Introduction: Thread ID Tool

About: I'm an inventor / maker / designer based in Portland, OR. My background is in residential architecture, film set design, animatronics, media arts, exhibit design, and electronics. I use digital design and fabr…

I know, I know, you can buy these. I wanted to make my own thread ID tool with all the nuts and screws I most commonly use for projects. This one has metric and imperial with rulers on each side so I can measure length as well.

Step 1: Tools + Materials

• Fusion 360
  • 3D Printer
    • I use a Prusa I3Mk3S for just about everything. It's the best bang for your buck, in my opinion- very well made, 3D printable replacement parts, accurate and reliable.

• 3D Print Filament
    • I used Matte Fiber PLA from Protopasta for this project, but pretty much any filament will work. I like this stuff because the finish looks really good.
  • Srews and Nuts: The sizes and threads I used are shown below. All metric threads are standard.

Fusion 360 is free and it's awesome. I use it for everything I design and fabricate.

Student / Educator License (renew free every 3 years)

Hobbyist / Startup (renew free yearly)

Follow along with this Instructable to model your own!

Step 2: 3D Modeling

The youtube video shown here explains the modeling process. I basically just imported a bunch of McMaster-Carr components.

Step 3: 3D Printing

For this print, I used 30% infill, which I'm told has the optimal structural strength to material use ratio. I always use rafts when there's a larger surface area on the bed- I find it prevents warping.

The STL files are 3D print ready, so feel free to use them if you want the exact same nuts and screws that I used. The graphic files have the ruler and label graphics that you can print out and stick to the top of the tester.

Step 4: Assembly