74Views5Replies

Author Options:

Editor Changes Answered

As you may have noticed, for several months now we've been testing out a change to the Instructable editing process, what we've called the new editor. It's faster and better designed than the old one, and saves your work automatically as you go along. Well, we decided it was ready for prime time, and we've gone ahead and made it the default editor for everyone. The old one is still around if you want it - just click the "Switch back to the old editor" link on the top right of the edit section. But we think you'll want to stick with the new one (all of us here at Instructables HQ have been using the new one exclusively for quite some time). Try it out if you haven't yet, and tell us what you think in the comments!

Comments

The forums are retiring in 2021 and are now closed for new topics and comments.
0
Spl1nt3rC3ll
Spl1nt3rC3ll

12 years ago

Did you fix the disappearing steps? Last time I tried to use the new editor I'd "save and add another step", but when I'd go back to edit the previous step it replaced the text with "Add a description of this step here". Almost ruined one of my Instructables. :/

0
rachel
rachel

Reply 12 years ago

We did fix a bug that sounds a lot like that one. If you have an Instructable that's not very complete yet, give it a try and verify it's working correctly for you now.

0
KentsOkay
KentsOkay

12 years ago

I stopped using the new one when a recurring error started happening. When I was working on one step, it would change all the steps to be a duplicate of the one I was editing...

0
killerjackalope
killerjackalope

Reply 12 years ago

There was a glitch during collaboration for us lot, it'd make duplicate steps if two people worked on them but now they lock out steps being edited...

0
KentsOkay
KentsOkay

Reply 12 years ago

Oh.. that's what happened...