136Views12Replies

Author Options:

How do I share a Preview of a Draft? Answered

I would like to share a preview of a Draft that I am working on, but can't find a way to do that anymore.

Discussions

0
None
Downunder35m

25 days ago

Back in the day the sharing of a draft by URL worked fine.
Then only the author could use the link unless he also shared the cookies.
And I stopped checking when I noticed nothing works anymore.
What Wurx suggested might work but not 1ßß% about the cookie problem as a draft is by default in Edit mode.

0
None
wurx

26 days ago

Publish your draft first, then copy the url of the published draft. Now go back and set it as draft again. (It's only live for a few seconds) Now the URL should work even though it's a draft. Worked for me.

0
None
Josehf Murchison

1 year ago

Make the Instructable and save it in drafts.

Go to drafts and click on the Instructable you want to share.

Select the address in the address bar in the top of your browser.

Press Ctrl and C on your keyboard.

In a message or something press Ctrl and V to paste the address in the message.

https://www.instructables.com/preview/EKPKIVOJ9OWC...

Then press Enter and it will be a link to the draft.

0
None
wurxDownunder35m

Reply 26 days ago

That was the first thing I tried. Sadly, it doesn't work.

0
None
tomatoskins

1 year ago

The only way that a non member can see a hidden instructable is to publish it as private while you are working on it. I see that you are a premium member so you should be able to do that. You can then share your private URL with them but it will not show up on your profile.

0
None
Josehf Murchison

1 year ago

I almost forgot you must be logged in to view a preview.

0
None

I already tried that, it doesn't work unless you're the author. Plus I want to share it with someone that doesn't have an Ible account.

0
None
Downunder35mKurtRoesener

Reply 1 year ago

Only way I know goes somehow like this:
Open the full preview of your draft and zoom the page so it fits into the width of your screen.
Export or save the preview page as HTML and share it like that by Email or so.

0
None
KurtRoesener

1 year ago

I remember there used to be a way to right-click on someplace and it would show the word "Preview" and that would be a link anyone could get to.