75Views8Replies

Author Options:

Old version remnants are saved as "unpublished" Answered

After publishing my latest I'ble, twelve saved versions of it are still stored as "unpublished" in my account (see attached screenshot)

Can I throw away these unwanted, unpublished i'bles, without deleting the published mother-i'ble?

Y.

Discussions

0
None
kelseymh

7 years ago

Matt, I've just successfully reproduced this user's situation. In preparing for another bug report, I created a slideshow, along with a video and a regular I'ble.

When I went to my profile list (see image), there were four copies of the slideshow, in various states of disarray! These seem to correspond to each time I hit save. Each one of the four has a different URL! From top to bottom, they are


  • https://www.instructables.com/id/EC7870XGK3TOF3H/
  • https://www.instructables.com/id/ER16P60GK3TOF3D/
  • https://www.instructables.com/id/EGMCF4VGK3TOF39/
  • https://www.instructables.com/id/EXYTEMHGK3TOF35/

I had done multiple saves on the real I'ble and the video as well, but they don't show the same duplication, only the slideshow.

Unpublished_dupes.png
0
None
StumpChunkman

7 years ago

They don't look connected to the published instructable at all. I say delete them and hope for the best. If for some reason, deleting them screws everything up, pm me and see if one of the dev team can resurrect your live instructable. But seriously, nothing should happen, they're all different (non-linked) instructables.

0
None
StumpChunkmanynze

Reply 7 years ago

No worries, I'm glad it worked without issue. And yes...that is a weird bug. The next time you're making an instructable, see if there's a specific thing you may be doing that's causing it. It's hard for me to find a fix, when I can't make the problem happen on my end.

0
None
ynzeStumpChunkman

Reply 7 years ago

Done and all is fine. But still, it's a weird bug...

0
None
kelseymh

7 years ago

Did you start over each time you wanted to make changes? Normally, you would follow the "(edit)" link (see your screen shot) to modify an unpublished I'ble.

Each of those entries should be a completely independent Instructable (even though they "look" the same), and you should be able to delete them without affect what you have published.

0
None
ynzekelseymh

Reply 7 years ago

I used the "edit" link, like I always do. That's why I'm a bit reluctant in throwing these versions away.

0
None
kelseymhynze

Reply 7 years ago

I agree, that's weird. If you don't get a response from Staff today or tomorrow (the workday has only just begun in San Francisco), try sending a PM to Matt or Ed.