Author Options:

some instructable pages pointing to trojan websites ? Answered

 I am browsing with Safari and am lately getting warnings from its "phishing detector" on instructables.com web pages (not all, some), for example:


results in a Safari dialog (not every time, so somebody is trying to be clever): 

"The website you are visiting appears to contain malware. .... For details visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for statsistats.com"

which, when we follow the link to google, gives:
Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for statsistats.com
What is the current listing status for statsistats.com?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 17 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 0 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2009-12-31, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2009-12-31.
Malicious software includes 24 trojan(s).
This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS34305 (EUROACCESS).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, statsistats.com did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.
Has this site hosted malware?
Yes, this site has hosted malicious software over the past 90 days. It infected 21 domain(s), including telugulife.com/, telugucinemastills.com/, junkupload.com/.
How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.

Could all be  a false alarm, just wondering since I have been getting several of these lately on instructables.com



Both Norton and McAfee show statsistats.com as dodgy, use with extreme care, but a bit of a google suggests the site may have been the victim of hacking.

All I can say regarding the danger through this site is that I have never experienced any of the trojan/malware warnings reported by others, even when I have gone directly to the reported pages via the same links (eg newsletter).

You need to log out, use internet explorer and no adblocking, pick a random instructable and refresh it a bunch of times, one will eventually pop up.

.  From what I've read, and you seem to have already figured out, it's a rogue ad (or hacked ad site). But none of this has happened to me, so I haven't seen it myself.
.  A malicious GreaseMonkey script could cause the same symptoms, but GM is FireFox-only.
.  I'm with Kiteman - I've never run into the problem. Have any "Pros" encountered this?

I do hope they get it under control soon. It's going to prove injurious to Instructables reputation, and since 89% of my E-reputation is tied up with instructables, that's bad for me. Won't someone please think of me?

It wouldn't hurt so bad if the public knew how recently legitimate sites have been compromised too. 

I have not run into while logged in, but when I have visited it while not logged in I sometimes get it. I have also seen it on facebook and a few other sites. It is definitely tied in with the external ads.

It's a known issue as per...
fungus amungus says:
We are looking into the problem. Meanwhile, if you're having this issue, please leave a comment or PM me with information that can help us track it down.

This includes:
- any ads serving on the page that they remember
- description of malware
- user location
- direct URLs
- screenshots