and hit the print button in the software. But turns out these old plotters are become rare collectors items now :( For the final stage I plan to have it all electrically save with a proper controller board and Wifi support. Not sure how long it will take but I will get there LOL Will reply with an update once I go some news.

Posted by Downunder35m 2 years ago


Minty Geek 101 kit gets a cool review

Hi I am really thrilled and excited by the brillant review of our signature 101 kit by Gizmag. Check this out: http://www.gizmag.com/minty-geek-electronics-lab-101-hands-on-review/18788/ Thanks to all those folks who have bought kits and supported us generally. Mark

Posted by mbrickley 7 years ago


BAW by the dunkis posted by another guy review

Reliability 5 out of 10 sometimes i need to push the pusher up power: 5 out of 10 (i only had 2 64's on it) comfort: 8 out of 10 handle and stock are both great mag: 3 out of 10 sometimes need to push the pusher up looks: 9 out of 10 looks cool i modded the gun a bit but overall it is about a 7 out of 10

Posted by cj81499 8 years ago


Ultra Pistol 2 Review

 Okay, if you guys haven't built the ultra pistol 2 before, then get building! Or, if you built the original and liked it, then you'll love this! This is my first review so, yeah, i've seen many done, so I'll be fine. We'll start with reliability: This gun is very reliable, it's easy to fix when broken, it doesn't mess up when firing, and it's pretty much impossible for the new trigger to mess up. I give it a   10/10 Strength: This one is much stronger than the ultra pistol 1. It's smaller, making it stronger, and the new barrel is shorter, so it's stronger too, the only thing wrong is the handle and trigger connection, making the handle wobble a tiny bit. I give it a     9/10 Range: This gun is very powerful, due to single shot, so it can get a good 45 feet, or 55 if you use more bands. I give it a 9/10 Rate of Fire: It's a single shot, so you don't get a good ROF. I give it a   6/10 Comfortability: The only thing that you are holding is a handle, the handle is right handed, and i imagine it is comfortable like that. (i hold guns in my left hand. I give it a   8/10 Accuracy: This gun is damn accurate, even more accurate when you have finned rods, but not everyone has time or wants to make those. I give it a   9/10 Looks: This gun looks a lot like a magnum, which is a really cool gun, but there is something missing on it.... I give it a   9/10 Trigger: Trigger is a teensy bit forward, but it doesn't mess up or anything evil. I give it a   9/10 Last but not least- ammo: This gun takes a lot of different kinds of ammo, and you can test out which ones you like and whatever. I give it a   9/10 Overall: 8.7- a very good gun by Oblivitus

Posted by Seleziona 8 years ago


South By Southwest (SXSW) 2009 Interactive Review - It's a Party Masquerading as a Conference

It's no secret that SXSW is more about the parties than the conference, but when you have so many smart people who run interesting businesses together, it's a pretty significant lost opportunity that the conference isn't better. Christy and I attended the 2008 SXSW Interactive conference, and decided it wasn't worth coming back. However, Instructables was a finalist in the Web Awards "Classic" category at the 2009 SXSW Interactive conference, which netted us two free passes. So, we attended again this year. This is my review of the interactive portion of the conference.High level - I'm glad we didn't pay. If you go, admit that you're going for entertainment, not to learn something about the interactive industry. The keynotes were excellent -- even if I didn't come away from them with anything actionable to do --, while the rest of the panels and talks were terrible. Having the resources to get to Austin doesn't mean that most conference attendees will have done their homework -- otherwise interesting panels with smart people were nearly always hijacked by stupid questions, and unfortunately it was rare that a moderator would shut down the stupid questions and get back to anything engaging. For example, at How Safe is Your Domain Name? someone actually asked "What does ICANN stand for?" If you're the type of person who reads reviews, and tries to determine if a conference has value for your business, SXSW does not. It's a party masquerading as a conference. If you go, think of it as a vacation, enjoy the evening events and keynotes, and when you learn one or two interesting things by accident, you won't be disappointed. Longer Review:Plan B: Can an Ad Guy Bring Bike Sharing to America?The story of how an advertising agency exec. was able to start up a bicycle sharing venture. Worth checking out just to understand how Crispin Porter+Bogusky works, and to see how they keep their thinking fresh about advertising.Spying 2.0: Can America Compete With Web-Savvy Enemies?Quickly devolved into an I-use-Twitter-so-should-you panel. Yawn. Is Privacy Dead or Just Very Confused?Academics talking about websites they use, and privacy issues they think might apply. A discussion of "experiences"; nobody on the panel is actually doing anything real, nor do they have any insight into major players' privacy policies or how those policies affect users. How did they get a panel?Change v2Lawrence Lessig's non-keynote-scheduled keynote on how money reduces our faith in politics. Excellent. Find a video of this and watch it.Opening Remarks: Tony HsiehTony Hsieh has given this identical talk at other conferences, but the message is so good, it's worth seeing twice. Slides available here.Feed Me: Bite Size Info for a Hungry InternetThis had an interesting set of people on the panel, but it nonetheless turned into a why-Facebook's-new-homepage-sucks-because-it-copied-friendfeed fest. Then, the panelists started openly wondering why they hadn't invited anyone from Twitter to be on the panel.Collaborative Filters: The Evolution of Recommendation EnginesThis was one of the biggest disappointments. Anton Kast of Digg is clearly top notch, and has spent deep hours thinking about recommendations and the math behind them; and, the people making up the rest of the panel were no slouches either. Unfortunately, they spent more than half of the time describing in layman's terms how each of their websites work, and we never got to anything juicy. "On Digg, users rate up a story they find interesting by clicking the Digg button..."! Edupunk: Open Source EducationThe description of this panel really got me pumping: DIY teachers around the world are using open source course management systems, open access textbooks, and other open source tools to buck the chains and limitations of corporate education software. What the panel really turned out to be was a bunch of ineffectual academics having a cat fight over who was more ineffectual. They all tried to outdo one another with stories of how management at their university prevented them from having any impact, and the winner seemed to be the panelist who accomplished the least. Seriously.This was only topped by the first question from the audience, which opened with: "I've learned a new word at this conference, and I'm going to use it here: monetize..." Seriously? I now have a new rule for conferences: Stay away from all education topics. The ratio of people with opinions to people who can/are having impact is way too high. How to Create a Great Company CultureThis is a tough topic, and one in which there's no right answer or overarching theory. The only way to get data is to listen to anecdotes, and this session gave me a few more. Although to be fair, I probably could have spent the same hour reading blogs written by company founders and gotten more out of it. Sunday Keynote: Stephen Baker / Nate Silver InterviewInterviews with really passionate people are always a treat. Nate Silver fits the bill.From Flickr and Beyond: Lessons in Community ManagementI was baffled why Metafilter was invited to be on this panel. In a discussion of privacy policies, the director of operations from Metafilter said "We don't have one. We're not there yet." Despite obviously having the most to contribute, the representative from Youtube didn't share anything; his lawyer must have told him to keep his mouth shut. Overall this was let down.New Think for Old PublishersThis panel was deceptively described, and the audience was annoyed to find a group of publishers simply looking to scribble down suggestions rather than having a conversation about the industry. Fortunately, Clay Shirky was animated enough to heat things back up.Presenting Straight to the BrainRunning a panel on better ways to use slides and graphics where each panelist presents slides might seem a bit hubristic, not they pulled it off. Take home: Use your slides to tell a story.How to Protect Your Brand Without Being a Jerk!This powerhouse panel was interrupted a mere 15 minutes in by a self-described-artist-from-Europe who raised (and shook) his hand for 5 minutes until the moderator eventually gave in. His question: "Do I need to copyright my songs? No really, do I need to copyright each one?" This softball opened a pandora's box of stupid questions from audience members clearly unable to format their questions into that tricky search engine text box. Monday Keynote: Virginia Heffernan / James Powderly InterviewJames Powderly is a friend and deeply fascinating individual. I wish this interview had been longer so they could have gotten deeper into his motivations and experiences. Advertising is Entertaining - Who's Selling Out?I came out of this session thinking it was pretty good. However, on further reflection, since it was more conversation than lecture, and lots of people had the opportunity to speak their mind, I was just happy no one said anything particularly stupid. This should give you a sense of my expectations at this stage at SXSW.New Threats to New Media: Fair Use On TrialThis was an excellent panel, particularly because Jason Schultz ran a very tight ship, kept things moving, and prevented questions from derailing the session. In my opinion, all three videos shown were clear examples of fair use, and I would have appreciated one that was a little closer to the line, but the session overall was still both enjoyable and useful. Building Strong Online CommunitiesWhile too general to have any actionable items, this was still pretty good. It's also fun to hear Drew Curtis's irreverent opinion on community. Tuesday Keynote: Chris Anderson / Guy Kawasaki ConversationThis made me really look forward to Chris Anderson's coming book Free. Guy Kawasaki did a fantastic job moderating, especially with respect to mocking people who ask questions just to insert a pitch for themselves, and limiting meaningless follow-up "questions."Nom Nom Nom: The Secrets of Successful FoodbloggingGet a DSLR, all other rules of successful blogging apply.The parties and evening events were good. I enjoyed Dorkbot Austin and Plutopia, and still think often of the food at The Salt Lick. The Web Awards were surprisingly fun. We were up against some much bigger names, and Flickr won (which in my opinion, was the expected value; I use Flickr at least weekly, if not more). Baratunde Thurston emceed, and he kept it spirited and fast-paced. His interludes were funny, and when no one from Flickr showed up to claim their award, he claimed it for them. "I remember really wanting to share some photos online..." I've been to other conferences where the parties are fun, the talks are engaging, and you come away with a laundry list of actionable items that will make measurable improvements in your business (or life). The SXSW interactive conference has all the ingredients to make that happen, which is why it's so disappointing when it doesn't come together.

Posted by ewilhelm 9 years ago


Italiens Wahl lässt Land-- und Eurozone--auf finanzielle Hochseil

Http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/6ab63716-80d2-11e2-9c5b-00144feabdc0.html#axzz2M8lS3l8w Brillante Köpfe über die Finanzwelt noch versuchen, die Auswirkungen der italienischen Wahlergebnis auszuarbeiten. Vorerst, die beste Antwort ist, dass es wahrscheinlich auch bald zu erzählen. Nachdem am Dienstag fällt hat ein wenig Stabilität zu Märkten, möglicherweise zurückgegeben, da jeder immer noch versucht, zu erarbeiten, was Sie denken.Kredit-Rating-Agentur Moodys hat davor gewarnt, dass das Wahlergebnis für Italien--negativ und auch für andere Staaten verschuldete Eurozone negativ ist. Man fürchtet politischer Unsicherheit wird weiter und warnt vor einer "Verschlechterung des Landes wirtschaftlichen Aussichten" oder Schwierigkeiten bei der Umsetzung der Reform, sagte der Agentur.Für den Rest der Eurozone riskiert das Ergebnis: "die Euro-Schuldenkrise entfachen." Madrid muss mit Angst nach Italien suchen. Wenn Investoren, dass Italien wieder riskante sucht und wieder weg vom Kauf seine Schulden entscheiden, wird dann Spanien in die Schusslinie zu gezogen. Kann der Anti-Berlusconi Italien retten? Standard & Poor ist erklärt, dass Italiens Bewertung wurde durch die Wahl nicht unmittelbar betroffen, aber ich denke, der wesentliche Teil dieses Satzes ist "nicht sofort." Zur gleichen Zeit Herman Van Rompuy Tweets geben einen Hinweis auf die Ansicht aus Brüssel: "Wir respektieren das Ergebnis demokratischer Wahlen in Italien," seine Feed festgestellt.Wirklich? Das ist ein Novum. Der demokratisch gewählte Silvio Berlusconi wurde heraus gezwungen, wenn er nicht mit strenge durch nach der Europäischen Zentralbank Italien trug durch den Kauf seine Schulden im Herbst 2011 folgen."Es ist jetzt bis zu italienischer Politiker, Verantwortung, Kompromiss und bilden eine stabile Regierung zu übernehmen", tweeted Van Rompuy.Wahl Blätter Italien blockiertHat er die Ergebnisse gesehen? Die Newcomer und Anti-Establishment Komiker Beppe Grillo weigert sich, ein Geschäft zu tun, und doch ist er der natürliche Königsmacher, polling bei 25 %.Italiens erste Parlament?"Auch für Italien gibt es eine echte Alternative zu anhaltenden fiskalischen Konsolidierung und Reformen," fuhr er fort.Wirtschaftlich ja, aber die italienischen Wähler nicht zustimmen. Und vorerst, in Italien eine Demokratie (von Sorten).Schließlich: "Ich bin zuversichtlich, dass Italien Mitglied der Eurozone stabil bleiben wird."Er hofft...Der Schlüssel zu, ob die Krise reignites ist, ob Investoren beginnen nach hinten Weg von Kredite an Italien. Wenn ja, wird das der große Test für die EZB Entschlossenheit zur Rettung des Euro.Lesen Sie mehr: Euro-Krise-Abdeckung Das wichtigste zu betrachten ist italienische Anleihen, da ob Kosten steigen von 4,8 % für 10 Jahre Geld derzeit auf näher 6 % Kredite, dann Italien startet es zu teuer leihen zu finden.Die Billionen-Euro-Frage ist, wenn die EZB Schritt wird in zu helfen, auch wenn es nicht erhalten können, die Reformen und Sparmaßnahmen, die es (aufgrund der politischen Situation) verlangt. Das ist der Haken an der Sache. Und es werden viele in der Stadt, die heute diese Frage nachzudenken.Eindeutig auf den Finanzmärkten ist zu einer Zentralbank eine gefährliche Sache zu tun. Soros abgebrochen hat die Bank of England am schwarzen Mittwoch 1992, Milliarden von zwingen Sterling aus der EWU, aber das war vor langer Zeit.Italien vermeidet Panik bei einer Anleihe-AuktionWas wir aus dieser Krise gelernt haben ist nicht gegen "die Fed" (oder der EZB). Im vergangenen Sommer der EZB Chef Mario Draghi setzen eine Linie im Sand mit seiner "Waffenlieferung" (zur Rettung des Euro) Rede.Aber als Teil dieser Verpflichtung betont er immer wieder neue Hilfe der EZB kommt an Bedingungen geknüpft. Und diese Bedingungen sind was also nachteilig für die Italiener--Sparmaßnahmen und Reformen erwiesen haben.Wir haben also zwei unerbittliche Objekte zueinander Rast. Das politische Chaos in Italien und den Wählern Abneigung gegen Sparmaßnahmen und Reformen (etablierten Technokrat Mario Monti Befragten nur 10 %).Was passiert als nächstes? Der Status Quo können weiter, wenn italienische Kreditkosten nicht von hier aus steigen und Italien daher nicht EZB-Hilfe braucht.Wenn Märkte glauben an Draghi und Brüssel weiterhin, dass der Euro "unumkehrbar" ist, dann weiterhin Investoren nach Italien zu verleihen. Ja, Märkte werden nervös und ängstlich, aber Italien wird schließlich klären sich politisch. Der große Vorteil für Italien ist, obwohl es viele Schulden hat, ist es nicht schaffen, Schulden schnell (wie Griechenland, Spanien oder auch England). Und wie ich gestern auf meinem CooperCity-Blog, das positive Ergebnis von allen, was das sein könnte, dass Brüssel Rücken aus aus Sparsamkeit, was eine gute Sache wäre. Die Grundregel der Finanzierung ist jedoch, dass hohes Risiko mit hoher Rendite kommt. Soros hat ein großes Spiel gegen der britischen Zentralbank, aber es angeblich machte ihn ein Milliardär über Nacht. Es muß ein paar Hecke Geldgeber italienische Verhältnisse mit ähnlichen Gier in ihren Augen zu betrachten. Wenn er den Euro zu retten will, ist es Zeit für Mario Draghi, die Furcht vor Gott wieder in solche Herzen. Dies sehen: http://bradleyassociatesspaintyleruda.blogspot.com/2011/10/bradley-associates-madrid-frage-was-ist.html http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIIXuCo8kqk

Posted by carthrilsons 5 years ago


UMP-45 Video Review

Coming soon...

Posted by NYPA 7 years ago


Instructables Review

I was just wondering if you guys (by you guys I mean whoever feels like it) could review my instructable: www.instructables.com/id/Guides-to-Drawing-Wolves/  It's already published, But I would like to know if there is anything to add or edit to make it feature-worthy. Also, any advice you can give me to improve my future instructables would be appreciated. Thanks!!!

Posted by LoneWolf 8 years ago


Knex Striker pistol review.

Knex Striker Review! Thanks for the awesome gun I_Am_Canadian! Feelings. Handle:10/10!!! ...................... Strength: Trigger guard 10/10! Trigger 10/10! Whole gun 8/10 ...................... Power: 10/10! (my dad saw it shoot through a box  and freaked out...................... Range 8/10! That should be about it! Thanks for looking and drop a comment to tell me how I did!

Posted by Vynash 9 years ago


Knex M16 Vietnam Style review.

This is a review for silentassasin21's m16 review: looks:4,5 looks like a real thing. comfort:4 sometimes stick a blue rod in your hand. strenght:3,5 the barrel is a little weak,the rest is stong enough piece usage:4 not to much,but use a lot of green rods. innovation:2,5 the only innovation thing is the new mag. power:4 not bad for a replica. accuracy:4 good for a replica. reliabilty:4 if you have to much bands on it,then snaps the sight of and shoot into your face :P total:4 great gun by silentassasin21,build it and sub him!  

Posted by cool bas3 8 years ago


How is the epiphone "inspired by" 1964 texan acoustic/electric guitar?

 I was just wondering how it is, because I can't find any reviews online.

Asked by simplicity is key 8 years ago


If you've got 70 mins - Video Review of Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

It's got some strong language, but I find it very well done. !Strong language in places & he doesn't like it, at all. Erm, not really suitable for children, I'm thinking again about this, but maybe no one young will go past 5 min...? The new movies are about shoving as much crap into each shot as possible www.slashfilm.com/2009/12/17/watch-this-70-minute-video-review-of-star-wars-the-phantom-menace/

Posted by lemonie 8 years ago


Knex SR-Commando Review!

Here is a review on DJ-Radio's SR-Commando! Body strength: 7/10 It's okay. Front tip 9/10. Handle strength 9/10. Bi-pod strength: Sorry I don't know I didn't build it :( Trigger strength: 10/10 It's AMAZING! Stock strength 6/10 (Hold it just on the stock and it almost cracks off.) Sight: 6/10 Power: 7/10 It's pretty good! Range: 7/10 It's pretty good! Looks:10/10 In my opinion Please comment on how I did! (You just gotta love that pic!!!)

Posted by Vynash 9 years ago


Armex carbon arrows review and shooting!

I was wondering if I should buy these so I searched for a review and found none, so I bought them and made a review.. Enjoy :)

Posted by Assassin Tube 4 years ago


kNexFreek's desperodo review

 hi knexfreak 95 here doing a review on Desperado by knexfreek strength 10/10 barrel 9/10 handle 8/10 ram and pull thingy  10/10 power 10/10 mag 8/10 part usage friendly 8/10 (can chew up alot of y connectors   overall 63/70 a very very good gun its a must have for any knex war

Posted by knexfreak95 8 years ago


Z35 Assault Rifle Review

Ok so I built the Z35 assault rifle to day and I thought why not make a review for it. Link-https://www.instructables.com/id/Z35-Knex-Assault-Rifle/ -Comfort 6/10(the handle was really flimsy) -Range 9/10(I got around 65-70 ft flat with 2 strands of 32's tied together) -Power 8/10(when I shot my hand it really didn't hurt to much) -Accuracy 8/10(the gun is kinda accurate) -Reliability 9/10(the gun is really reliable) -Body Weight/Balance 8/10(the gun is kinda heavy it helps if you include the carrying strap) -Magazine 9/10(never jammed for me) So I would recommend this to anyone who wanted a blue rod mag fed gun or just an assault rifle.=)

Posted by bigdylan91 8 years ago


Do you have any experience with using cheap eBay combination squares? Are they that awful?

I've heard that cheap combination squares are pretty awful. I don't need a square that's 90.00 degrees. I don't need it to be that accurate. Does anyone have any experience with something like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/361441322550?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT ? Have you used these squares? Are they THAT bad? 

Asked by Yonatan24 2 years ago


Submit your instructables for a sustainability guide!

Hello community! I haven't posted any instructables in a long time because I've been in college, studying for a sustainable manufacturing degree. After being frustrated at my lack of tools and workspace, I realized that I could just use other people's work! Bear with me here. I'm not stealing your projects or ideas, far from it. I am looking for a few instructables that I can analyze and review based upon their sustainability. I will compare and contrast several projects, relate all this to sustainable manufacturing principles, suggest changes to design or process, and then finally write it all up and publish it as an Instructable for the community to enjoy and learn from.  All projects and photos will be fully credited to their original creator.  I don't have an exact time frame of how long this will take, but I estimate that with in depth research and ample procrastination I can get the guide done in two months at the absolute maximum.  I'm also not sure how many projects I will need for the guide, but I'd like to set it at no more than 5.  So, if you are interested in having your project analyzed and expanded upon for the benefit of the community, comment here. Here's a few guidelines for what I'm looking for.  PICTURES. If I don't know what the hell your project looks like I can't do anything with it. Also, you must be okay with me copy pasting them into the guide and editing/marking them.  WRITTEN DETAILS: Again, if I don't know what you did to produce the project, I can't really give any complete feedback on it. The more in depth and well written the better! I might very well quote you directly in the text. DURABLE GOODS: Because I'm a manufacturer, I deal with things that are built, in one way or another. I'm sure your recipe is delicious or your computer code can power a spaceship, but I can't really practically analyze it if it's been gobbled up or is buried in some program files. I don't speak code. AT LEAST 6 MONTHS OLD: one of the parts of sustainable practice is to make something that lasts. Therefore I would like to use projects that were made a while ago so that I can ask you how the object is holding up and if it needs to be repaired, how it has been used, any changes you would make, etc. IT DOESN'T HAVE TO BE GREEN AND HEALTHY: It wouldn't be much of a compare and contrast guide format if everything produced clean energy and rainbows. I need a spread from environmentally friendly projects to things that belch black smoke and get gallons to the mile.  YOU CAN TAKE CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM: I'm analyzing this from a professional standpoint, not a personal one. If your object has killed a couple of owls in the forest, that obviously isn't very sustainable, and I will mention it as a negative thing. If you can't take this kind of critique, then you won't like this guide very much.  YOU ARE WILLING TO COMMUNICATE: I'll be asking you some questions about your project, if you never answer your Instructables messages or reply in one word answers or 133t5p34k I can't get any useful info for you.  if I use your project you get a patch from me, and further exposure for your project on the site, as well as a lot of good information for a re-design or refinement of your original idea

Posted by ilpug 3 years ago


DADCANDO: Kaptin Scarlet's book is out!

I just had the chance to read the new Dadcando book from Kaptin Scarlet, aka father-of-four Chris Barnardo who runs dadcando.com.   The book is absolutely excellent, which will come as no surprise to anyone who has seen his carefully-crafted Instructables.  All of the projects are creative, inexpensive, well-documented, accessible, and most importantly, they look like fun.  The  I was quite taken by the Waves and Wheels section (that little submarine will be making an appearance in my daughter's bath soon!) and even the science and Advanced projects are quite doable for even a novice DIY dad. But Barnardo shines when he turns his glue gun and paints to the fantastic.  Written in the voice of his Kaptin Scarlet persona, the Great Adventures chapter describes how to make a wizard's wand, a feather quill and magical ink pot, and dragon-hunters goggles.  The projects simply ooze creativity, and look good enough to support hours of imaginary play. The book is peppered with wise advice for the single or divorced, non-custodial parent who wants to stay engaged in his children's lives without succumbing to the usual pitfalls of consumerist overindulgence or disconnection.  The tips are universally applicable without seeming preachy, and provide lots of encouragement to get away from the computer and do something with your kids.  In short, Dadcando is brilliant.  It's the perfect Father's Day gift, or general-purpose inspirational gift for anyone you know with kids.  I really can't recommend this book highly enough, and will be sending copies to friends and family as soon as it's available in the states! Dadcando at amazon.co.uk (available now) Dadcando at amazon.com (available July 5)

Posted by canida 8 years ago



Looking for a wii this christmas need reviews

Hello everybody  my family and I are researching the possibility of getting a Wii for Christmas and we just want your reviews and ideas my mother wants the on the Wii fitness package with  weightlifting  a main priority on the wii so if anybody has any ideas/reviews please let me know you can. P.m. me if that suits you Thank you. Bye

Posted by fidgety2 6 years ago


DD-27 Compact AST rifle review

Hey guys! Today I'm going to review a gun called the DD-27 compact AST rifle by dsman195276.Before I start, sorry if I hurt anyone's feeling's or say the opposite of your opinion. I'm going to review in sections. So be aware of what part I'm reviewing.Handle/gripping--------4.0The handle by perfect duck is amazing and it fits well with the rest of the gun.Though the front grip could be improved.Range---------------------5.0***Magnificent range. And the gun is a firing pin type gun!Accuracy------------------4.6Very accurate, but at around 20 feet it isn't that accurate.Power---------------------5.0***One of the main things that makes knex guns actually shine is the power. On this gun, Dsman is not lying when he says strongest to date firing pin type gun! Great power. It even made me bleed!Body/weight balance--3.9Body is fine, but the heavy front end of the barrel is annoying.Reliabilty-----------------3.0The trigger is too fragile. If you pull it too hard, it snaps.OVERALL----------------------4.8!!!!!!!!!!Overall this gun is pretty good. You have the range, power, true trigger, and accuracy all put together to make a beautifully crafted gun. Great job Dsman195276!Review by Ratchet and Clank. Gun by Dsman195276Hope you enjoyed this review! I think this will help some people tom decide weather or not to build this gun. R&C

Posted by Ratchet and Clank 10 years ago


YouTube Channel: techBowker

Hey everybody, (quick note: not sure where I should post this so ill put it here) I just started a YouTube channel called techBowker. I have lots of tech-related videos like reviews, unboxings, how-to's, and more. I wanted to let all of you guys know about and and encourage you to come subscribe! Thanks, Adam

Posted by Adambowker98 5 years ago


S0lekill3r's Oodammo Shotbow Review

Here is my review for the Oodammo Shotbow by s0lekill3r: Power: 7/10, it could be more but the bands have to push two rams, not one. Range: 7/10, as above really. Looks: 9/10, it may not have been made for looks (I don't know)but it certainly looks great, especially in metallic pieces, like almost everything. Accuracy: 9/10, I doubt it could go higher seeing as it uses the special 'oodammo' but I've decided to leave room for improvement as a new kind of technique may be developed. Using just two green rods and a complete hinge you can make an accurate sight. Comfort: 5/10, the handle is a bit of a fail as it requires a broken piece in order to be more comfortable (blue connector). The firing pin 'tray' also goes into your thumb. Ease of use: 7/10, the ram is very easy to use and pull back but the loading technique is a bit confusing as you have to:- remove the ammo pushers, insert oodammo and get it in the grooves then place back the ammo pushers. All in all, I would rate it 8/10 but a definite build (once s0lekill3r has posted instructions), it's very fun to play with and can fire fast if you use it correctly. Good work s0lekill3r.

Posted by TwistedParadox 9 years ago


Jollex' DASH knex slingshot review

Jollex made a new free-flying slingshot, which was capable of shooting oodammo, and cannon ammo (yellow rod with a red con on the business end), and the trigger held the bullet, not the bands. I hadn't made many of them before so I decided to give it a 'shot'(:D). Body strenght:10/10, it has a very good crossing pattern through the whole body, that makes it extremely strong.  comfort: 7/10, the stock could have been much better, although it doesn't take away from the overall comfort, it could have been a lot comfier. The handle gets 5 of those points though, because he did a good job going out of his way to make it even comfier. Trigger  Locking mech strength: 10/10, could hold 15 64#s and then some, and you only need 3. Overall mech: 10/10, purely the fact that it was a sliding trigger could have got that, but, its a sear, and I don't really count sears as sliding triggers, but this goes even further and puts a semi ratchet at the back of the sear, which was bloody brilliant, so it deserves it. Power Bullet force:10/10, oodammo can punch through the cardboard like a blue rod punches through paper, and cannon ammo is even more powerful than oodammo.  Range:12/10, well if 90 feet got 9/10, then you can see how powerful this is (slanted of course). Bow  Strength: 9/10, it bends (using black rods) a bit with 3 #64s, but the way the bands are put on is really good, so you don't need to unhook anything, and there is not many places to get the bands tangled up in. Reloading ease: 10/10, its really easy to get the bands to cock back, and its not hard on your fingers at all. Tactics F4A attack: 1/5, running in with this singleshot is the worst thing you can do period.   F4A defence: 3/5, you better have a good sidearm, because if you miss... and you need a good base aswell. Team attack: 3/5 as long as you have someone further up then you who you can support, but don't be the one to run in headfirst. Its silent aswell, and I know a lot of people like to think they are stealthy, but truth is most of you ain't. So you have to be good.   Team defense: 5/5, finally the area it shines on. Huge range, silent, hole up in a tree somewhere with a few splodies, the Dash, and some cookies. Perfect for picking off enemy scouts and anyone who tries to get further. -------OVERALL: 90000000000/10000000000. Or, 9/10, or 9 tenths, or 4.5/5, or 90% positive. Instructable can be found here.

Posted by ~Aeronous~ 7 years ago


I will review any gun.

Just so people know i am happy to review any gun as long as it follows these: (1) it must be an instructable (so other people can build it) (2) it has to be a decent gun (not like a 10 piece gun) if you want me to review any guns just tell me here and i will work on it.

Posted by ~KGB~ 8 years ago


If I can afford an Invader V3, should I get it? Answered

I have enough money to buy a V3, and I want to know if I should get it or a different pad. Opinions and reviews appreciated.

Asked by peach_fart 8 years ago