Instructables

Vegan Pecan Pie

Featured
Loaded with eggs, butter, and other yummy things, pecan pie can be something vegan folks miss having from time to time. This version has an awesome flaky crust, a rich caramel-like base, and toasty nuts, but is 100% vegan.1

1Some vegans and vegetarians (though not me) avoid sugar and brown sugar, unfortunately, this recipe uses both. I'm not aware of any good substitutes for use in baking - if you know of some, please let me know!
 
Remove these adsRemove these ads by Signing Up

Step 1: You'll Need. . .

Software:
For the Crust -
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 9 tablespoons vegan butter substitute (whatever type/brand you prefer to use)
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
For the Filling -
  • 1/3 cup oyster crackers (or 10 saltine crackers)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 1/2 tablespoon vegan butter substitute
  • 1/2 cup and 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup and 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons applesauce
  • 3 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon each fresh grated nutmeg and ginger, and cinnamon
  • 1/2 tablespoon whiskey (can be omitted if desired)
For the Topping -
  • 1 cup pecan halves (I like to chop them coarsely)
  • 1/2 tablespoon vegan butter substitute
  • 1 tablespoon light brown sugar
  • pinch of salt

Hardware:
  • Mixing bowl
  • Measuring cups and spoons
  • Small saucepan
  • Small pan/skillet
  • Rolling pin
  • Pie plate (or muffin tin if making mini pies as demonstrated here)
  • Large biscuit cutter (if making mini pies)
  • Plastic wrap

Step 2: Making Crust

  1. Add flour, sugar, and salt to the bowl and mix with fingertips to combine
  2. Form a well in the center and add butter substitute
  3. Work the butter substitute into the flour until it's evenly distributed
  4. Add the water and cider vinegar and mix until combined
  5. Turn out the dough onto a sheet of plastic wrap and wrap tightly
  6. Refrigerate at least one hour

A note about sugar: Cane sugar itself is vegan. However, the way it is processed is not. The pure white ultra-processed cane sugar is bleached using something called a bone-char filter (which is made from bones from cows). The filter itself does not become part of the sugar, but if it weirds you out to know that something you are going to consume has come in contact with animal parts, by all means, stay away from it (white sugar isn't good for you anyway).

If you buy something called evaporated cane juice, sugar cane crystals, raw sugar, blonde sugar, etc, it has not been processed through a bone char filter and therefore is vegan. It is often referred to as unbleached sugar If you buy it organic and/or fair trade, even better :)

Brown sugar is just white sugar with the molasses added back into it. Powdered sugar is just white sugar with corn starch added to it.

However, you can buy cane sugar that hasn't had anything removed from it except the water. You can buy it as Sucanat (SUgar CAne NATural) or Rapadura (a little more fine) or something called Mascobado (golden brown unrefined sugar from the Phillipines). I got the Mascobado from Whole Foods and have made a couple of things with it and it works really well and is very tasty. You can use any of these 1:1 in place of regular sugar.

Some liquid sweeteners I use regularly include Agave Nectar and Brown Rice Syrup. If you use liquid sweeteners in place of granulated ones, use less to compensate for the added moisture (these are sweeter anyway, so using less is probably a good idea)

Beet sugar is processed entirely differently than cane sugar and does not require to be filtered in the bleaching process. *Usually* sugar that is labeled "granulated" is beet sugar, but you will want to check with the manufacturers. (Some manufacturers use both and mix them, so if it's important to you to know, definitely don't hesitate to ask!!)
shesparticular (author)  SLCVeganista1 year ago
Very cool - thank you!
I never would have thought to use oyster crackers/saltines in a pie filling - very clever :)
shesparticular (author)  SLCVeganista1 year ago
They really help to get the right consistency, I find. :)
This says to add cider vinegar but the amount is not listed in the ingredient list. How much cider vinegar should I add?
shesparticular (author)  PamelaWeichmann2 years ago
So sorry about that, but thank you for noticing. It should say 2 tablespoons of cider vinegar - I've added it to the recipe above.
Thank you!
mykates32 years ago
Raw sugar could be used for those who avoid refined sugars.
shesparticular (author)  mykates32 years ago
Awesome suggestion, thanks!
coolflame3 years ago
Hi there!

Since my girlfriend is vegan and I'm not, I would like to surprise her with new recipes that taste well to both of us.
This recipe seems very tasty, and I would like to try, but I still have some questions.
With what can I replace the agave nectar? I don't think I can buy it in such small quantities just for this recipe ...
Can I simply leave out the apple sauce? Or how I can replace it well? (I'm allergic to apples)

Thanks for your ideas!
shesparticular (author)  coolflame3 years ago
Awesome questions, thanks!

In terms of substituting for the agave nectar I would probably use 1/8 cup each maple syrup and honey - that should work pretty well.

To replace the apple sauce, my first choice would be cooked and mashed pears, but if you're allergic to pears as well as apples, that option is out as well. My second choice for replacing the apple sauce would be mashed bananas, however that may affect the taste a little (but they should still taste good).

I look forward to hearing how they turn out!
kdave043 years ago
Ever since you posted baby pecan pies last year, I've wanted to experiment with a vegan version. This saves me the trouble (not to mention the pie mishaps I would surely have had in the process) ! I can't wait to try these out! They look amazing! Thx.
shesparticular (author)  kdave043 years ago
Thanks so much! Hope you enjoy them!