172Views8Replies

Author Options:

embedded video don't show up in the preview Answered

I embedded a youtube video in my instructable, but it won't show up in preview or when I click preview instructable.


Discussions

0
None
noahw

8 years ago

Are you still having this problem?  Videos are embedding from youtube fine for me, but if they're giving you trouble still, I can look into it.

0
None
njakolnoahw

Reply 8 years ago

Yes, every time I edit my instructable the embedded video dissapears (the placeholder in edit mode is still there) but I found one way to work around it. It works if I after I have done my other changes re-embedd the video, click on another step so the instructable autosaves, and then view the instructable.

0
None
lemonie

8 years ago

Did you actually embed the video - is the source code in there and is it correctly formatted?

L

0
None
njakollemonie

Reply 8 years ago

Yes in edit mode there is a placeholder for the video, but when i change to preview there is no video.

0
None
lemonienjakol

Reply 8 years ago

Did you hit "Save Now" first?
(and is the embed code correctly formatted?)

L

0
None
njakol

8 years ago

Hmm, strange. It seems to work if i use 425x344, but only if i press view instructable directly, if I try to look at it in preview mode and then goes back it dissapears (the placeholder is still there in edit mode though).

0
None
Kiteman

8 years ago

If you have only just uploaded the video to youtube, it can take a few minutes to get posted there, which means it won't show up here.

Give it ten minutes, then check again.

0
None
lemonieKiteman

Reply 8 years ago

You won't get the embed code until it has successfully uploaded.

L